Tag Archives: John Coltrane

In August 1957.

In August 1957, “New Jazz” and “Prestige” labels released “The Cats”, the second Tommy Flanagan album. It was recorded in April 1957, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, NJ, and was produced by Bob Weinstock.


  • Tommy Flanagan– piano
  • Idrees Sulieman– trumpet
  • John Coltrane– tenor saxophone
  • Kenny Burrell– guitar
  • Doug Watkins– bass
  • Louis Hayes– drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Tommy Flanagan except where noted.

  1. Minor Mishap
  2. How Long Has This Been Going On? – GeorgeGershwin, Ira Gershwin
  3. Eclypso
  4. Solacium
  5. Tommy’s Tune


On August 1, 2006.

On August 1, 2006, “HighNote” label released “Billy Hart Quartet”, the sixth Billy Hart album. It was recorded in October 2005, at “Ambient Recording”, in Easton, Connecticut, and was produced by The Fiesta.


  • Billy Hart- drums
  • Mark Turner- tenor saxophone
  • Ethan Iverson- piano
  • Ben Street- bass

Track listing:

All tracks by Billy Hart except where noted.

  1. Mellow B – Ethan Iverson
  2. Moment’s Notice – John Coltrane
  3. Charvez
  4. Confirmation – Charlie Parker
  5. Lorca
  6. Irah
  7. Lullaby for Imke
  8. Iverson’s Odyssey – Mark Turner
  9. Neon – Ethan Iverson


In July 1970.

In July 1970, ”Impulse!” label released “Transition”, an album by John Coltrane. It was recorded May – June 1965, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, NJ, and was produced by Bob Thiele and John Coltrane.


  • John Coltrane– tenor saxophone
  • McCoy Tyner– piano
  • Jimmy Garrison– double bass
  • Elvin Jones– drums
  • Rudy Van Gelder – engineer
  • Nat Hentoff – liner notes

Track listing:

All tracks by John Coltrane.

  1. Transition
  2. Dear Lord
  3. Suite
  • Prayer and Meditation: Day, Peace and After
  • Prayer and Meditation: Evening, Affirmation
  • Prayer and Meditation: 4 A.M.

In July 1964.

In July 1964, “Atlantic” label released “Coltrane’s Sound”, an album credited to John Coltrane. It was recorded in October 1960, at “Atlantic Studios” in New York City, during the sessions for “My Favorite Things” album, and was produced by Nesuhi Ertegun.


  • John Coltrane— tenor and soprano saxophone
  • McCoy Tyner— piano
  • Steve Davis— bass
  • Elvin Jones— drums
  • Tom Dowd— engineering
  • Marvin Israel— photography
  • Ralph J. Gleason— liner notes

Track listing:

  1. The Night Has a Thousand Eyes – Buddy Bernier, Jerry Branin
  2. Central Park West – John Coltrane
  3. Liberia – John Coltrane
  4. Body and Soul – Edward Heyman, Robert Sour, Frank Eyton, Johnny Green
  5. Equinox – John Coltrane
  6. Satellite – John Coltrane

In July 1963.

In July 1963, “Impulse!” label released “John Coltrane and Johnny Hartman”, an album by John Coltrane and Johnny Hartman. It was recorded in March 1963, at “Van Gelder Studios” in Englewood, NJ, and was produced by Bob Thiele. In 2013, the album was inducted in the “Grammy Hall of Fame”.


  • Johnny Hartman– vocals
  • John Coltrane– tenor saxophone
  • McCoy Tyner– piano
  • Jimmy Garrison– double bass
  • Elvin Jones– drums

Track listing:

  1. They Say It’s Wonderful – Irving Berlin
  2. Dedicated to You – Sammy Cahn, Saul Chaplin, Hy Zaret
  3. My One and Only Love – Guy Wood, Robert Melin
  4. Lush Life – Billy Strayhorn
  5. You Are Too Beautiful – Richard Rodgers, Lorenz Hart
  6. Autumn Serenade – Peter DeRose, Sammy Gallop

In July 1962.

In July 1962, “Impulse!” label released “Coltrane”, the eleventh John Coltrane album (third one for Impulse!). It was recorded April – June 1962, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood, NJ, and was produced by Bob Thiele.


  • John Coltrane– tenor and soprano saxophone
  • Jimmy Garrison– double bass
  • Elvin Jones– drums
  • McCoy Tyner– piano
  • Pete Turner– photography

Track listing:

  1. Out of This World – Harold Arlen, Johnny Mercer
  2. Soul Eyes – Mal Waldron
  3. The Inch Worm – Frank Loesser
  4. Tunji – John Coltrane
  5. Miles’ Mode – John Coltrane

On May 24, 2020.

