Tag Archives: December 29

On december 29, 2020.

On December 29, 2020, Claude Bolling died aged 90. He was musician (piano), composer, and arranger. He wrote music for more than one hundred movies, collaborated with classical musicians, but also with musicians from various genres including Alexandre Lagoya, Pinchas Zukerman, Maurice André, and Yo-Yo Ma. Bolling has worked with some of the biggest names in the jazz music including Roy Eldridge, Kenny Clarke. Oscar Peterson, Lionel Hampton, Duke Ellington, Stéphane Grappelli, and Django Reinhardt. As leader he released 24 albums.

On December 29, 1990.

On December 29, 1990, “Mute” label released “99%”, the third Meat Beat Manifesto studio album. It was recorded in 1990, and was produced by Marc Adams, Jack Dangers, Craig Morrison and Jonny Stephens.


  • Jack Dangers – vocals, multi-instrumentalist, programming
  • Jonny Stephens – multi-instrumentalist, programming
  • Greg Retch – multi-instrumentalist, programming
  • Craig Morrison – cover art

Track listing:

All tracks by Jack Dangers.

  1. Now
  2. Psyche Out
  3. All the Things You Are
  4. Hello Teenage America
  5. 10X Faster Than the Speed of Love
  6. 99%
  7. Dogstar Man/Helter Skelter
  8. Think Fast
  9. Hallucination Generation
  10. Deviate

On December 29, 1987.

On December 29, 1987, “Arista” label released “One Lord, One Faith, One Baptism” is Aretha Franklin gospel album. It was recorded July 27, 28 and 30, at “New Bethel Baptist Church” in Detroit, Michigan, and was produced by Aretha Franklin.


  • Aretha Franklin– vocals, arranger, liner notes
  • Mavis Staples– vocals
  • Brenda Corbett – vocals
  • Carolyn Franklin– vocals
  • Erma Franklin– vocals
  • Reverend Jesse Jackson- speaker
  • Reverend Cecil Franklin – speaker
  • Ortheia Barnes – background vocals
  • Renee Thomas – background vocals
  • Sandra Feva – background vocals
  • Margaret Branch – background vocals
  • Dana Davis – percussion
  • Lanar Brantley – bass
  • Michael Wright – guitar
  • Nick Johnson – piano
  • Thomas Whitfield- organ, piano, arranger, vocal arrangement
  • Earl Wright Jr. – organ
  • Joe Ligon – arranger
  • John Hudson – product manager
  • Frank Fischer – house mix
  • Brian Leskowicz, David Hewitt, Phil Gitomer, Fritz Lange – engineer
  • Mark Wilder – mastering
  • Michael Lacopelli – mixing
  • Maude Gilman – design

Track listing:

  1. Walk In The Light – traditional
  2. Prayer Invocation by Rev. Cecil Franklin
  3. Introduction of Aretha and the Franklin Sisters by Rev. Jesse Jackson
  4. Jesus Hears Every Prayer – Clara Ward
  5. Surely God Is Able – Clara Ward
  6. The Lord’s Prayer – traditional
  7. Introduction of Aretha and Mavis Staples by Rev. Jesse Jackson
  8. Oh Happy Day- Edwin Hawkins
  9. We Need Power – traditional
  10. Speech by Rev. Jesse Jackson
  11. Ave Maria- traditional
  12. Introduction To Higher Ground by Rev. Jaspar Williams
  13. Higher Ground – traditional
  14. Higher Ground (continued)
  15. Prayer Invocation by Rev. Donald Parsons
  16. I’ve Been In The Storm Too Long – traditional
  17. Packing Up, Getting Ready To Go – Clara Ward

On December 29, 1975.

On December 29, 1975, “Reprise” released “Elite Hotel”, the third Emmylou Harris studio album. It was recorded in June 1975, at “Enactron Truck” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Brian Ahern.


  • Emmylou Harris – vocals, acoustic guitar
  • Brian Ahern- acoustic guitar, bass
  • Mike Auldridge– dobro
  • Byron Berline- fiddle, mandolin
  • Dianne Brooks – backing vocals
  • James Burton- electric guitar
  • Rodney Crowell- electric guitar, backing vocals
  • Rick Cunha – acoustic guitar
  • Nick DeCaro – string arrangements
  • Hank DeVito- pedal steel
  • Jonathan Edwards- backing vocals
  • Amos Garrett- electric guitar
  • Emory Gordy, Jr.- bass, backing vocals
  • Glen D. Hardin- piano, electric piano, string arrangements
  • Ben Keith- pedal steel
  • Bernie Leadon- acoustic guitar, backing vocals
  • Bill Payne– piano
  • Herb Pedersen- acoustic guitar, banjo, backing vocals
  • Mickey Raphael– harmonica
  • Linda Ronstadt- backing vocals
  • Fayssoux Starling- backing vocals
  • John Starling- acoustic guitar, backing vocals
  • Ron Tutt– drums
  • John Ware– drums
  • Brian Ahern – engineer
  • Bradley Hartman – engineer
  • Rudy Hill – engineer
  • Stuart Taylor – engineer
  • Miles Wilkinson – engineer

