Tag Archives: Charlie Parker

In May 1960.

In May 1960, “Argo” label released “Burnin’”, the 18th Sonny Stitt album. It was recorded in August 1958, in Chicago, and was produced by Jordi Pujol.


  • Sonny Stitt – alto and tenor saxophone
  • Barry Harris – piano
  • William Austin – bass
  • Frank Gant – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Sonny Stitt, except where noted.

  1. Ko-Ko – Charlie Parker
  2. A Minor Sax
  3. Lover Man – Jimmy Davis, James Sherman, Roger Ramirez
  4. Reed and a Half
  5. How High the Moon – Morgan Lewis, Nancy Hamilton
  6. I’ll Tell You Later
  7. Look for the Silver Lining – Jerome Kern, Buddy G. DeSylva
  8. Easy Living – Leo Robin, Ralph Rainger
  9. It’s Hipper Than That

In April 1957.

In April 1957, “Prestige” label released “The Young Bloods”, the fifth Donald Byrd album. It was recorded in November 1956, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, NJ, and was produced by Bob Weinstock.


  • Donald Byrd – trumpet
  • Phil Woods – alto saxophone
  • Al Haig – piano
  • Teddy Kotick – bass
  • Charlie Persip – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Phil Woods except where noted.

  1. Dewey Square – Charlie Parker
  2. Dupeltook
  3. Once More
  4. House of Chan
  5. In Walked George
  6. Lover Man – Jimmy Davis, Ram Ramirez, James Sherman

On February 25, 1993.

On February 25, 1993, “JMT” label released “Paul Motian and the Electric Bebop Band”, the debut Electric Bebop Band album. It was recorded in April 1992, at “Power Station” in New York City, and was produced by Stefan F. Winter.


  • Paul Motian – drums
  • Joshua Redman – tenor saxophone
  • Brad Schoeppach – electric guitar
  • Kurt Rosenwinkel – electric guitar
  • Stomu Takeishi – electric bass

Track listing:

  1. Shaw-Nuff – Ray Brown, Gil Fuller, Dizzy Gillespie
  2. I Waited for You – Gil Fuller, Dizzy Gillespie
  3. Dance of the Infidels – Bud Powell
  4. Darn That Dream – Jimmy Van Heusen, Eddie DeLange
  5. Hot House – Tadd Dameron
  6. Dizzy Atmosphere – Dizzy Gillespie
  7. Scrapple from the Apple – Charlie Parker
  8. Scrapple from the Apple – Charlie Parker
  9. Monk’s Dream – Thelonious Monk
  10. 52nd Street Theme – Thelonious Monk

On January 16, 2021.

On January 16, 2021, Julian Clifford Mance, Jr. aka Junior Mance died aged 92. He was musician (piano) and composer, one of the main figures of the Hard bop jazz scene. He recorded and performed with some of the biggest names of jazz, blues and soul music including Gene Amons, Lester Young, Charlie Parker, Coleman Hawkins, Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis, Sonny Stitt, Dinah Washington, Wynton Kelly, Cannonball Adderley, Dexter Gordon, Nat Adderley, Joe Gordon, Bennie Green, Al Grey, Ernie Andrews, Johnny Griffin, Art Blakey, Cliford Brown, Benny Carter, Buddy Guy, Jimmy Cleveland, Arnett Cobb, Red Holloway, Jose James, Ray Crawford, Harry “Sweets” Edison, Eddie Jefferson, Aretha Franklin, Etta Jones, Dizzy Gillespie, Irene Kral, Jay Leonhart, Les McCann, Paul Gonsalves, Howard McGhee, The Metronomes, Virgil Gonsalves, James Moody, Wild Bill Moore, Barbara Morrison, Sandy Mosse, Leo Parker, Ken Peplowski, Billie Poole, Bernard “Pretty” Purdie, Alvin Queen, Jimmy Scott, Arnold Sterling, Sonny Stitt, Clark Terry, Frank Vignola, Wilbur Ware, Ben Webster, Joe Williams, Marion Williams, and Leo Wright. As leader, Monce released 56 albums (live and studio). In 2007, Mance and his wife Gloria started their own record label “JunGlo”.

On January 13, 2004.

On January 13, 2004, “High Note” label released “Song for the New Man”, the 33th David “Fathead” Newman album. It was recorded in October 2003, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey, and was produced by David “Fathead” Newman and Houston Person.


