Tag Archives: Dave Brubeck

In February 1965.

In February 1965, “Impulse!” label released “More Blues and the Abstract Truth”, the thirteen Oliver Nelson album. It was recorded in November 1964, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, NJ, and was produced by Bob Thiele.


  • Oliver Nelson- arranger, conductor
  • Thad Jones, Danny Moore – trumpet
  • Phil Woods- alto saxophone
  • Ben Webster- tenor saxophone
  • Phil Bodner- tenor saxophone, English horn
  • Pepper Adams- baritone saxophone
  • Roger Kellaway– piano
  • Richard Davis– bass
  • Grady Tate– drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Oliver Nelson, except where noted

  1. Blues and the Abstract Truth
  2. Blues O’Mighty – Johnny Hodges
  3. Theme from Mr. Broadway – Dave Brubeck
  4. Midnight Blue – Neal Hefti
  5. The Critic’s Choice
  6. One for Bob
  7. Blues for Mr. Broadway – Dave Brubeck
  8. Goin’ to Chicago Blues – Count Basie, Jimmy Rushing

In January 1964.

In January 1964, “Riverside” label released “How My Heart Sings!”, the 13th Bill Evans album. It was recorded May – June 1963, at “Sound Makers Studio” in New York City, and was produced by Orrin Keepnews.


  • Bill Evans- piano
  • Chuck Israels- bass
  • Paul Motian- drums

Track listing:

  1. How My Heart Sings – Earl Zindars
  2. I Should Care – Sammy Cahn, Axel Stordahl, Paul Weston
  3. In Your Own Sweet Way – Dave Brubeck
  4. In Your Own Sweet Way – alternate take – bonus track
  5. Walking Up – Bill Evans
  6. Summertime – George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin, DuBose Heyward
  7. 34 Skidoo – Bill Evans
  8. Ev’rything I Love – Cole Porter
  9. Show-Type Tune – Bill Evans

On December 14, 1959.

On December 14, 1959, “Columbia” label released “Time Out”, the 16th Dave Brubeck Quartet album, and the 27th Dave Brubeck album overall. It was recorded June 25, July 1, and August 18, 1959, at “Columbia’s 30th Street Studio” in New York City, and was produced by Teo Macero. The album was certified Platinum in US by “RIAA”


  • Dave Brubeck– piano
  • Paul Desmond– alto saxophone
  • Eugene Wright– bass
  • Joe Morello– drums
  • Fred Plaut– engineer
  • Neil Fujita– cover artwork
  • Seth Rothstein – project director

Track listing:

All tracks by Dave Brubeck, except where noted.

  1.  Blue Rondo à la Turk
  2. Strange Meadow Lark
  3. Take Five – Paul Desmond
  4. Three to Get Ready
  5. Kathy’s Waltz
  6. Everybody’s Jumpin’
  7. Pick Up Sticks

In November 1961.

In November 1961, “Columbia” label released “Time Further Out”, album by the Dave Brubeck Quartet. It was recorded in May 1961, and was produced by Teo Macero.


  • Dave Brubeck– piano
  • Paul Desmond– alto saxophone
  • Eugene Wright– bass
  • Joe Morello– drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Dave Brubeck.

  1. It’s a Raggy Waltz
  2. Bluette
  3. Charles Matthew Hallelujah
  4. Far More Blue
  5. Far More Drums
  6. Maori Blues
  7. Unsquare Dance
  8. Bru’s Boogie Woogie
  9. Blue Shadows in the Street

On October 21, 1957.

On October 21, 1957, “Columbia” label released “Miles Ahead”, the second Miles Davis album for this label. It was recorded May 6, 10, 23, 27 – August 22, 1957, at “Columbia 30th Street Studio” in New York City, and was produced by George Avakian and Cal Lampley.


  • Miles Davis – flugelhorn
  • Gil Evans– arranger, conductor
  • Bernie Glow– lead trumpet
  • Ernie Royal, Louis Mucci, Taft Jordan, John Carisi– trumpet
  • Frank Rehak, Jimmy Cleveland, Joe Bennett – trombone
  • Tom Mitchell – bass trombone
  • Willie Ruff, Tony Miranda, Jim Buffington – French horn
  • Bill Barber– tuba
  • Lee Konitz– alto sax
  • Danny Bank– bass clarinet
  • Romeo Penque, Sid Cooper – flute, clarinet
  • Paul Chambers– double bass
  • Art Taylor– drums
  • Wynton Kelly- piano

Track listing:

  1. Springsville – John Carisi
  2. The Maids of Cadiz – Léo Delibes
  3. The Duke – Dave Brubeck
  4. My Ship – Kurt Weill
  5. Miles Ahead – Miles Davis, Gil Evans
  6. Blues for Pablo – Gil Evans
  7. New Rhumba – Ahmad Jamal
  8. Medley Pt. 1: The Meaning of the Blues – Bobby Troup, Leah Worth
  9. Medley Pt. 2: Lament – J. Johnson
  10. I Don’t Wanna Be Kissed (By Anyone but You) – Jack Elliot, Harold Spina

In September 1969.

In September 1969, “Immediate” label released the self-titled, third Nice album. It was recorded in 1969, at “Trident Studios” in London, and “Fillmore East” in New York City, and was produced by Keith Emerson, Lee Jackson and Brian Davison.


  • Keith Emerson– Hammond organ, pianos
  • Lee Jackson– bass guitar, vocals
  • Brian Davison– drums, percussion

Track listing:

  1. Azrael Revisited -Keith Emerson, Lee Jackson
  2. Hang on to a Dream -Tim Hardin
  3. Diary of an Empty Day – music: Edouard Lalo arr. by Keith Emerson, lyrics: Lee Jackson
  4. For Example – Keith Emerson, Lee Jackson
  5. Rondo ’69’ – Dave Brubeck, Keith Emerson, Lee Jackson, Brian Davison
  6. She Belongs to Me – Bob Dylan

On July 2, 1965.

On July 2, 1965, “Columbia” label released “Angel Eyes”, the 47th Dave Brubeck album. It was recorded July 2, 1962 – February 15, 1965, and was produced by Teo Macero.


  • Dave Brubeck- piano
  • Paul Desmond- alto saxophone
  • Gene Wright- double bass
  • Joe Morello- drums

Track listing

All music by Matt Dennis, lyrics as noted.

  1. Let’s Get Away from It All – Tom Adair
  2. Violets for Your Furs – Tom Adair
  3. Angel Eyes – Earl Brent
  4. Will You Still Be Mine? – Tom Adair
  5. Everything Happens to Me – Tom Adair
  6. Little Man With a Candy Cigar – Frank Killduff
  7. The Night We Called It a Day – Tom Adair