Tag Archives: Joe Henderson

On February 9, 2020.

On February 9, 2020, Armando Anthony “Chick” Corea died aged 79. He was musician (piano, keyboards, percussion), composer and bandleader. He is regarded as one of the major piano players to emerge in jazz during the post-John Coltrane era. Recorded and performed with the most important Jazz musicians including Miles Davis, Mongo Santamaria, Willie Bobo, Blue Mitchell, Herbie Mann, Stan Getz, Roy Haunes, Miroslav Vitous, Stanley Clarke, Richard Davis, Joe Farrell, Joe Henderson, Eric Kloss, Hubert Laws, Herbie Mann, Blue Mitchell, John Patitucci, Wayne Shorter, Cal Tjader, Sonny Stitt, Dave Pike, Armando Peraza, Marion Brown, Sadao Watanabe, Larry Coryell, John Surman, Elvin Jones, Rolf Kühn, Airto Moreira, Antony Braxton, Pete La Roca, Al Di Meola, Dee Dee Bridgewater, Ron Carter, Gábor Szabó, Donald Byrd, Tete Montoliu, Chaka Khan, Eddie Gomez, Wallace Rooney, Herbie Hancock, Antonio Sanches, Gary Burton and Hiromi Uehara. Corea formed and lead Return to Forever, Circle, Chick Corea Elektric Band, Chick Corea Akoustic Band and Five Peace Band. As leader he released 77 studio and 23 live albums. Corea won 23 “Grammy Awards”.

On February 3, 2018.

On February 3, 2018, Leon “Ndugu” Chancler died aged 65. He was musician (drums, percussion), composer, music producer and university professor. He recorded and performed with numerous famous artists including Mile Davis, Freddie Hubbard, Bobby Hutcherson,  Eddie Harris, Patti LaBelle, John Lee Hooker, Donna Summer, George Benson, Robbie Robertson, Syreeta Wright, Hampton Hawes, Kenny Rogers, LeAnn Rimes, George Duke, Sheena Easton, Peabo Bryson, Joe Henderson, Lionel Richie, Cheryl Lynn, Dee Dee Bridgewater, Tina Turner, Patrice Rushen, Jennifer Holliday, Harold Land, Minnie Riperton, Azar Lawrence, Santana, Lalo Schifrin, Julian Priester, Thelonious Monk and Herbie Hancock.

On January 21, 2013.

On January 21, 2014, “High Note” label released “Icons & Influences”, the 32nd George Cables album. It was recorded in September 2013, at “Systems Two” in Brooklyn, New York, and was produced by George Cables.


  • George Cables – piano
  • Dezron Douglas – bass
  • Victor Lewis – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by George Cables except where noted

  1. Cedar Walton
  2. Farewell Mulgrew
  3. Happiness
  4. The Duke – Dave Brubeck
  5. Come Sunday – Duke Ellington
  6. Little B’s Poem – Bobby Hutcherson
  7. Nature Boy – Eden Ahbez
  8. Very Early – Bill Evans
  9. Isotope – Joe Henderson
  10. The Very Thought of You – Ray Noble
  11. Mo’ Pan – Aldwyn Roberts
  12. Blue Heart – Benny Golson

In January 1966.

In January 1966, “Blue Note” label released “The Rumproller”, the 17th Lee Morgan album. It was recorded in April 1965, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Lee Morgan – trumpet
  • Joe Henderson – tenor saxophone
  • Ronnie Mathews – piano
  • Victor Sproles – bass
  • Billy Higgins – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Lee Morgan except where noted

  1. The Rumproller – Andrew Hill
  2. Desert Moonlight
  3. Eclipso
  4. Edda – Wayne Shorter
  5. The Lady – Rudy Stevenson

In January 1965.

In January 1965, “Blue Note” label released “In ‘n’ Out”, the third Joe Henderson album. It was released in April 1963, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Joe Henderson — tenor saxophone
  • Kenny Dorham — trumpet
  • McCoy Tyner — piano
  • Richard Davis — bass
  • Elvin Jones — drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Joe Henderson except where noted.

  1. In ‘n’ Out
  2. Punjab
  3. Serenity
  4. Short Story – Kenny Dorham
  5. Brown’s Town – Kenny Dorham

In January 1964.

