Tag Archives: Jack DeJohnette

On April 26, 1993.

On April 26, 1993, “ECM” label released “Bye Bye Blackbird”, album by Keith Jarrett’s “Standards Trio”, tribute to Miles Davis, who had died two weeks earlier. It was recorded on October 12, 1991, at “Power Station” in New York City, and was produced by Manfred Eicher.


  • Keith Jarrett– piano
  • Gary Peacock- double bass
  • Jack DeJohnette- drums

Track listing:

  1. Bye Bye Blackbird – Ray Henderson, Mort Dixon
  2. You Won’t Forget Me – Kermit Goell, Fred Spielman
  3. Butch and Butch – Oliver Nelson
  4. Summer Night – Al Dubin, Harry Warren
  5. For Miles – Keith Jarrett, Gary Peacock, Jack DeJohnette
  6. Straight No Chaser – Thelonious Monk
  7. I Thought About You – Jimmy Van Heusen, Johnny Mercer
  8. Blackbird, Bye Bye – Keith Jarrett, Gary Peacock, Jack DeJohnette

On April 15, 1996.

On April 15, 1996, “Verve” label released “Number Two Express”, the second Christian McBride studio album. It was recorded in 1995 at “Clinton Recording Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Richard Seidel and Don Sickler.


  • Christian McBride– upright and electric bass
  • Kenny Barron– piano
  • Chick Corea– piano
  • Gary Bartz– alto saxophone
  • Kenny Garrett– alto saxophone
  • Steve Nelson – vibes
  • Mino Cinelu– percussion
  • Jack DeJohnette– drums
  • Jim Anderson– recording

Track listing:

All tracks by Christian McBride, except where noted.

  1. Whirling Dervish
  2. Youthful Bliss
  3. Tones for Joan’s Bones – Chick Corea
  4. EGAD
  5. Miyako – Wayne Shorter
  6. Divergence
  7. Jayne – Ornette Coleman
  8. Morning Story
  9. Grove
  10. Little Sunflower – Freddie Hubbard


On February 19, 1996.

On February 19, 1996, “Verve” label released “The New Standard”, the fortieth Herbie Hancock album. It was recorded in 1995, at “Manhattan Center Studios” in  New York, and was produced by Guy Eckstine and Herbie Hancock.


  • Herbie Hancock– piano
  • Michael Brecker- tenor and soprano saxophone
  • John Scofield- acoustic and electric guitar, electric sitar
  • Dave Holland- acoustic bass
  • Jack DeJohnette- drums, electric percussion
  • Don Alias– percussion
  • Oscar Brashear, Les Lovitt – trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Gene Cipriano – oboe, English horn
  • Suzette Moriarty – French horn
  • Maurice Spears – trombone
  • Sam Riney – flute
  • Lili Haydn, Margaret Wooten – violin
  • Cameron Stone – cello
  • Bob Belden – arranger
  • Patricia Lie – art direction
  • James Minchin, Jimmy Katz – photography

 Track listing:

  1. New York Minute – Don Henley, Danny Kortchmar, Kai Winding
  2. Mercy Street – Peter Gabriel
  3. Norwegian Wood (This Bird Has Flown) – John Lennon, Paul McCartney
  4. When Can I See You – Kenny “Babyface” Edmonds
  5. You’ve Got It Bad Girl – Stevie Wonder, Yvonne Wright
  6. Love Is Stronger Than Pride – Sade Adu, Andrew Hale, Stuart Matthewman
  7. Scarborough Fair – traditional
  8. Thieves in the Temple – Prince
  9. All Apologies – Kurt Cobain
  10. Manhattan (Island of Lights and Love) – Herbie Hancock, Jean Hancock
  11. Your Gold Teeth II – Donald Fagen, Walter Becker

On July 29, 2018.

On July 29, 2018, Tomasz Stańko died aged 76. He was trumpeter, composer and improviser, associated with free jazz and the avant-garde. He has performed and recorded with many famous jazz musicians including  Adam Makowicz, Krzysztof Komeda, Zbigniew Seifert,Cecil Taylor,  Jack DeJohnette, Dave Holland, Reggie Workman, Rufus Reid, Lester Bowie, David Murray, Manu Katché and Chico Freeman.

In January 1971.