On May 24, 2020, Wilbur James Cobb died aged 91. He was musician (drums), one of the most influential and respected drummers in Jazz music. He has recorded and performed with many musicians including Miles Davis, John Coltrane, Wayne Shorter, Dinah Washington, Pearl Bailey, Clark Terry, Cannonball Adderley, Dizzy Gillespie, Sarah Vaughan, Billie Holiday, Wynton Kelly, Stan Getz, Wes Montgomery, Art Pepper, Gil Evans, Paul Chambers, Kenny Burrell, J. J. Johnson, Sonny Stitt, Nat Adderley, Phil Upchurch, Benny Golson, Hank Jones, Ron Carter, George Coleman, Fathead Newman, Geri Allen, Earl Bostic, Leo Parker, Charlie Rouse, Ernie Royal, Philly Joe Jones, Bobby Timmons, Walter Booker, Jerome Richardson, Joey DeFrancesco, Keter Betts, Jimmy Cleveland, Sam Jones, Red Garland, Joe Henderson, Eddie Gómez, Bill Evans, Jeremy Steig, Richard Wyands, Peter Bernstein, Walter Bishop, Jr., Richie Cole, Nancy Wilson, Ricky Ford, David Amram, Donald Byrd, Kenny Barron and Toshiko Akiyoshi. Cobb recorded 17 albums as a leader.


On May 6, 2016.

On May 6, 2016, “ECM” label released “In Movement”, the 37th Jack DeJohnette album. It was recorded in 2015, “Avatar Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Manfred Eicher.


  • Jack DeJohnette– drums, piano, electronic percussion
  • Ravi Coltrane– sopranino saxophone, soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone
  • Matthew Garrison– electric bass, electronics

Track listing:

All tracks by Ravi Coltrane, Jack DeJohnette and Matthew Garrison except where noted.

  1. Alabama – John Coltrane
  2. In Movement
  3. Two Jimmys
  4. Blue in Green – Miles Davis, Bill Evans
  5. Serpentine Fire – Reginald Burke, Maurice White, Verdine White
  6. Lydia – Jack DeJohnette
  7. Rashied – Ravi Coltrane, Jack DeJohnette
  8. Soulful Ballad – Jack DeJohnette

On May 2, 1995.

On May 2, 1995, “Criss Cross Jazz” label released “Yam Yam”, the debut Mark Turner Quintet album. It was recorded in December 1994, at “PRM Studio” in New York City, and was produced by Gerry Teekens.


  • Mark Turner– tenor saxophone
  • Larry Grenadier– double bass
  • Brad Mehldau– piano
  • Kurt Rosenwinkel– guitar
  • Jorge Rossy– drums
  • Seamus Blake – tenor saxophone
  • Terence Dean – tenor saxophone

Track listing:

All tracks by Mark Turner except where notrd.

  1. Tune Number One
  2. Cubism – Kurt Rosenwinkel
  3. Yam Yam I
  4. Moment’s Notice – John Coltraness
  5. Isolation
  6. Subtle Tragedy – Brad Mehldau
  7. Zürich
  8. Blues
  9. Yam Yam II


On April 24, 2007.

On April 24, 2007, “Nonesuch” label released “Back East”, the 13th Joshua Redman album. It was recorded in 2007, at “Avatar Studio” in New York City, and was produced by Joshua Redman.


  • Joshua Redman– tenor and soprano saxophones
  • Dewey Redman– tenor and alto saxophones
  • Joe Lovano– tenor saxophone
  • Chris Cheek– soprano saxophone
  • Larry Grenadier– double bass
  • Christian McBride– double bass
  • Reuben Rogers– double bass
  • Brian Blade– drums
  • Eric Harland– drums
  • Ali Jackson– drums

Track listing:

  1. The Surrey with the Fringe on Top – Richard Rodgers, Oscar Hammerstein
  2. East of the Sun (and West of the Moon) – Brooks Bowman
  3. Zarafah – Joshua Redman
  4. Indian Song – Wayne Shorter
  5. I’m an Old Cowhand – Johnny Mercer, Harry Warren
  6. Wagon Wheels – Billy Hill, Peter DeRose
  7. Back East – Joshua Redman
  8. Mantra #5 – Joshua Redman
  9. Indonesia – Joshua Redman
  10. India – John Coltrane
  11. GJ – Dewey Redman