Tag Archives: Nat Adderley

On December 21, 1964.

On December 21, 1964, “Atlantic” label released “Autobiography”, the ninth Nat Adderley album. It was recorded in 1964, and was produced by Net Adderley.


  • Nat Adderley – cornet
  • Ernie Royal– trumpet
  • Benny Powell- trombone
  • Don Butterfield– tuba
  • Seldon Powell- tenor saxophone, flute,
  • Josef Zawinul- piano
  • Sam Jones– bass
  • Grady Tate– drums
  • Willie Bobo– percussion
  • Victor Pantoja – congas

Track listing:

All tracks by Nat Adderley, except where noted.

  1. Sermonette – Nat Adderley, Jon Hendricks
  2. Work Song – Nat Adderley, Oscar Brown
  3. The Old Country – Nat Adderley, Curtis Lewis
  4. Junkanoo
  5. Stony Island Little Boy with the Sad Eyes
  6. Never Say Yes
  7. Jive Samba


On November 22, 1955.

On November 22, 1955, “Savoy” label released “Bohemia After Dark”, the fourth  Kenny Clarke album. It was recorded June – July 1955, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, NJ, and was produced by Ozzie Cadena.


  • Kenny Clarke- drums
  • Cannonball Adderley- alto saxophone
  • Nat Adderley– cornet
  • Donald Byrd- trumpet tracks
  • Jerome Richardson- tenor saxophone, flute
  • Horace Silver- piano
  • Hank Jones- piano
  • Paul Chambers- bass

Track listing:

All tracks by Julian “Cannonball” Adderley and Nat Adderley except where noted.

  1. Bohemia After Dark – Oscar Pettiford
  2. Chasm
  3. Willow Weep for Me – Ann Ronell
  4. Hear Me Talkin’ to Ya
  5. With Apologies to Oscar
  6. We’ll Be Together Again – Carl T. Fischer, Frankie Laine
  7. Late Entry

In August 1958.

In August 1958, “Blue Note” label released “Somethin’ Else”, the eight Julian “Cannonball” Adderley album. It was recorded on March 9, 1958, at “Van Gelder Studio” in New Jersey, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Cannonball Adderley– alto saxophone
  • Miles Davis– trumpet
  • Hank Jones– piano
  • Sam Jones– bass
  • Art Blakey– drums
  • Rudy Van Gelder– recording engineer

Track listing:

  1. Autumn Leaves – Joseph Kosma, Johnny Mercer, Jacques Prévert
  2. Love for Sale – Cole Porter
  3. Somethin’ Else – Miles Davis
  4. One for Daddy-O – Nat Adderley
  5. Dancing in the Dark – Arthur Schwartz, Howard Dietz

In November 1966.

In November 1966, “A&M” label released “S.R.O.” (Standing Room Only), the seventh Herb Alpert and the Tijuana Brass’ album. It was recorded in 1966, and was produced by Herb Alpert and Jerry Moss.


  • Herb Alpert – band leader, arranger,
  • Nick Ceroli – drums
  • Bob Edmondson – trombone
  • Tonni Kalash – trumpet
  • Lou Pagani – piano
  • John Pisano– guitar
  • Pat Senatore– bass
  • Julius Wechter – marimba, vibes
  • George Jerman – photography

Track listing:

  1. Our Day Will Come – Mort Garson, Bob Hilliard
  2. Mexican Road Race – Sol Lake
  3. I Will Wait for You – Michel Legrand, Jacques Demy, Norman Gimbel
  4. Bean Bag – John Pisano, Julius Wechter, Herb Alpert
  5. The Wall Street Rag – Ervan Coleman
  6. The Work Song – Nat Adderley, Oscar Brown, Jr.
  7. Mame – Jerry Herman
  8. Blue Sunday – Julius Wechter
  9. Don’t Go Breaking My Heart – Burt Bacharach, Hal David
  10. For Carlos – John Pisano, Nick Ceroli, Herb Alpert
  11. Freight Train Joe – John Pisano
  12. Flamingo – Ted Grouya, Edmond Anderson

On September 2, 2001.

