Tag Archives: Free

On May 10, 2011.

On May 10, 2011, “Hear Music” label released “Move Like This”, the seventh Cars studio album. It was recorded 2010—2011 at “The Village Recorder” in Los Angeles, “Millbrook Sound Studios” in Millbrook, New York, and was produced by Jacknife Lee, Ric Ocasek, Elliot Easton, Greg Hawkes and David Robinson.


  • Ric Ocasek– lead and background vocals, guitars, keyboards
  • Elliot Easton– guitars, background vocals
  • Greg Hawkes– keyboards, bass guitar, guitars, background vocals
  • David Robinson– drums, percussion, background vocals
  • Jacknife Lee– additional bass
  • Mixed by Rich Costey
  • Digital Engineer: Charlie Stavish
  • Mastered by Vlado Meller
  • Engineered by Sam Bell
  • Assisted by Chris Owens, Vanessa Parr
  • Editing by Jared Scott
  • Engineered by Stephen George
  • Assisted by Paul Orofino

Track listing:

All tracks by Ric Ocasek.

  1. Blue Tip
  2. Too Late
  3. Keep On Knocking
  4. Soon
  5. Sad Song
  6. Free
  7. Drag On Forever
  8. Take Another Look
  9. It’s Only
  10. Hits Me



On April 21, 2006.

On April 21, 2006, “insideOut Music” label released “Free”, the second OSI album. It was recorded in November 2005, and was produced by Jim Matheos and Kevin Moore.


  • Jim Matheos- guitars, keyboards, programming
  • Kevin Moore- vocals, keyboards, programming
  • Mike Portnoy- acoustic drums
  • Joey Vera
  • Bige Akdeniz– guitar, vocals

Track listing:

All lyrics by Kevin Moore; all music by Jim Matheos and Kevin Moore, except where noted.

  1. Sure You Will
  2. Free
  3. Go
  4. All Gone Now
  5. Home Was Good
  6. Bigger Wave
  7. Kicking
  8. Better
  9. Simple Life
  10. Once
  11. Our Town

In December 1970.


In December 1970, “Island” label released “Highway”, the fourth Free studio album. It was recorded September 1970, at “Island Studios” in London, and was produced by Free.


  • Paul Rodgers– vocals
  • Paul Kossoff– lead guitar, rhythm guitar
  • Andy Fraser– bass guitar, piano
  • Simon Kirke– drums, percussion

Track listing:

All tracks by Andy Fraser and Paul Rodgers, except where noted.

  1. The Highway Song
  2. The Stealer – Andy Fraser, Paul Rodgers, Paul Kossoff
  3. On My Way
  4. Be My Friend
  5. Sunny Day
  6. Ride on a Pony
  7. Love You So – Paul Rodgers, Simon Kirke
  8. Bodie
  9. Soon I Will Be Gone


On June 26, 1970.

Fire and water

On June 26, 1970, “Island” label released “Fire and Water”, the third Free studio  album. It was recorded January – June 1970, at “Trident Studios” and “Island Studios” in London, and was produced by Free and John Kelly. The album featured “All Right Now”, band’s landmark song.


  • Paul Rodgers– vocals
  • Paul Kossoff– guitars
  • Andy Fraser– bass guitar, piano
  • Simon Kirke– drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Andy Fraser and Paul Rodgers, except where noted.

  1. Fire and Water
  2. Oh I Wept – Paul Rodgers, Paul Kossoff
  3. Remember
  4. Heavy Load
  5. Big – Andy Fraser, Paul Rodgers, Simon Kirke, Paul Kossof
  6. Don’t Say You Love Me
  7. All Right Now


On March 14, 1969.


On March 14, 1969, “island” label released “Tons of Sobs”, the debut Free album. It was recorded in October and December 1968, at “Morgan Studios” in London, and was produced by Guy Stevens.


  • Andy Fraser– bass guitar
  • Simon Kirke– drums
  • Paul Kossoff– guitar
  • Paul Rodgers– vocals
  • Steve Miller– piano thumping
  • Mike Sida – front cover photograph
  • Richard Bennett Zeff – inside cover photography

Track listing:

  1. Over the Green Hills (Pt. 1) – Paul Rodgers
  2. Worry – Paul Rodgers
  3. Walk in My Shadow – Paul Rodgers
  4. Wild Indian Woman – Paul Rodgers and Andy Fraser
  5. Goin’ Down Slow – James Burke Oden
  6. I’m a Mover – Paul Rodgers and Andy Fraser
  7. The Hunter – Booker T. Jones, Carl Wells, Donald Dunn, Al Jackson, Jr. and Steve Cropper
  8. Moonshine – Paul Rodgers and Paul Kossoff
  9. Sweet Tooth – Paul Rodgers
  10. Over the Green Hills (Pt. 2) – Paul Rodgers


On July 12, 1983.

Chris Woods

On July 12, 1983, Christopher Gordon Blandford ‘Chris’ Wood died aged 39. Being saxophone, flute and keyboards player, he was best known as one of the founding members of the band “Traffic”. In his career he has worked and recorded with Ginger Baker’s Air Force, The Jimi Hendrix Experience, Electric Ladyland, Free, Fat Mattress, Martha Velez,  Chicken Shack, Gordon Jackson, Locomotive, Shawn Phillips, Sky, Jim Capaldi,  Reebop Kwaku Baah, John Martyn,  Hanson, Free Creek,  Crawler, Third World and  Spencer Davis Group.

On March 19, 1975.

Paul Kosoff

On March 19, 1975, Paul Francis Kossoff died aged 25. Guitarist and songwriter he was member of Black Cat Bones, Back Street Crawler and Kossoff /Kirke /Tetsu/ Rabbit but he is best known as member of Free.Kossoff is ranked 51st in “Rolling Stone” magazine list of the “100 greatest guitarists of all time”.