Tag Archives: Leon Thomas

On September 24, 2021.

On September 24, 2021, Alfred James Ellis aka Pee Wee Ellis died aged 80. He was musician (soprano, alto, tenor and baritone saxophone, flute, keyboards), arranger and composer, worked as musical director and arranger with George Benson, Hank Crawford and Esther Phillips. Ellis recorded and performed with David Liebman, Jack McDuff, Rebirth Brass Band, Shirley Scott, Sonny Stitt, Leon Thomas, Van Morrison, Ginger Baker’s jazz Confusion, The JB Horns, Maceo Parker, Brass Fever, Ali Farka Touré and The Dapps, but was best known as longtime collaborator of James Brown. He co-wrote and recorded some of Brown’s best-known songs like “Say It Loud – I’m Black and I’m Proud” and “Cold Sweat”. As leader Ellis released 13 albums.

on January 11, 2021.

On January 11, 2021, Howard Lewis Johnson died aged 79. He was musician (tuba, baritone saxophone, bass clarinet, trumpet), member and leader of the tuba ensembles Tuba Libre, Substructure, and Gravity. He recorded and performed with some of the world best known musicians and bands, including George Gruntz, Hank Crawford, Gil Evans, Charles Mingus, Hank Crawford, Rahsaan Roland Kirk, Archie Shepp, Hank Mobley, Levon Helm, Tomasz Stanko, Gary Burton, Gábor Szabó, Bob Thiele, Charlie Haden, Jazz Composers, Andrew Hill, Leon Thomas, Johnny Coles, Taj Mahal, Charles Tolliver, The Band, Carla Bley, John Lennon, Sam Rivers, Gato Barbieri, Jaco Pastorius, Muddy Waters, Dexter Gordon, Clifford Jordan, David “Fathead” Newman,  James Taylor, Jack De Johnette, Jimmy Heath, Franco Ambrosetti, George Gruntz, Miles Davis, Quincy Jones, NDR Big Band, Ray Anderson, Barbara Dennerlein, John Scofield, T. S. Monk, Mario Pavone, and Chet Baker. As leader he released four albums.

On September 6, 2019.

On September 6, 2019, “Caroline International” and “Loma Vista Recordings” labels, released “Free”, the eighteenth Iggy Pop studio album. It was recorded in 2019, at “Elite Music Studios”, “Neutral Sound Studios”, “On Two Pass It Studio”, “Red Bird Studio”, “The Bunker Studio”, and was produced by Leon Thomas and Noveller.


  • Iggy Pop – vocals
  • Leron Thomas – trumpet, keyboards
  • Noveller (Sarah Lipstate) – guitar “guitarscape”
  • Kenny Ruby – bass, piano, synthesizer
  • Tibo Brandalise – drums
  • Grégoire Fauque – guitar
  • Aaron Nevezie – guitar, bass, keyboards
  • Chris Berry – drums
  • Thomas Glass – drums
  • Robin Sherman – bass
  • Ari Teitel – guitar
  • Faith Vern – vocals
  • Florian Pellissier – keyboards
  • Rafael Cadevieco, Andrew Block, Laurent De Boisgisson, Andrew Fellus, Aaron Nevezie, Kenny Ruby, Stephane Comon – engineer
  • Rangeard Mickael – mixing, mastering
  • Tomato – artwork, design
  • NP Novak – photography (front and back cover photos from the short film “The Dawn”)
  • Harmony Korine – inner sleeve photography

Track listing:

  1. Free – Iggy Pop, Noveller, Leon Thomas
  2. Loves Missing – Iggy Pop, Noveller, Leon Thomas
  3. Sonali – Ruby Sylvian, Noveller, Leon Thomas
  4. James Bond – Noveller, Leon Thomas
  5. Dirty Sanchez – Noveller, Leon Thomas
  6. Glow in the Dark – Noveller, Leon Thomas
  7. Page – Noveller, Leon Thomas
  8. We Are the People – lyrics by Lou Reed, music by Noveller, Leon Thomas
  9. Do Not Go Gentle into That Good Night – lyrics by Dylan Thomas, music by Noveller, Leon Thomas
  10. The Dawn – Osterberg Jr. Noveller


On December 29, 2008.


On December 29, 2008, Frederick Dewayne “Freddie” Hubbard died aged 70. He was trumpeter, known primarily for playing in the bebop, hard bop and post bop styles. He has performed and recorded with many famous musicians including George Benson, Walter Benton, Art Blakey, Tina Brooks, Kenny Burrell, George Cables, Betty Carter, Ornette Coleman, John Coltrane, Richard Davis, Eric Dolphy, Kenny Drew, Charles Earland, Bill Evan,  Joe Farrell, Curtis Fuller, Dizzy Gillespie, Clark Terry, Oscar Peterson, Benny Golson, Dexter Gordon, Slide Hampton, Herbie Hancock, Jimmy Heath, Joe Henderson, Andrew Hill, Bobby Hutcherson, Milt Jackson, Billy Joel, Elton John, J.J. Johnson, Quincy Jones, John Lewis, Kirk Lightsey, Ronnie Mathews, Jackie McLean, The Modern Jazz Quartet, Wes Montgomery, Hank Mobley, Alphonse Mouzon, Oliver Nelson, Duke Pearson, Sam Rivers, Max Roach, Sonny Rollins, Rufus, Poncho Sanchez, Don Sebesky, Wayne Shorter, Leon Thomas, Stanley Turrentine, McCoy Tyner, Cedar Walton and Randy Weston.

On November 9, 1973.

santana - Welcome

On November 9, 1973, “Columbia” label released “Welcome”, the fifth Santana studio album.  It was recorded from April to June 1973, and was produced by Tom Coster, Michael Shrieve and Carlos Santana.


  • Carlos Santana– electric and acoustic guitars , bass, kalimba, percussion , vocals
  • Tom Coster- organ, piano , marimba, percussion , strings arrangements
  • Richard Kermode – organ, mellotron, piano, marimba, shekere, percussion
  • Douglas Rauch– guitar
  • Michael Shrieve– drums
  • José “Chepito” Areas– percussion, congas, timbales
  • Armando Peraza– percussion, congas , bongos, cabasa
  • Leon Thomas– lead vocals, whistling
  • Wendy Haas– vocals
  • Flora Purim– lead vocals
  • John McLaughlin– guitar
  • Joe Farrell– flute
  • Bob Yance – flute
  • Mel Martin – flute
  • Douglas Rodriguez – rhythm guitar
  • Tony Smith– drums
  • Jules Broussard – soprano saxophone
  • Greg Adams – strings arrangements

Track listing

  1. Going Home – Spiritualadapted from Antonín Dvořák’s “New World Symphony”; arr. by Alice Coltrane, Santana Band
  2. Love, Devotion and Surrender – Carlos Santana, Richard Kermode
  3. Samba de Sausalito – Jose Areas
  4. When I Look Into Your Eyes – Michael Shrieve, Tom Coster
  5. Yours Is the Light – Richard Kermode
  6. Mother Africa – Herbie Mann
  7. Light of Life – Richard Kermode, Carlos Santana, Tom Coster
  8. Flame – Sky – John McLaughlin, Doug Rauch, Carlos Santana
  9. Welcome – John Coltrane