On September 2, 2001, Jay Migliori died aged 70. He was saxophonist, best known as a founding member of Supersax, a tribute band to Charlie Parker. In his five decades long career, he has performed and recorded with many famous jazz and rock musicians and bands, including Woody Herman,Frank Sinatra, Onzy Matthews, Maynard Ferguson, Charlie Parker, Miles Davis, Nat Adderley, Gene Ammons, The Beach Boys, The Byrds, Dick Dale, Neil Diamond, Hampton Hawes, Harry Nilsson, Van Dyke Parks, Neil Young and Frank Zappa.

In July 1982.

In July 1982, “Arista” label released “Jump To It”, the thirty-first Aretha Franklin studio album. It was recorded 1981 – 1982, at “Mediasound Studios” in New York City, “Record Plant” and “The Village Recorder” in Los Angeles, “Soundsuite” in Detroit, and was produced by Luther Vandross and Aretha Franklin. The album received the “American Music Award” for “Best Soul Album”.


  • Aretha Franklin – lead vocals, rhythm and vocal arrangements
  • Doc Powell– guitar
  • Steve Love – guitar solo
  • Marcus Miller– bass, synthesizer, synthesizer and rhythm arrangements, keyboards
  • Francisco Centeno, Louis Johnson– bass
  • Yogi Horton, Buddy Williams– drums
  • Errol “Crusher” Bennett – congas, percussion
  • Paulinho Da Costa– percussion
  • Nat Adderley, Jr.– keyboards, rhythm arrangements
  • Luther Vandross– backing vocals, keyboards, rhythm and vocal arrangements
  • George Duke– acoustic piano solo
  • Sonny Burke– keyboards
  • Paul Riser, Leon Pendarvis, Jr., Jerry Hey– horn and string arrangements
  • George Young – soprano sax solo
  • Erma Franklin, Pam Vincent, Sandra Dance, Brenda White, Cissy Houston, Fonzi Thornton, Michelle Cobbs, Phillip Ballou, Tawatha Agee, Norma Jean Wright, Alexandra Brown, Darlene Love, Paulette McWilliams, Stephanie Spruill, Brenda Corbett – backing vocals
  • Four Tops– backing vocals, vocal arrangements
  • Levi Stubbs – lead vocals
  • Production coordination – Sephra Herman
  • Recorded and mixed by Michael Brauer
  • Additional engineers – Carl Beatty, Lee Keifer
  • Assistant engineers – Michael Christopher, Karat Faye, John Hanlon, Harry Spiridakis, Don Wershba, Warren Woods
  • Music contractors – Sephra Herma, Trevor Veitch
  • Art Direction, design – Ria Lewerke-Shapiro
  • Photography – Harry Langdon
  • Lettering – Sue Reilly

Track listing:

  1. Jump to It – Luther Vandross, Marcus Miller
  2. Love Me Right – Luther Vandross
  3. If She Don’t Want Your Lovin’ – Sam Dees
  4. This Is for Real – Luther Vandross
  5. (It’s Just) Your Love – Luther Vandross, Marcus Miller
  6. I Wanna Make It Up to You – Aretha Franklin
  7. It’s Your Thing – O’Kelly Isley, Ronald Isley, Rudolph Isley
  8. Just My Daydream – Smokey Robinson

On August 30, 1966.


On August 30, 1966, “Elektra” released “East West”, the second Butterfield Blues Band studio album. It was recorded in 1966, at the “Chess Studios” in Chicago, and was produced by Mark Abramson and Paul Rothchild.


  • Paul Butterfield— vocals, harmonica
  • Mike Bloomfield— electric guitar
  • Elvin Bishop— lead vocals, electric guitar
  • Mark Naftalin— piano, organ
  • Jerome Arnold— bass
  • Billy Davenport— drums

Track listing:

  1. Walking Blues – Robert Johnson
  2. Get Out of my Life Woman – Allen Toussaint
  3. I Got a Mind to Give up Living – traditional
  4. All These Blues – traditional
  5. Work Song – Nat Adderley
  6. Mary, Mary – Michael Nesmith
  7. Two Trains Running – Muddy Waters
  8. Never Say No – traditional
  9. East – West – Mike Bloomfield, Nick Graventies