Tag Archives: oscar Hammerstein II

In March 1959.

In March 1959, “Blue Note” label released “Off to the Races”, the 13th Donald Byrd album. It was recorded in December 1958, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, NJ, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Donald Byrd- trumpet
  • Jackie McLean- alto saxophone
  • Pepper Adams- baritone saxophone
  • Wynton Kelly- piano
  • Sam Jones- bass
  • Art Taylor- drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Donald Byrd except where noted.

  1. Lover, Come Back to Me – Oscar Hammerstein II, Sigmund Romberg
  2. When Your Love Has Gone
  3. Sudwest Funk
  4. Paul’s Pal – Sonny Rollins
  5. Off to the Races
  6. Down Tempo


In February 1959.

In February 1959, “Bethlehem Records” label released “Little Girl Blue”, the debut Nina Simone album. It was recorded in December 1957, in New York City.


  • Nina Simone– vocals, piano, arrangements
  • Jimmy Bond– double bass
  • Albert “Tootie” Heath– drums
  • Joseph Muranyi– liner notes

Track listing:

  1. Mood Indigo – Duke Ellington, Barney Bigard, Irving Mills
  2. Don’t Smoke in Bed – Willard Robison
  3. He Needs Me – Arthur Hamilton
  4. Little Girl Blue – Richard Rodgers, Lorenz Hart
  5. Love Me or Leave Me – Walter Donaldson, Gus Kahn
  6. My Baby Just Cares for Me – Walter Donaldson, Gus Kahn
  7. Good Bait – Count Basie, Tadd Dameron
  8. Plain Gold Ring – George Stone (aka Earl Burroughs)
  9. You’ll Never Walk Alone – Richard Rodgers, Oscar Hammerstein II
  10. I Loves You, Porgy – DuBose Heyward, George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin
  11. Central Park Blues – Nina Simone

On January 28, 1997.

On January 28, 1997, “Warner Bros” label released “The Art of the Trio Volume One”, the sixth Brad Mehldau album. It was recorded September 4 and 5, 1996 at “Mad Hatter Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Matt Pierson.


  • Brad Mehldau- piano
  • Larry Grenadier- bass
  • Jorge Rossy- drums
  • James Farber – engineer
  • Greg Calbi – mastering
  • Rey International – art direction, design
  • Andrea Marouk – photography
  • Ed Fox – band photographs
  • Dana Watson – production coordination

Track listing:

All tracks by Brad Mehldau except where noted.

  1. Blame It on My Youth – Edward Heyman, Oscar Levant
  2. I Didn’t Know What Time It Was – Lorenz Hart, Richard Rodgers
  3. Ron’s Place
  4. Blackbird – John Lennon, Paul McCartney
  5. Lament for Linus
  6. Mignon’s Song
  7. I Fall in Love Too Easily – Sammy Cahn, Jule Styne
  8. Lucid
  9. Nobody Else But Me – Oscar Hammerstein II, Jerome Kern

On January 25, 1973.

On January 25, 1973, “Bearsville” in 1972, label released “A Woofer in Tweeter’s Clothing”, the second Sparks studio album. It was recorded at “ID Sound at La Brea” and “Walley Heider Studios” and was produced by Thaddeus James Lowe.


  • Russell Mael – vocals
  • Ron Mael – keyboards
  • Earle Mankey – guitar
  • Jim Mankey – bass
  • Harley Feinstein – drums

Track listing:

  1. Girl from Germany – Russell Mael, Ron Mael
  2. Beaver O’Lindy – Ron Mael, Russsell Mael, Earle Mankey, Jim Mankey, Harley Feinstein
  3. Nothing is Sacred – Ron Mael
  4. Here Comes Bob – Ron Mael, Russell Mael
  5. Moon Over Kentucky – lyrics by Jim Mankey, music by Ron Mael
  6. Do Re Mi – Richard Rodgers, Oscar Hammerstein II
  7. Angus Desire – Ron Mael, Russell Mael
  8. Underground – Earle Mankey
  9. The Louvre – Ron Mael, French translation by Josée Becker
  10. Batteries Not Included – Ron Mael
  11. Whippings and Apologies – Ron Mael


On January 24, 2005.

On January 24, 2005, “ECM” label released “I Have the Room Above Her”, the 27th  Paul Motian album. It was recorded in April 2004, and was produced by Manfred Eicher.


  • Paul Motian- drums
  • Bill Frisell- electric guitar
  • Joe Lovano- tenor saxophone

Track listing:

All tracks by Paul Motian except where noted.

  1. Osmosis Part III
  2. Sketches
  3. Odd Man Out
  4. Shadows
  5. I Have the Room Above Her – Oscar Hammerstein II, Jerome Kern
  6. Osmosis Part I
  7. Dance
  8. Harmony
  9. The Riot Act
  10. The Bag Man
  11. One in Three
  12. Dreamland – Beth Slater Whitson, Leo Friedman

In December 1967.

In December 1967, “Blue Note” label released “Heads Up!”, the 14th Blue Mitchell album. It was recorded in November 1967, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, NJ, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Blue Mitchell – trumpet
  • Burt Collins- trumpet
  • Jerry Dodgion- flute, alto saxophone
  • Junior Cook- tenor saxophone
  • Pepper Adams- baritone saxophone
  • Julian Priester- trombone
  • McCoy Tyner- piano
  • Gene Taylor- bass
  • Al Foster- drums
  • Jimmy Heath, Melba Liston, Duke Pearson, Don Pickett – arrangement

Track listing:

All tracks by Blue Mitchell except where noted.

  1. Heads Up! Feet Down! – Jimmy Heath
  2. Togetherness – Jimmy Heath
  3. The Folks Who Live On the Hill – Jerome Kern, Oscar Hammerstein II
  4. Good Humour Man
  5. Len Sirrah – Melba Liston
  6. The People in Nassau

on December 2, 1957.

On December 2, 1957, “World Pacific” label released “The King and I”, (A Jazz Interpretation by the Mastersounds), the second Mastersounds album. It was recorded in September 1957 and was produced by Richard Bock.


  • Buddy Montgomery- vibraphone
  • Richie Crabtree – piano
  • Monk Montgomery- electric bass
  • Benny Barth- drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Richard Rodgers and Oscar Hammerstein II.

  1. Medley: I Have Dreamed/The Puzzlement/Something Wonderful
  2. Dance of the Siamese Children
  3. Getting to Know You
  4. My Lord and Master
  5. Medley: Hello, Young Lovers/Whistle a Happy Tune
  6. We Kiss in the Shadows
  7. Shall We Dance
  8. Epilogue