Tag Archives: Dave Holland

On July 29, 2018.

On July 29, 2018, Tomasz Stańko died aged 76. He was trumpeter, composer and improviser, associated with free jazz and the avant-garde. He has performed and recorded with many famous jazz musicians including  Adam Makowicz, Krzysztof Komeda, Zbigniew Seifert,Cecil Taylor,  Jack DeJohnette, Dave Holland, Reggie Workman, Rufus Reid, Lester Bowie, David Murray, Manu Katché and Chico Freeman.


In November 1970.

In November 1970, “Threshold” label released “Medusa”, the second Trapeze studio album. It was recorded in 1970 at “Morgan Studios” in London, and was produced by John Lodge.


  • Mel Galley– guitar, vocals
  • Glenn Hughes– bass, piano, vocals
  • Dave Holland– drums
  • Roger Quested – engineering
  • Pat Travers– illustration
  • David Rohl– photography

Track listing:

  1. Black Cloud – Mel Galley, Tom Galley
  2. Jury – Mel Galley, Tom Galley
  3. Your Love Is Alright – Mel Galley, Glenn Hughes, Dave Holland
  4. Touch My Life – Mel Galley, Tom Galley
  5. Seafull – Glenn Hughes
  6. Makes You Wanna Cry – Mel Galley, Tom Galley
  7. Medusa – Glenn Hughes

On October 14, 2016.

On October 14, 2016, “Dare2 Records “label released “Aziza”, the twenty-first Dave Holland album. It was recorded in September 2015, at “Sear Sound” in New York City, and was produced by Dave Holland.


  • Dave Holland – bass
  • Chris Potter – Tenor and soprano saxophone
  • Lionel Loueke – guitar, vocal
  • Eric Harland – drums
  • Louise Holland – executive producer
  • James Farber – engineer
  • Owen Mulholland – engineer
  • Greg Calbi – mastering
  • Scott Fallone – mastering
  • Govert Driessen – photography
  • Ulli Gruber – photography
  • Susan Archie – art direction, design
  • Rafael Gonzalez – artwork

Track listing:

  1. Aziza Dance – Lionel Loueke
  2. Summer 15 – Chris Potter
  3. Walkin’ the Walk – Dave Holland
  4. Aquila – Eric Harland
  5. Blue Sufi – Chris Potter
  6. Finding the Light – Dave Holland
  7. Friends – Eric Harland
  8. Sleepless Nights – Lionel Loueke

On January 3, 2016.


On January 3, 2016, Hyman Paul Bley died aged 83. He was pianist best known as one of the most important figures of the free jazz movement of the 60s and for his innovations and influence on trio playing. He has recorded and performed with many famous musicians, including: Charles Mingus, Art Blakey, Percy Heath, Al Levitt, Dave Pike, Charlie Haden, Lennie McBrowne, Ornette Coleman, Don Cherry, Charlie Haden, Billy Higgins, Steve Swallow, Pete LaRoca, Dewey Johnson,  Marshall Allen, Eddie Gómez, Milford Graves, Kent Carter, Barry Altschul, Mark Levinson, Paul Motian, Billy Elgart, John Gilmore, Annette Peacock, Dick Youngstein, Glen Moore, Frank Tusa, Steve Hass, Bobby Moses, Han Bennink, Dave Holland, Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen, Pat Metheny, Jaco Pastorius, Bruce Ditmas, Jimmy Giuffre, Bill Connors, Lee Konitz, George Cross McDonald, Chet Baker, John Scofield, Jesper Lundgaard, Aage Tanggaard, John Surman, Bill Frisell, Ron McClure, John Abercrombie, Red Mitchell, Michal Urbaniak, Bob Cranshaw,  Keith Copeland, Hans Koch, Franz Koglmann, Tiziana Ghiglioni, Tony Oxley, Jane Bunnett, Herbie Spanier, Geordie McDonald, Evan Parker, Barre Phillips, Furio Di Castri, David Eyges, Bruce Ditmas, Sonny Greenwich, Rich Perry, Jay Anderson, Victor Lewis, Masahiko Togashi, Jakob Bro, Don Ellis, Sonny Rollins and Andreas Willers.

On July 30, 1969.

Miles Davis-In a Silent Way

On July 30, 1969, “Columbia” label released “In a Silent Way” album by Miles Davis. It was recorded in one session on February 18, 1969, at “CBS 30th Street Studio” in New York City, and was produced by Teo Macero. The album is regarded by fans and critics as one of Davis’s greatest and most influential works.