  • David “Fathead” Newman – tenor saxophone, flute
  • Curtis Fuller – trombone 
  • John Hicks – piano
  • John Menegon – bass
  • Jimmy Cobb – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by David “Fathead” Newman except where noted

  1. Visa – Charlie Parker
  2. Time After Time – Jule Styne, Sammy Cahn
  3. Shakabu
  4. Song for the New Man – Pat Rebillot
  5. Passing Through – Herbie Mann
  6. Fast Lane
  7. Lonesome Head
  8. When I Fall in Love – Victor Young, Edward Heyman
  9. This I Dig of You – Hank Mobley

In december 1957.

In January 1957, “Prestige” label released “A Garland of Red”, the debut Red Garland album. It was recorded in August 1956, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, New Jersey, and was produced by Bob Weinstock.


  • Red Garland – piano
  • Paul Chambers – bass
  • Art Taylor – drums
  • Rudy Van Gelder – recording engineer
  • Bob Weinstock – supervision
  • Ira Gitler – liner notes
  • Hannan, Edwards – design, photography

Track listing:

  1. A Foggy Day – George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin
  2. My Romance – Lorenz Hart, Richard Rodgers
  3. What Is This Thing Called Love? – Cole Porter
  4. Makin’ Whoopee – Walter Donaldson, Gus Kahn
  5. September in the Rain – Al Dubin, Harry Warren
  6. Little Girl Blue – Lorenz Hart, Richard Rodgers
  7. Constellation – Charlie Parker
  8. Blue Red – Red Garland

On December 30, 2020.

On December 30, 2020, Eugene Joseph Wright died aged 97. He was musician (bass), worked with Monty Alexander, Charlie Parker, Lee Shaw, Gene Ammons, Count Basie, Billie Holiday, Carmen McRae, Buddy DeFranco, Cal Tjader, Vince Guaraldi, Kai Winding, Sonny Stitt, Dottie Dodgion, and Dorothy Donegan, but was best known as a member and the bass player of the Dave Brubeck Quartet.

In December 1963.

In December 1963, “Roost” label released “Stitt Goes Latin”, the 48th Sonny Stitt album.It was recorded in November 1963, at “A&R Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Teddy Reig.


  • Sonny Stitt – alto and tenor saxophone
  • Thad Jones – trumpet
  • Chick Corea – piano
  • Larry Gales – bass
  • Willie Bobo – drums
  • Carlos “Patato” Valdes – congas, bongos
  • Osvaldo “Chihuahua” Martinez – cowbell, maracas, jawbone

Track listing:

All tracks by Sonny Stitt except where noted.

  1. Are You Listening
  2. Amigos
  3. My Little Suede Shoes – Charlie Parker
  4. Ritmo Bobo
  5. I Told You So
  6. Chic
  7. Senor Jones
  8. Autumn Leaves – Joseph Kosma, Jacques Prévert, Johnny Mercer

On December 27, 1992.

On December 27, 1992, “Criss Cross” label released “Downtown Sounds”, the debut Grant Stewart album. It was recorded in 1992, at “RPM Sound” in New York City, and was produced by Gerry Teekens.


  • Grant Stewart – tenor sax
  • Joe Magnarelli – trumpet
  • Brad Mehldau – piano
  • Peter Washington – bass
  • Kenny Washington – drums
  • Max Bolleman – engineer
  • Gerry Teekens – design
  • Ron Schwerin – photography

Track listing:

  1. Audobahn – Sonny Rollins
  2. Smada – Billy Strayhorn
  3. Daydream – Billy Strayhorn, Duke Ellington, John La Touche
  4. From This Moment On – Cole Porter
  5. A Bee Has Two Brains – Johnny Ellis
  6. Sweet and Lovely – Gus Arnheim, Harry Tobias, Jules Lemare
  7. Intimacy of the Blues – Billy Strayhorn
  8. Ko-Ko – Charlie Parker

In December 1957.

In December 1957, “Blue Note” label released “Cliff Craft”, the fourth Clifford Jordan album. It was recorded in November 1957, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, New Jersey, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  1. Clifford Jordan – tenor saxophone
  2. Art Farmer – trumpet 
  3. Sonny Clark – piano
  4. George Tucker – bass
  5. Louis Hayes – drums

Track listing:

 All tracks by Cliff Jordan, except where noted.

  1. Laconia
  2. Soul-Lo Blues
  3. Cliff Craft
  4. Confirmation – Charlie Parker
  5. Sophisticated Lady – Duke Ellington, Irving Mills, Mitchell Parish
  6. Anthropology – Dizzy Gillespie, Charlie Parker