Tag Archives: Art Blakey

On January 16, 2021.

On January 16, 2021, Julian Clifford Mance, Jr. aka Junior Mance died aged 92. He was musician (piano) and composer, one of the main figures of the Hard bop jazz scene. He recorded and performed with some of the biggest names of jazz, blues and soul music including Gene Amons, Lester Young, Charlie Parker, Coleman Hawkins, Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis, Sonny Stitt, Dinah Washington, Wynton Kelly, Cannonball Adderley, Dexter Gordon, Nat Adderley, Joe Gordon, Bennie Green, Al Grey, Ernie Andrews, Johnny Griffin, Art Blakey, Cliford Brown, Benny Carter, Buddy Guy, Jimmy Cleveland, Arnett Cobb, Red Holloway, Jose James, Ray Crawford, Harry “Sweets” Edison, Eddie Jefferson, Aretha Franklin, Etta Jones, Dizzy Gillespie, Irene Kral, Jay Leonhart, Les McCann, Paul Gonsalves, Howard McGhee, The Metronomes, Virgil Gonsalves, James Moody, Wild Bill Moore, Barbara Morrison, Sandy Mosse, Leo Parker, Ken Peplowski, Billie Poole, Bernard “Pretty” Purdie, Alvin Queen, Jimmy Scott, Arnold Sterling, Sonny Stitt, Clark Terry, Frank Vignola, Wilbur Ware, Ben Webster, Joe Williams, Marion Williams, and Leo Wright. As leader, Monce released 56 albums (live and studio). In 2007, Mance and his wife Gloria started their own record label “JunGlo”.

In January 1962.

In January 1962, “Blue Note” label released “Mosaic”, the 18th Art Blakey & the Jazz Messengers album. It was recorded in October 1961, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Art Blakey – drums
  • Freddie Hubbard – trumpet
  • Curtis Fuller – trombone
  • Wayne Shorter – tenor saxophone
  • Cedar Walton – piano
  • Jymie Merritt – bass

Track listing:

  1. Mosaic – Cedar Walton
  2. Down Under – Freddie Hubbard
  3. Children of the Night – Wayne Shorter
  4. Arabia – Curtis Fuller
  5. Crisis – Freddie Hubbard

In January 1959.

In January 1959, “Bethlehem” label released “Art Blakey Big Band”, the third Art Blakey album. It was recorded in December 1957, in New York City, and was produced by Lee Kraft.


  • Art Blakey – drums
  • Ray Copeland, Bill Hardman, Idrees Sulieman, Donald Byrd – trumpet
  • Frank Rehak, Jimmy Cleveland, Melba Liston – trombone
  • Bill Graham, Sahib Shihab – alto saxophone
  • Al Cohn, John Coltrane – tenor saxophone
  • Bill Slapin – baritone saxophone
  • Walter Bishop, Jr. – piano
  • Wendell Marshall – bass

Track listing:

  1. Midriff – Gerald Valentine
  2. Ain’t Life Grand – Al Cohn
  3. Tippin’ – Donald Byrd
  4. Pristine – John Coltrane
  5. El Toro Valiente – Charles Gambel, Chiefy Salaam
  6. The Kiss of No Return – Charles Gambel, Chiefy Salaam
  7. Late Date – Melba Liston
  8. The Outer World – Al Cohn

In December 1953.

In December 1953, “Debut” label released “Introducing Paul Bley”, the debut Paul Bley album. It was recorded in November 1953 in New York City.


  • Paul Bley — piano
  • Charles Mingus — bass
  • Art Blakey — drums

Track listing:

  • Opus 1 – Paul Bley
  • (Teapot) Walkin’ – Richard Carpenter
  • Like Someone in Love – Johnny Burke, Jimmy van Heusen
  • Spontaneous Combustion – Paul Bley
  • Split Kick – Horace Silver
  • I Can’t Get Started – Ira Gershwin, Vernon Duke

In December 1955.

In December 1955, “Signal” label released “Duke Jordan Trio and Quintet”, the third Duke Jordan album. It was recorded in October – November 1955, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey, and was produced by Don Schlitten.


  • Duke Jordan – piano
  • Eddie Bert – trombone 
  • Cecil Payne – baritone saxophone
  • Percy Heath – bass
  • Art Blakey – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Duke Jordan except where noted.

