Tag Archives: Jack McDuff

In December 1970.

In December 1970, “Blue Note” label released “Who Knows What Tomorrow’s Gonna Bring?” album by Brother Jack McDuff (his fourth album for Blue Note). It was recorded in December 1970, and was produced by Lew Futterman.


  • Brother Jack McDuff – organ
  • Randy Brecker, Olu Dara – trumpet
  • Dick Griffin, John Pierson – trombone
  • Paul Griffin – piano
  • Joe Beck – guitar
  • Tony Levin – electric bass
  • Donald McDonald – drums
  • Mike Mainieri – percussion
  • Ray Draper – percussion, vocals, tuba, arranger

Track listing:

All tracks by Jack McDuff except where noted.

  1. Who Knows What Tomorrow’s Gonna Bring? – Ray Draper
  2. Ya Ya Ya Ya Ya Ya – Ray Draper
  3. Who’s Pimpin’ Who? – Ray Draper
  4. Classic Funke
  5. Ya’ll Remember Boogie? – Ray Draper
  6. Wank’s Thangnt

In December 1961.

In December 1961, “Prestige” label released “Twisting the Jug”, the 15th Gene Ammons album. It was recorded in November 1961, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey.


  • Gene Ammons – tenor saxophone
  • Joe Newman – trumpet
  • Jack McDuff – organ
  • Wendell Marshall – bass
  • Walter Perkins – drums
  • Ray Barretto – congas

Track listing:

All tracks by Gene Ammons except where noted

  1. Twistin’ the Jug
  2. Born to Be Blue – Mel Tormé, Robert Wells
  3. Satin Doll – Duke Ellington, Johnny Mercer, Billy Strayhorn
  4. Moten Swing – Bennie Moten, Buster Moten
  5. Stormy Monday – Bob Crowder, Billy Eckstine, Earl Hines
  6. Down the Line

In November 1967.

In November 1967, “Verve” label released “The Blues Is Now”, the twenty-eight Jimmy Witherspoon album. It was recorded on June 1, 1967, and was produced by Ken Druker and Lew Futterman.


  • Jimmy Witherspoon- vocals
  • Jack McDuff- arranger, organ
  • Leo Johnson, Danny Turner – alto saxophone, tenor saxophone, flute
  • Melvin Sparks- guitar
  • Jymie Merritt- bass guitar
  • Ray Appleton- drums
  • Hollis King- art direction
  • Nancy Reiner- cover art
  • Acy Lehman- cover design
  • Val Valentin– engineer
  • Ken Druker- executive producer
  • Bob Irwin, Jayme Pieruzzi– mastering
  • Raymond Ross- photography

Track listing:

  1. Sweet Slumber – Lucky Millinder, Al J. Neiburg, Henri Woode
  2. I’m Gonna Move to the Outskirts of Town – Andy Razaf, Will Weldon
  3. Past Forty Blues – Robert Lee Roach, Jimmy Witherspoon
  4. K. Blues – Saunders King
  5. Late One Evening – Jimmy Witherspoon
  6. Part Time Woman – Jimmy Witherspoon
  7. Good Rocking Tonight – Roy Brown
  8. I Won’t Tell a Soul (I Love You) – Hughie Clark, Ross Parker
  9. My Baby’s Quit Me – Doc Pomus
  10. My Money’s Long This Morning, Baby – David Parker

In September 1971.

In September 1971, “Decca” label released “Pilgrimage”, the second Wishbone Ash studio album. It was recorded in May 1971, at “De Lane Lea Studios” in London, and was produced by Derek Lawrence.


  • Andy Powell– guitar, vocals
  • Ted Turner– guitar, vocals
  • Martin Turner– bass, vocals
  • Steve Upton– drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Martin Turner, Steve Upton, Ted Turner and Andy Powell, except where noted.

  1. Vas Dis – Jack McDuff
  2. The Pilgrim
  3. Jail Bait
  4. Alone
  5. Lullaby
  6. Valediction
  7. Where Were You Tomorrow