Tag Archives: Wallace Roney

On August 30, 2019.

On August 30, 2019, “High Note” label released “Blue Dawn-Blue Nights”, the 21st and final Wallace Roney album. It was recorded September – December 2018, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey, and was produced by Wallace Roney.


  • Wallace Roney – trumpet
  • Emilio Modeste – soprano and tenor saxophone
  • Oscar Williams II – piano
  • Quintin Zoto – guitar
  • Paul Cuffari – bass
  • Kojo Odu Roney – drums
  • Lenny White – drums

Track listing:

  1. Bookendz – Wallace Roney
  2. Why Should There Be Stars – Bryce Rohde, Kaye Dunham
  3. Wolfbane
  4. New Breed – Dave Liebman
  5. Don’t Stop Me Now – Steve Lukather, David Paich
  6. A Dark Room – Oscar Williams II
  7. Venus Rising – Emilio Modeste
  8. Elliptical – Emilio Modeste

On March 23, 1999.

On March 23, 1999, “Elektra” label released “Inside”, the 20th David Sanborn album. It was recorded in 1998, at “Camel Island” in New Jersey, “Avatar Studios”, “Hiatus Studios”, “Sound On Sound” and “Electric Lady Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Marcus Miller and David Isaac.


  • David Sanborn – alto saxophone
  • Marcus Miller – keyboards, Rhodes piano, guitar, bass, drums, clarinet, backing vocals, arrangements, engineer
  • Ricky Peterson – Hammond B3 organ
  • Gil Goldstein – electric piano, arrangements
  • Davis Isaac – keyboards
  • Marvin Sewell – National resaphonic guitar
  • Dean Brown – guitar
  • Bill Frisell – guitar
  • Fareed Haque – acoustic guitar
  • Gene Lake – drums
  • Don Alias – percussion
  • Michael Brecker – tenor saxophone
  • Ronnie Cuber – baritone saxophone
  • Lenny Pickett – tenor saxophone
  • Wallace Roney – trumpet
  • Hank Roberts – cello
  • Cassandra Wilson – lead vocals
  • Eric Benét – lead and backing vocals
  • Lalah Hathaway – lead and backing vocals
  • Sting – lead vocals
  • Davis Isaac – engineer
  • Goh Hotada – engineer, mixing
  • Paul Mitchell – engineer
  • Malcolm Pollack – engineer
  • Dean Sharenow – engineer
  • Takamasa Hondu – assistant engineer
  • John R. Reigert III – assistant engineer
  • Rory Romano – assistant engineer
  • Mike Tocci – assistant engineer
  • Zach Wind – assistant engineer
  • Greg Calbi – mastering
  • Bibi Green – production coordinator
  • Jennifer Roddie – art direction, design
  • Michael Wilson – cover photography
  • Eric Johnson – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Marcus Miller, except where noted.

  1. Corners (For Herbie)
  2. Day Dreaming – Aretha Franklin
  3. Trance
  4. Brother Ray
  5. Lisa – David Sanborn
  6. When I’m With You
  7. Naked Moon
  8. Cane – Meshell Ndegeocello
  9. Ain’t No Sunshine – Bill Withers
  10. Miss You – David Sanborn

On August 12, 1997.

On August 12, 1997, “Warner Bros” label released “Village”, the eleventh Wallace Roney album. It was recorded in December 1996, at “Sear Sound” in New York City, and was produced by Lenny White, Matt Pierson, and Wallace Roney.


  • Wallace Roney− trumpet, arranger
  • Antoine Roney- soprano and tenor saxophone, bass clarinet
  • Michael Brecker– tenor saxophone
  • Pharoah Sanders − tenor saxophone
  • Chick Corea− piano, electric piano, arranger
  • Geri Allen− piano
  • Robert “Baabe” Irving III– synthesizer
  • Clarence Seay− double bass
  • Lenny White− drums
  • Steve Berrios– percussion

Track listing:

All tracks by Wallace Roney, except where noted.

  1. Affinity – Chick Corea
  2. Inner Urge – Joe Henderson
  3. I Love You – Cole Porter
  4. The Pharoah
  5. Aknaaba – Antoine Roney
  6. Village
  7. Eternal One
  8. EBO – Lenny White
  9. Oshirike

On July 12, 2017.

On July 12, 2017, Joe Fields died aged 88. He has worked for “London Records”,  “MGM”, “Verve”, “Prestige”, “Sue Records”, and “Buddha Records” (started their jazz division, “Cobblestone Records”), before he started his own label “Muse Records” in 1973. The label featured artists such as Pat Martino, Houston Person, Cedar Walton, Charlie Earland, Larry Coryell and Woody Shaw. In the 80’s Fields acquired “Savoy” and “Landmark Records” labels. “Savoy” owned recordings by Charlie Parker, Miles Davis and Dexter Gordon, among others. In 1997, Joe, and his son Barney, launched “HighNote” and “Savant Records”, labels that features artists such as Kenny Burrell, Houston Person, Wallace Roney, Eric Alexander, Freddy Cole, Tom Harrell and Russell Malone.

On February 23, 1997.

Tony Williams

On February 23, 1997, Anthony Tillmon “Tony” Williams died aged 51. He is regarded as one of the most important and influential jazz drummers ever. In his career he has performed and recorded with some of the biggest names in the jazz history, including: Miles Davis, Geri Allen, Arcana, Chet Baker, George Cables, Ron Carter, Stanley Clarke, Eric Dolphy, Kenny Dorham, Gil Evans, Tommy Flanagan, Hal Galper, Stan Getz, Dexter Gordon, Herbie Hancock, Wayne Shorter, Wallace Roney, Jonas Hellborg, Joe Henderson, Andrew Hill, Terumasa Hino, Allan Holdsworth, Hank Jones, Charles Lloyd, Michael Mantler, Ray Manzarek, Branford Marsalis, Wynton Marsalis, John McLaughlin, Jackie McLean, Marcus Miller, Mulgrew Miller, Grachan Moncur III, Jaco Pastorius, Michel Petrucciani, Pop Workshop, Public Image Limited, Don Pullen, Sam Rivers, Sonny Rollins, Wallace Roney, Travis Shook, McCoy Tyner, Sadao Watanabe and Weather Report. In 1969, Tony Williams formed a trio, the Tony Williams Lifetime, with John McLaughlin on guitar and Larry Young on organ.