  1. Forecast
  2. Sultry Eve
  3. They Can’t Take That Away from Me – George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin
  4. A Night in Tunisia – Dizzy Gillespie, Frank Paparelli
  5. Summertime – George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin, DuBose Heyward
  6. Flight to Jordan
  7. Two Lovers
  8. Cu-Ba – Cecil Payne
  9. Yesterdays – Otto Harbach, Jerome Kern
  10. Scotch Blues

In December 1957.

In December 1957, “Bethlehem” label released “Hard Drive”, the ninth Art Blakey and the Jazz Messengers album. It was recorded in 1957, in New York City and was produced by Lee Kraft.


  • Art Blakey – drums
  • Bill Hardman – trumpet
  • Johnny Griffin – tenor saxophone
  • Junior Mance, Sam Dockery – piano
  • Spanky DeBrest – bass

Track listing:

  1. For Minors Only – Jimmy Heath
  2. Right Down Front – Johnny Griffin
  3. Deo-X – Bill Hardman
  4. Sweet Sakeena – Bill Hardman
  5. For Miles and Miles – Jimmy Heath
  6. Krafty – Johnny Griffin
  7. Late Spring – Leon Mitchell

In October 1961.

In October 1961, “Jazzland” label released “Thelonious Monk with John Coltrane”, album by Thelonious Monk. It was recorded April – July 1957, at “Reeves Sound Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Orrin Keepnews.


  • Thelonious Monk – piano
  • John Coltrane – tenor saxophone
  • Ray Copeland – trumpet 
  • Gigi Gryce – alto saxophone 
  • Coleman Hawkins – tenor saxophone
  • Wilbur Ware – bass
  • Shadow Wilson – drums 
  • Art Blakey – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Thelonious Monk except where noted..

  1. Ruby, My Dear
  2. Trinkle, Tinkle
  3. Off Minor (take 4)
  4. Nutty
  5. Epistrophy – Kenny Clarke, Thelonious Monk
  6. Functional (take 1)

On October 19, 1999.

On October 19, 1999, “Blue Note” label released “Drums Around the Corner”, album by Art Blakey, recorded in 1958, but not released until 1999. The first session was recorded in November 1958, at “Manhattan Towers” in New York City, and was recorded by Rudy Van Gelder. The second session was recorded in March 1959, at the “Van Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, NJ, and was recorded by Rudy Van Gelder. The album was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Art Blakey – drums, timpani
  • Lee Morgan – trumpet
  • Bobby Timmons – piano
  • Jymie Merritt – bass
  • Paul Chambers – bass
  • Philly Joe Jones – drums, timpani
  • Roy Haynes – drums
  • Ray Barretto – congas

Track listing:

All tracks by Art Blakey, except where noted.

  1. Moose the Mooche – Charlie Parker
  2. Blakey’s Blues
  3. Lee’s Tune – Lee Morgan
  4. Let’s Take 16 Bars
  5. Drums in the Rain
  6. Lover – Richard Rodgers, Lorenz Hart
  7. I’ve Got My Love to Keep Me Warm – Irving Berlin
  8. What Is This Thing Called Love? – Cole Porter

in October 1960.

In October 1960, “Blue Note” label released “Soul Station”, the 17th Hank Mobley album. It was recorded in February 1960, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Hank Mobley – tenor saxophone
  • Wynton Kelly – piano
  • Paul Chambers – bass
  • Art Blakey – drums
  • Rudy Van Gelder – mixing
  • Francis Wolff – cover photo
  • Reid Miles – cover design

Track listing:

All tracks by Hank Mobley, except where noted.

  1. Remember – Irving Berlin
  2. This I Dig of You
  3. Dig Dis
  4. Split Feelin’s Soul Station
  5. If I Should Lose You – Ralph Rainger, Leo Robin

In July 1957.

In July 1957, “Blue Note” label released “Blowing in from Chicago”, the debut Clifford Jordan album. It was recorded in March 1957, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Clifford Jordan – tenor saxophone
  • John Gilmore- tenor saxophone
  • Horace Silver- piano
  • Curly Russell- bass
  • Art Blakey– drums

Track listing:

  1. Status Quo – John Neely
  2. Bo-Till – Clifford Jordan
  3. Blue Lights – Gigi Gryce
  4. Billie’s Bounce – Charlie Parker
  5. Evil Eye – Clifford Jordan
  6. Everywhere – Horace Silver