Tag Archives: Duke Ellington

In February 1963.

In February 1963, “Impulse” label released “Duke Ellington & John Coltrane”, album by Duke Ellington and John Coltrane. It was recorded on September 2, 1962, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey, and was produced by Bob Thiele.


  • Duke Ellington- piano
  • John Coltrane– tenor and soprano saxophones
  • Jimmy Garrison- bass
  • Aaron Bell- bass
  • Elvin Jones- drums
  • Sam Woodyard- drums

Track listing:

  1. In a Sentimental Mood – Irving Mills, Duke Ellington, Manny Kurtz
  2. Take the Coltrane – Duke Ellington
  3. Big Nick – John Coltrane
  4. Stevie – Duke Ellington
  5. My Little Brown Book – Billy Strayhorn
  6. Angelica – Duke Ellington
  7. The Feeling of Jazz – Duke Ellington, Bobby Troup, George T. Simon



In February 1961.

In February 1961, “Blue Note” label released “Moods”, the seventh  Three Sounds album. It was recorded on June 28, 1960, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Gene Harris- piano
  • Andrew Simpkins- bass
  • Bill Dowdy- drums

Track listing:

  1. Love for Sale – Cole Porter
  2. Things Ain’t What They Used to Be – Mercer Ellington
  3. On Green Dolphin Street – Bronisław Kaper, Ned Washington
  4. Loose Walk – Sonny Stitt
  5. Li’l Darlin – Neal Hefti
  6. I’m Beginning to See the Light – Duke Ellington, Don George, Jimmy Hodges, Harry James
  7. Tammy’s Breeze – Gene Harris
  8. Sandu – Clifford Brown

In January 1963.

In January 1963, “Impulse” label released “Duke Ellington Meets Coleman Hawkins”, album by Duke Ellington and Coleman Hawkins. It was recorded on August 18, 1962, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, NJ, and was produced by Bob Thiele.


  • Duke Ellington– piano
  • Coleman Hawkins– tenor saxophone
  • Johnny Hodges– alto saxophone
  • Harry Carney– baritone saxophone, bass clarinet
  • Lawrence Brown– trombone
  • Ray Nance– cornet, violin
  • Aaron Bell– double bass
  • Sam Woodyard– drums
  • Rudy Van Gelder– engineer
  • Joe Alper – photography
  • Jason Claiborne – graphic design
  • Stanley Dance – liner notes
  • Hollis King – art direction

Track listing:

All tracks by Duke Ellington, except where noted.

  1. Limbo Jazz
  2. Mood Indigo – Duke Ellington, Barney Bigard
  3. Ray Charles’ Place
  4. Wanderlust – Duke Ellington, Johnny Hodges
  5. You Dirty Dog
  6. Self-Portrait (of the Bean)
  7. The Jeep Is Jumpin’ – Duke Ellington, Johnny Hodges
  8. The Ricitic
  9. Solitude – Duke Ellington, Eddie DeLange


On December 27, 1981.

On December 27, 1981, Hoagland Howard “Hoagy”  Carmichael  died aged 82. He was composer, pianist, singer, actor, and bandleader. Carmichael composed several hundred songs, including fifty that achieved hit record status. His best known songs are four among the most-recorded American songs of all time: “Stardust”, “Georgia on My Mind” (lyrics by Stuart Gorrell), “The Nearness of You”, and “Heart and Soul” (lyrics by Frank Loesser). His song “In the Cool, Cool, Cool of the Evening,” (lyrics by Johnny Mercer, won the “Academy Award for Best Original Song” in 1951. Carmichael’s songs were performed by many famous musicians including Sidney Arodin, Louis Armstrong, Fred Astaire, Bix Beiderbecke, Ray Charles, Bing Crosby, Jimmy Dorsey, Tommy Dorsey, Duke Ellington, Helen Forrest, Harry James, Spike Jones, Frank Loesser, Johnny Mercer, Glenn Miller, Dinah Shore, Jack Teagarden and Paul Whiteman.

