Tag Archives: Roy Haynes

On December 17, 2020.

On December 17, 2020, Stanley Cowell died aged 79. He was musician (piano), co-founder of the “Strata-East Records” label, and professor at the “Music Department of the Mason Gross School of the Arts at Rutgers”, the “State University of New Jersey”. He recorded with many famous jazz musicians including Gary Bartz, Larry Coryell, Richard Davis, Sonny Fortune, Roy Haynes, Jimmy Heath, The Heath Brothers, Stan Getz, Johnny Griffin, Bobby Hutcherson, J. J. Johnson, Clifford Jordan, Oliver Nelson, Jimmy Owens, Art Pepper, Buddy Terry, Charles Sullivan, Charles Toliver, Roland Kirk, Marion Brown, Harold Land, and Max Roach. As leader Cowell released 34 albums.

In December 1978.

In December 1978, “Galaxy Records” label released “Art Pepper Today”, the 34th Art Pepper album. It was recorded in December 1978, and was produced by Ed Michel.


  • Art Pepper – alto saxophone
  • Stanley Cowell – piano
  • Cecil McBee – bass
  • Roy Haynes – drums
  • Kenneth Nash – congas, percussion

Track listing:

All tracks by Art Pepper, except where noted.

  1. Miss Who
  2. Mambo Koyama
  3. Lover Come Back To Me – Sigmund Romberg; Oscar Hammerstein II
  4. Patricia
  5. These Foolish Things (Remind Me Of You) – Harry Link; Jack Strachey; Holt Marvell
  6. Chris’s Blues

In November 1964.

In November 1964, “Blue Note” label released “Destination… Out!”, the 27th Jackie McLean album. It was recorded in September 1963, at “Van Gelder Studios” in Englewood Cliffs, NJ, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Jackie McLean – alto saxophone
  • Grachan Moncur III – trombone
  • Bobby Hutcherson – vibes
  • Larry Ridley – bass
  • Roy Haynes – drums

Track listing:

  1. Love and Hate – Grachan Moncur III
  2. Esoteric – Grachan Moncur III
  3. Kahlil the Prophet – Jackie McLean
  4. Riff Raff – Grachan Moncur III

On October 19, 1999.

On October 19, 1999, “Blue Note” label released “Drums Around the Corner”, album by Art Blakey, recorded in 1958, but not released until 1999. The first session was recorded in November 1958, at “Manhattan Towers” in New York City, and was recorded by Rudy Van Gelder. The second session was recorded in March 1959, at the “Van Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, NJ, and was recorded by Rudy Van Gelder. The album was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Art Blakey – drums, timpani
  • Lee Morgan – trumpet
  • Bobby Timmons – piano
  • Jymie Merritt – bass
  • Paul Chambers – bass
  • Philly Joe Jones – drums, timpani
  • Roy Haynes – drums
  • Ray Barretto – congas

Track listing:

All tracks by Art Blakey, except where noted.

  1. Moose the Mooche – Charlie Parker
  2. Blakey’s Blues
  3. Lee’s Tune – Lee Morgan
  4. Let’s Take 16 Bars
  5. Drums in the Rain
  6. Lover – Richard Rodgers, Lorenz Hart
  7. I’ve Got My Love to Keep Me Warm – Irving Berlin
  8. What Is This Thing Called Love? – Cole Porter

On May 25, 1976.

On May 25, 1976, “Atlantic” label released “All the Things We Are”, the 67th Dave Brubeck album. It was recorded July 17, 1973 – October 3, 1974, at “CI Recording Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Michael Cuscuna.


  • Dave Brubeck- piano
  • Lee Konitz- alto saxophone
  • Anthony Braxton- alto saxophone
  • Jack Six – bass
  • Roy Haynes- drums
  • Alan Dawson– drums
  • Elvin Campbell – engineer
  • Stephen Innocenzi – mastering

Track listing:

  1. Like Someone in Love – Jimmy Van Heusen, Johnny Burke
  2. In Your Own Sweet Way – Dave Brubeck
  3. All the Things You Are – Jerome Kern, Oscar Hammerstein II
  4. Jimmy Van Heusen Medley – Jimmy Van Heusen, Johnny Burke, Eddie DeLange
  • Deep in a Dream
  • Like Someone in Love
  • Here’s That Rainy Day
  • Polka Dots and Moonbeams
  • It Could Happen to You
  1. Don’t Get Around Much Anymore – Duke Ellington, Bob Russell

On April 22, 2003.

On April 22, 2003, “Strech Records” label released “Rendezvous in New York”, the 58th Chick Corea album. It was recorded 2002 – 2003 in New York City, and was produced by Chick Corea and Herbert Waltl.


  • Chick Corea – piano
  • Gonzalo Rubalcaba– piano
  • Bobby McFerrin– vocals
  • Gary Burton– vibraphone
  • Terence Blanchard– trumpet
  • Steve Wilson– alto saxophone
  • Michael Brecker– tenor saxophone
  • Joshua Redman– tenor saxophone
  • Tim Garland– tenor saxophone
  • Steve Davis– trombone
  • Steve Gadd– drums
  • Dave Weckl– drums
  • Roy Haynes– drums
  • Jeff Ballard – drums
  • Eddie Gómez– bass
  • Avishai Cohen– bass
  • Christian McBride– bass
  • John Patitucci– bass
  • Miroslav Vitous– bass

Track listing:

All tracks by Chick Corea except where noted.

  1. Armando’s Rhumba – Chick Corea
  2. Blue Monk – Thelonious Monk
    Concierto de Aranjuez/Spain – Joaquín Rodrigo, Chick Corea
  3. Matrix
  4. Glass Enclosure/Tempus Fugit – Bud Powell
  5. Crystal Silence – Chick Corea, Neville Potter
  6. Bessie’s Blues – John Coltrane
  7. Autumn Leaves – Joseph Kosma, Johnny Mercer, Jacques Prévert
  8. Armando’s Tango
  9. Concierto de Aranjuez/Spain – Joaquin Rodrigo, Chick Corea
  10. Lifeline
  11. Quartet No. 2, Pt. 1