Track listing:

  1. Amarillo – Emmylou Harris, Rodney Crowell
  2. Together Again – Buck Owens
  3. Feelin’ Single, Seein’ Double – Wayne Kemp
  4. Sin City – Gram Parsons, Chris Hillman
  5. One of These Days – Earl Montgomery
  6. Till I Gain Control Again – Rodney Crowell
  7. Here, There and Everywhere – John Lennon, Paul McCartney
  8. Ooh Las Vegas – Gram Parsons, Ric Grech
  9. Sweet Dreams – Don Gibson
  10. Jambalaya (On The Bayou) – Hank Williams
  11. Satan’s Jewel Crown – Edgar L. Eden
  12. Wheels – Chris Hillman, Gram Parsons

On December 29, 1982.

On December 29, 1982, “Geffen” label released “Trans”, the twelfth Neil Young studio album. It was recorded September 1981 – May 1982, at “Modern Recorders”, “Redwood City” in California, “Commercial Recorders” in Honolulu, Hawaii, and was produced by Neil Young, Tim Mulligan and David Briggs.


  • Neil Young– vocals, vocoder, guitars, bass, synclavier, electric piano
  • Nils Lofgren– guitars, piano, organ, electric piano, synclavier, backing vocals, vocoder
  • Ben Keith– pedal steel guitar, slide guitar, backing vocals
  • Frank Sampedro– guitars, stringman
  • Bruce Palmer, Billy Talbot– bass
  • Ralph Molina– drums, backing vocals
  • Joe Lala– percussion, backing vocals

Track listing:

  1. Little Thing Called Love
  2. Computer Age
  3. We R in Control
  4. Transformer Man
  5. Computer Cowboy (aka Syscrusher)
  6. Hold On to Your Love
  7. Sample and Hold
  8. Soul
  9. Like an Inca

On December 29, 2008.


On December 29, 2008, Frederick Dewayne “Freddie” Hubbard died aged 70. He was trumpeter, known primarily for playing in the bebop, hard bop and post bop styles. He has performed and recorded with many famous musicians including George Benson, Walter Benton, Art Blakey, Tina Brooks, Kenny Burrell, George Cables, Betty Carter, Ornette Coleman, John Coltrane, Richard Davis, Eric Dolphy, Kenny Drew, Charles Earland, Bill Evan,  Joe Farrell, Curtis Fuller, Dizzy Gillespie, Clark Terry, Oscar Peterson, Benny Golson, Dexter Gordon, Slide Hampton, Herbie Hancock, Jimmy Heath, Joe Henderson, Andrew Hill, Bobby Hutcherson, Milt Jackson, Billy Joel, Elton John, J.J. Johnson, Quincy Jones, John Lewis, Kirk Lightsey, Ronnie Mathews, Jackie McLean, The Modern Jazz Quartet, Wes Montgomery, Hank Mobley, Alphonse Mouzon, Oliver Nelson, Duke Pearson, Sam Rivers, Max Roach, Sonny Rollins, Rufus, Poncho Sanchez, Don Sebesky, Wayne Shorter, Leon Thomas, Stanley Turrentine, McCoy Tyner, Cedar Walton and Randy Weston.

On December 29, 1969.

Grand Funk album

On December 29, 1969, “Capitol” label released “Grand Funk”, the second Grand Funk Railroad studio album. It was recorded in 1971, and was produced by Terry Knight.


  • Don Brewer – lead vocals, drums
  • Mark Farner- lead vocals, guitars, keyboards, harmonica
  • Mel Schacter – bass

All tracks by Mark Farner, except where noted.

  1. Got This Thing on the Move
  2. Please Don’t Worry – Don Brewer, Mark Farner
  3. High Falootin’ Woman
  4. Limousine Driver
  5. In Need
  6. Winter and My Soul
  7. Paranoid
  8. Inside Looking Out – John Lomax,Alan Lomax, Eric Burdon, Bryan “Chas” Chandler