In January 1971, “CTI” label released “Straight Life”, the nineteenth Freddie Hubbard album It was recorded on 16 November 1970, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, and was produced by Creed Taylor.


  • Freddie Hubbard- trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Joe Henderson- tenor saxophone
  • Herbie Hancock- electric piano
  • George Benson- guitar
  • Ron Carter- double bass
  • Jack DeJohnette- drums
  • Richard Landrum – drums, percussion
  • Weldon Irvine- tambourine

Track listing:

  1. Straight Life – Freddie Hubbard
  2. Clean – Weldon Irvine
  3. Here’s That Rainy Day – Jimmy Van Heusen, Johnny Burke

In July 1981.

In July 1981, “Warner Bros” label released “Word of Mouth”, the second Jaco Pastorius album. It was 1980 – 1981, and was produced by Jaco Pastorius.


  • Jaco Pastorius– electric bass, double bass, organ, piano, synthesizer, autoharp, percussion, vocals, drums
  • Herbie Hancock– keyboards, synthesizers, piano
  • Wayne Shorter, Michael Brecker, Tom Scott, Mario Cruz– saxophone
  • Toots Thielemans– harmonica
  • Chuck Findley– trumpet
  • John Clark– French horn
  • Howard Johnson– tuba
  • Don Alias, Robert Thomas, Jr.– percussion
  • Peter Erskine, Jack DeJohnette– drums
  • Paul Horn-Muller – steel pans
  • Othello Molineaux– steel pan
  • John F. Pastorius IV – vocal

Track listing:

All tracks by Jaco Pastorius except where noted.

  1. Crisis
  2. Three Views of a Secret
  3. Liberty City
  4. Chromatic Fantasy – Johann Sebastian Bach
  5. Blackbird – John Lennon, Paul McCartney
  6. Word of Mouth
  7. John and Mary


On June 3, 2016.

On June 3, 2016, “Concord” label released “Stranger to Stranger”, the thirteenth Paul Simon album. It was recorded 2011-2016, and was produced by Roy Halee and Paul Simon.


  • Paul Simon– vocals, acoustic and electric guitar, autoharp, baritone acoustic guitar, bass harmonica, celeste, chromelodeon, clock, glockenspiel, gopichand, harmonium, mbira, percussion, 12-string guitar
  • Bobby Allende – conga drums
  • David Broome – chromelodeon
  • J. Camerieri – french horn, horns, trumpet
  • Clap! Clap!– electronic drums, programming, samples, synthesizers
  • Jack DeJohnette– drums
  • Dean Drummond– bamboo marimba, zoomoozophone
  • Dave Eggar– cello
  • Alan Ferber – trombone
  • Gil Goldstein– string arrangements
  • Katie Kresek – viola
  • Bakithi Kumalo– bass guitar, electric bass
  • Steve Marion– slide guitar
  • Sergio Martínez – hand claps, percussion
  • Bobby McFerrin– backing vocals
  • Keith Montie – backing vocals
  • Nico Muhly– celeste, orchestra bells, horn and flute arrangements
  • Vincent Nguini – electric and acoustic guitar
  • Jim Oblon – drum machine, drums, electronic drums, percussion
  • Nino de los Reyes – hand claps, percussion
  • Oscar de los Reyes – hand claps, percussion
  • Marcus Rojas– tuba
  • Mick Rossi– glockenspiel, harmonium, rhodes
  • Andy Snitzer – saxophone, backing vocals
  • Jared Soldiviero – bamboo marimba, bowed marimba, cloud chamber bowls, harmonic canon
  • Alex Sopp – flute
  • Mark Stewart– big boing mbira, trombadoo
  • Golden Gate Quartet– sampled backing vocals
  • Nelson González– maracas, tres
  • Wycliffe Gordon– trombone
  • Jamey Haddad– brushes, hadjira, percussion
  • Paul Halley– pipe organ
  • Carlos Henriquez – acoustic bass, bass

Track listing:

  1. The Werewolf
  2. Wristband
  3. The Clock
  4. Street Angel
  5. Stranger to Stranger
  6. In a Parade
  7. Proof of Love
  8. In the Garden of Edie
  9. The Riverbank
  10. Cool Papa Bell
  11. Insomniac’s Lullaby