In December 1983.

In December 1983, “Warner Bros” label released “Invitation” the third Jaco Pastorius album. It was recorded at various venues during a tour of Japan, featuring his “Word of Mouth” big band, and was produced by Jaco Pastorius.


  • Jaco Pastorius— electric bass
  • Don Alias– percussion
  • Randy Brecker– trumpet
  • Peter Erskine– drums
  • Bobby Mintzer– tenor and soprano saxophone
  • Othello Molineaux– steel drum
  • Jean “Toots” Thielemans– harmonica
  • Elmer Brown, Forrest Buchtel, Ron Tooley – trumpet
  • Jon Faddis– trumpet
  • Wayne Andre– trombone
  • Dave Bargeron– trombone, tuba
  • Peter Graves – bass trombone, co–conductor
  • Bill Reichenbach– bass trombone
  • Mario Cruz– tenor and soprano saxophone, clarinet, alto flute
  • Randy Emerick – baritone saxophone, clarinet
  • Alex Foster– tenor, alto and soprano saxophone, clarinet, piccolo
  • Paul McCandless– tenor saxophone, oboe, English horn
  • Peter Gordon, Brad Warnaar – French horn

Track listing:

  1. Invitation – Bronisław Kaper
  2. Amerika – traditional
  3. Soul Intro/The Chicken – Jaco Pastorius, Pee Wee Ellis
  4. Continuum – Jaco Pastorius
  5. Liberty City – Jaco Pastorius
  6. Sophisticated Lady – Duke Ellington, Irving Mills, Mitchell Parish
  7. Reza/Giant Steps/Reza (reprise) – Jaco Pastorius, John Coltrane
  8. Fannie Mae – Buster Brown, Clarence Lewis, Morgan Robinson
  9. Eleven – Miles Davis, Gil Evans

In December 1952.

In December 1952, “Blue Note” label released “New Faces New Sounds (Introducing the Horace Silver Trio)”, the debut Horace Silver album. It was recorded in October 1952, at “WOR Studios” in New York City.


  • Horace Silver – piano
  • Art Blakey– drums
  • Curly Russell– bass
  • Gene Ramey– bass
  • Leonard Feather– liner note
  • John Hermansader – cover

Track listing:

  1. Safari – Horace Silver
  2. Ecaroh – Horace Silver
  3. Prelude to a Kiss – Duke Ellington, Irving Gordon, Irving Mills
  4. Thou Swell – Lorenz Hart, Richard Rodgers
  5. Quicksilver – Horace Silver
  6. Horoscope – Horace Silver
  7. Yeah – Horace Silver
  8. Knowledge Box – Horace Silver


On December 1, 1974.

On December 1, 1974, “Blue Note” label released “Satin Doll”, the fourth Bobbi Humphrey studio album. It was recorded June – August 1974, at “Sound Factory” in Hollywood, and was produced by Larry Mizell.


  • Bobbi Humphrey– vocals, flute
  • Fonce Mizell– vocals, clavinet, trumpet
  • Jerry Peters- piano, clavinet
  • Larry Mizell– vocals, electric piano synthesizer, clavinet, arranger, conductor
  • Phil Davis, Don Preston– synthesizer
  • Melvin “Wah Wah Watson” Ragin, John Rowin- guitar
  • Wayne Tweed, Chuck Rainey- electric bass
  • Harvey Mason- drums
  • King Errison- conga
  • Roger Sainte, Stephanie Spruill- percussion
  • Chuck Davis, Samantha Harris, Freddie Perren- backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Larry Mizell except where noted.

  1. New York Times
  2. Satin Doll – Duke Ellington, Johnny Mercer, Billy Strayhorn
  3. San Francisco Lights – Chuck Davis
  4. Ladies Day
  5. Fun House – Terry McFaddin, Melvin “Wah-Wah Watson” Ragin
  6. My Little Girl
  7. Rain Again
  8. You Are the Sunshine of My Life – Stevie Wonder