Tag Archives: McCoy Tyner

In January 1967.

In January 1967, “Impulse” label released “Kulu Sé Mama”,the 24th John Coltrane album. It was recorded June 10 – 16, 1965, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, NJ, October 14, 1965, at “Western Recorders” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Bob Thiele.


  • John Coltrane— tenor saxophone
  • Pharoah Sanders— tenor saxophone, percussion
  • McCoy Tyner— piano
  • Jimmy Garrison— double bass
  • Donald Rafael Garrett — bass clarinet, double bass, percussion
  • Frank Butler—drums, vocals
  • Elvin Jones— drums
  • Juno Lewis — vocals, percussion, conchshell, hand drums

Track listing:

  1. Kulu Sé Mama (Juno Sé Mama)
  2. Vigil
  3. Welcome



In April 1962.

In April 1962, “Impulse!” label released “Coltrane”, the eleventh John Coltrane album. It was recorded April – June, 1962, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, and was produced by Bob Thiele.


  • John Coltrane— tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone
  • McCoy Tyner— piano
  • Jimmy Garrison— bass
  • Elvin Jones— drums
  • Pete Turner- photography

Track listing:

  1. Out of This World – Harold Arlen
  2. Soul Eyes – Mal Waldron
  3. The Inch Worm – Frank Loesser
  4. Tunji – John Coltrane
  5. Miles’ Mode – John Coltrane

In March 1961.

In March 1961, “Atlantic” label released “My Favorite Things”, the seventh John Coltrane studio album. It was recorded in October 1960, and was produced by Nesuhi Ertegün. In 1998, the album received “Grammy Hall of Fame” award.


  • John Coltrane– soprano and tenor saxophones
  • McCoy Tyner– piano
  • Steve Davis– double bass
  • Elvin Jones– drums
  • Tom Dowd, Phil Iehle — engineering
  • Lee Friedlander— photography
  • Loring Eutemey — cover design
  • Bill Coss — liner notes

Track listing:

  1. My Favorite Things – Oscar Hammerstein II,, Richard Rodgers
  2. Ev’ry Time We Say Goodbye – Cole Porter
  3. Summertime – Ira Gershwin, DuBose Heyward, George Gershwin
  4. But Not for Me – Ira Gershwin, George Gershwin

In February 1966.

In February 1966, “Impulse!” label released “Ascension”, the 38th John Coltrane album. It was recorded on June 28, 1965, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, and was produced by Bob Thiele.


  • John Coltrane– tenor saxophone
  • Freddie Hubbard– trumpet
  • Dewey Johnson– trumpet
  • Marion Brown, John Tchicai– alto saxophone
  • Pharoah Sanders, Archie Shepp– tenor saxophone
  • McCoy Tyner– piano
  • Art Davis, Jimmy Garrison– bass
  • Elvin Jones– drums

Track listing:

  1. Edition I

Ascension – John Coltrane

  1. Edition II

Ascension – John Coltrane

In September 1966.

In September 1966, “Impulse” label released “Meditations”, the twenty-third John Coltrane album. It was recorded on November 23, 1965, at “Van Gelder Studio” in  Englewood Cliffs, and was produced by Bob Thiele.


  • John Coltrane– tenor saxophone, band leader
  • Pharoah Sanders– tenor saxophone
  • McCoy Tyner– piano
  • Jimmy Garrison– double bass
  • Elvin Jones– drums
  • Rashied Ali– drums

Track listing:

All tracks by John Coltrane.

  1. The Father and the Son and the Holy Ghost
  2. Compassion
  3. Love
  4. Consequences
  5. Serenity

On December 25, 2016.


On December 25, 2016, Alphonse Lee Mouzon died aged 68. He was a composer, arranger, producer and actor, and the owner of Tenacious Records. He has recorded and performed with many famous musicians and music acts including Arild Andersen, Donald Byrd,  Herbie Hancock, Bobbi Humphrey, Joachim Kühn, Les McCann, McCoy Tyner, Wayne Shorter, Weather Report, Eugene McDaniels, Betty Davis, Infinity, Doug Carn, Norman Connors, Willie Colon, Poussez, Al Di Meola, Torsten de Winkel, Hellmut Hattler, Miles Davis, Gil Evans, Fania All-Stars, Carlos Garnett, George Gruntz, Tim Hardin, Miki Howard, Paul Jackson, Paul Jackson Jr., Alphonso Johnson and Patrick Moraz.

On December 29, 2008.


On December 29, 2008, Frederick Dewayne “Freddie” Hubbard died aged 70. He was trumpeter, known primarily for playing in the bebop, hard bop and post bop styles. He has performed and recorded with many famous musicians including George Benson, Walter Benton, Art Blakey, Tina Brooks, Kenny Burrell, George Cables, Betty Carter, Ornette Coleman, John Coltrane, Richard Davis, Eric Dolphy, Kenny Drew, Charles Earland, Bill Evan,  Joe Farrell, Curtis Fuller, Dizzy Gillespie, Clark Terry, Oscar Peterson, Benny Golson, Dexter Gordon, Slide Hampton, Herbie Hancock, Jimmy Heath, Joe Henderson, Andrew Hill, Bobby Hutcherson, Milt Jackson, Billy Joel, Elton John, J.J. Johnson, Quincy Jones, John Lewis, Kirk Lightsey, Ronnie Mathews, Jackie McLean, The Modern Jazz Quartet, Wes Montgomery, Hank Mobley, Alphonse Mouzon, Oliver Nelson, Duke Pearson, Sam Rivers, Max Roach, Sonny Rollins, Rufus, Poncho Sanchez, Don Sebesky, Wayne Shorter, Leon Thomas, Stanley Turrentine, McCoy Tyner, Cedar Walton and Randy Weston.