In January 1964, “Blue Note” label released “Una Mas” the 16th Kenny Dorham album. It was recorded in April 1963, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Kenny Dorham – voice, trumpet
  • Joe Henderson – tenor saxophone
  • Herbie Hancock – piano
  • Butch Warren – bass
  • Tony Williams – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Kenny Dorham, except where noted.

  1. Una Mas (One More Time)
  2. Straight Ahead
  3. Sao Paolo
  4. If Ever I Would Leave You – Alan Jay Lerner, Frederick Loewe

In December 1973.

In December 1973, “Milestone” label released “Butterfly Dreams”, the second Flora Purim studio album. It was recorded in December 1973, at “fantasy Studios” in Berkeley, California, and was produced by Orrin Keepnews.


  • Flora Purim – vocals, arrangements 
  • George Duke – electric piano, ARP synthesizer, clavinet, piano, arrangements
  • David Amaro – acoustic and electric guitar
  • Stanley Clarke – Fender electric bass, acoustic bass, arrangements
  • Ernie Hood – zither
  • Joe Henderson – flute, tenor saxophone
  • Airto Moreira – drums, percussion
  • Jim Stern – engineering
  • Eddie Bill Harris – engineering
  • David Turner – mastering
  • Anthony Samuel Lane – art direction, design, photography

Track listing:

  1. Dr. Jive Pt. I – Stanley Clarke
  2. Butterfly Dreams – lyrics by Neville Potter, music by Stanley Clarke
  3. Dindi – lyrics by Aloisio de Oliveira, music by Antonio Carlos Jobim
  4. Summer Night – Harry Warren, Al Dubin
  5. Love Reborn – lyrics by Flora Purim, music by George Duke
  6. Moon Dreams – lyrics by Jay Livingston, Ray Evans, music by Egberto Gismonti
  7. Dr. Jive Pt. II – Stanley Clarke
  8. Light as a Feather – lyrics by Flora Purim, music by Stanley Clarke

On August 28, 2007.

On August 28, 2007, “CAM Jazz” label released “Migration”, the debut studio Antonio Sánchez studio album. It was recorded in January 2007, at “Sear Sound Studio” in New York City, “Mad Hatter East Studios” in Clearwater, FL, and was produced by Ermanno Basso.


  • Antonio Sánchez– drums
  • Chick Corea– piano
  • Pat Metheny– guitar
  • Chris Potter– soprano and tenor saxophone
  • David Sánchez– tenor saxophone
  • Scott Colley– double bass

Track listing:

All tracks by Antonio Sánchez except where noted.

  1. One for Antonio – Chick Corea
  2. Did You Get It?
  3. Arena (Sand) – Pat Metheny
  4. Challenge Within
  5. Ballade
  6. Greedy Silence
  7. Inner Urge – Joe Henderson
  8. Solar – Miles Davis

On August 12, 1997.

On August 12, 1997, “Warner Bros” label released “Village”, the eleventh Wallace Roney album. It was recorded in December 1996, at “Sear Sound” in New York City, and was produced by Lenny White, Matt Pierson, and Wallace Roney.


  • Wallace Roney− trumpet, arranger
  • Antoine Roney- soprano and tenor saxophone, bass clarinet
  • Michael Brecker– tenor saxophone
  • Pharoah Sanders − tenor saxophone
  • Chick Corea− piano, electric piano, arranger
  • Geri Allen− piano
  • Robert “Baabe” Irving III– synthesizer
  • Clarence Seay− double bass
  • Lenny White− drums
  • Steve Berrios– percussion

Track listing:

All tracks by Wallace Roney, except where noted.

  1. Affinity – Chick Corea
  2. Inner Urge – Joe Henderson
  3. I Love You – Cole Porter
  4. The Pharoah
  5. Aknaaba – Antoine Roney
  6. Village
  7. Eternal One
  8. EBO – Lenny White
  9. Oshirike

In June 1965.

In June 1965, “Blue Note” label released “The Thing to Do, the 10th Blue Mitchell album. It was recorded in July 1964, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Blue Mitchell- trumpet
  • Junior Cook- tenor saxophone
  • Chick Corea- piano
  • Gene Taylor- bass
  • Al Foster- drums

Track listing:

  1. Fungii Mama – Blue Mitchell
  2. Mona’s Mood – Jimmy Heath
  3. The Thing to Do – Jimmy Heath
  4. Step Lightly – Joe Henderson
  5. Chick’s Tune – Chick Corea