  • Miles Davis– trumpet
  • Wayne Shorter– soprano saxophone
  • John McLaughlin– electric guitar
  • Chick Corea– electric piano
  • Herbie Hancock– electric piano
  • Joe Zawinul– organ
  • Dave Holland– double bass
  • Tony Williams– drums
  • Original recording engineer – Stan Tonkel
  • Cover photography – Lee Friedlander
  • Back cover photography – John G. Walter
  • Back cover notes – Frank Glenn

Track listing:

  1. Shhh/Peaceful – Miles Davis
  • Shhh
  • Peaceful
  • Shhh
  1. In a Silent Way/It’s About That Time – Joe Zawinul, Miles Davis
  • In a Silent Way
  • It’s About That Time
  • In a Silent Way

On April 19, 1974.


On April 19, 1974, “Columbia” label released “Big Fun” a double album by Miles Davis. It was recorded November 1969; February and March 1970, and June 1972, at “Columbia Studios B and E”, and was produced by Teo Macero.


  • Miles Davis– trumpet, electric trumpet with wah wah
  • Sonny Fortune– soprano saxophone, flute
  • Bennie Maupin– clarinet, flute
  • Carlos Garnett– soprano saxophone
  • Lonnie Liston Smith– piano
  • Harold I. Williams, Jr. –piano
  • Michael Henderson– electric bass
  • Al Foster– drums
  • Billy Hart– drums
  • Badal Roy– tabla
  • James Mtume– African percussion
  • Wayne Shorter– soprano saxophone
  • Bennie Maupin– bass clarinet
  • John McLaughlin– guitar
  • Joe Zawinul– electric piano
  • Chick Corea– electric piano
  • Dave Holland– electric bass guitar, double bass
  • Billy Cobham– triangle, drums
  • Jack DeJohnette– drums
  • Airto Moreira– cuíca, percussion, berimbau, Indian instruments
  • Steve Grossman– soprano saxophone
  • Larry Young– organ, celeste
  • Khalil Balakrishna– electric sitar
  • Bihari Sharima– tamboura
  • Harvey Brooks– electric bass guitar
  • Herbie Hancock– electric piano
  • Seth Rothstein – project director
  • Frank Laico, Stan Tonkel – audio engineer
  • Russ Payne, Stan Weiss, John Guerriere – mix engineer
  • Steve Berkowitz –A&R for Legacy
  • Patti Matheny, Darren Salmieri –A&R coordination
  • Corky McCoy– cover art

Track listing:

  1. Great Expectations – Miles Davis, Joe Zawinul
  • Great Expectations – Miles Davis, Joe Zawinul
  • Orange Lady – Joe Zawinul
  1. Ife – Miles Davis
  2. Recollections – Joe Zawinul
  3. Trevere – Miles Davis
  4. Go Ahead John – Miles Davis
  5. Lonely Fire – Miles Davis
  6. The Little Blue Frog – Miles Davis
  7. Yaphet – Miles Davis

On March 23, 1999.

Traveling miles

On March 23, 1999, “Blue Note” label released “Traveling Miles”, the thirteenth Cassandra Wilson album. It was recorded in December 1997, at “The Hit Factory” in New York City, May & September 1998, at “Bearsville Studios” in Bearsville, and was produced by Cassandra Wilson.The album is a tribute to Miles Davis.


  • Cassandra Wilson – vocals, acoustic guitar
  • Doug Wamble– acoustic guitar
  • Eric Lewis– piano
  • Jeffrey Haynes, Kevin Breit– acoustic, electric, resophonic & e-bow guitars, electric mandolin, mandocello, bazouki
  • Lonnie Plaxico– acoustic bass
  • Marcus Baylor– drums, percussion
  • Marvin Sewell– acoustic, classical & electric guitars, bazouki
  • Mino Cinelu– percussion
  • Perry Wilson– drums
  • Vincent Henry– harmonica
  • Dave Holland– bass
  • Olu Dara– cornet
  • Steve Coleman– alto sax
  • Pat Metheny– classical guitar
  • Angelique Kidjo– vocals
  • Regina Carter– violin
  • Stefon Harris– vibraphone

Track listing:

  1. Run the Voodoo Down – Miles Davis, Cassandra Wilson
  2. Traveling Miles – Cassandra Wilson
  3. Right Here Right Now – Marvin Sewell and Cassandra Wilson
  4. Time After Time – Rob Hyman and Cyndi Lauper
  5. When The Sun Goes Down – Cassandra Wilson
  6. Seven Steps – Victor Feldman and Miles Davis
  7. Someday My Prince Will Come – Frank Churchill and Larry Morey
  8. Never Broken – Wayne Shorter and Cassandra Wilson
  9. Resurrection Blues – Marcus Miller and Cassandra Wilson
  10. Sky & Sea (Blue in Green) – Miles Davis and Cassandra Wilson
  11. Piper – Cassandra Wilson
  12. Voodoo Reprise – Miles Davis, Cassandra Wilson and Angelique Kidjo