Tag Archives: Muddy Waters

On July 20, 2021.

On July 20, 2021, Charles Edward Weiss died aged 76, He was singer and songwriter, known for his eclectic mix of blues, rock and roll and beat poetry. Weiss performed with Muddy Waters, Howlin’ Wolf, Roger Miller, Dr. John and Tom Waits. Rickie Lee Jones dedicated him the song “Chuck E.’s In Love”, from her 1979 debut album.

In April 1975.

In April 1975, “Chess” label released “The Muddy Waters Woodstock Album”, the twelve Muddy Waters album. It was recorded in February 1975, at “Levon Helm Studio” in Woodstock, New York, and was produced by Henry Glover. In 1976, the album won “Grammy Award for Best Ethnic or Traditional Folk Recording”.


  • Muddy Waters – vocals, guitar
  • Bob Margolin – guitar
  • Pinetop Perkins – piano
  • Garth Hudson – organ, accordion, saxophone
  • Paul Butterfield – harmonica
  • Howard Johnson – saxophone
  • Fred Carter Jr. – bass, guitar
  • Levon Helm – drums, bass

Track listing:

All tracks by McKinley Morganfield (Muddy Waters), except where noted.

  1. Why Are People Like That – Bobby Charles
  2. Going Down to Main Street
  3. Born with Nothing
  4. Caledonia – Fleecie Moore
  5. Funny Sounds
  6. Love, Deep as the Ocean
  7. Let the Good Times Roll – Fleecie Moore, Sam Theard
  8. Kansas City – Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller

In March 1974.

In March 1974, “Chess” label released “Unk in Funk”, the eleventh Muddy Waters album. It was recorded in January 1974, at “Ter Mar Recording Studios” in Chicago, IL, and was produced by Ralph Bass and Muddy Waters.


  • Muddy Waters – vocals, guitar
  • Bob Margolin, Luther Johnson – guitar
  • Pinetop Perkins – piano, harpsichord
  • Carey Bell Harrington, George Buford, Paul Oscher – harmonica
  • Calvin Jones – bass
  • Willie Smith – drums

Track listing:

All track by McKinley Morganfield (Muddy Waters), except where noted.

  1. Rollin’ and Tumblin’
  2. Just to Be with You – Berney Roth
  3. Electric Man – Amelia Cooper, Terry Abrahamson
  4. Trouble No More
  5. Unk in Funk – Amelia Cooper, Terry Abrahamson, Ted Kerland
  6. Drive My Blues Away
  7. Katie
  8. Waterboy Waterboy
  9. Everything Gonna Be Alright – Walter Jacobs

On December 9, 2016.

On December 9, 2016, “Vagrant Records” label released “Lost on You”, the fourth LP studio album. It was recorded 2015 – 2016, and was produced by Scott Thomas Robinson.


  • LP (Laura Pergolizzi) – vocals, guitar, harmonica 
  • Charles Jones, Josh Record, Maiya Sykes, Mike Del Rio – backing vocals
  • Joe Leoni – engineer
  • Mitch McCarthy – engineer 
  • Rob Kinelski – mixing
  • John Greenham Mastering – mastering
  • Randall Leddy – layout, design
  • Michel Compte – photography
  • Taylor Bringuel – creative director
  • Mike Del Rio – executive producer

Track listing:

  1. Muddy Waters – LP, Mike Del Rio, Joshua Record
  2. No Witness – LP, Mike Del Rio, Ricky Lina
  3. Lost on You – LP, Nate Campany, Mike Del Rio
  4. Up Against Me – LP, PJ Bianco
  5. Tightrope – LP, Del Rio, Nikolai Potthoff
  6. Other People – LP, Ren Romans, Nate Campany
  7. Into the Wild – LP, PJ Bianco
  8. Strange – LP, Mike Del Rio, Nate Campany
  9. Death Valley – LP, David Thomas
  10. You Want It All – LP, Mike Del Rio, PJ Bianco, Jonathan Malone

On October 5, 1990.

On October 5, 1990, “Giant” label released the self-titled only Hindu Love Gods album. It was recorded January – February 1987, at “Record One” in Sherman Oaks, California, “A&M Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Andrew Slater and Niko Bolas.


  • Warren Zevon – vocals, guitar
  • Peter Buck – guitar
  • Mike Mills – bass guitar
  • Bill Berry – drums
  • Niko Bolas – engineering
  • Richard Landers – engineering
  • Rail Jon Rogut – engineering
  • Bob Vogt – engineering

Track listing:

  1. Walkin’ Blues – Robert Johnson
  2. Travelin’ Riverside Blues – Robert Johnson
  3. Raspberry Beret – Prince Rogers Nelson
  4. Crosscut Saw – Fred Ingrahm, Bill Sanders
  5. Junko Pardner – Bob Shad
  6. Mannish Boy – Bo Diddley, Melvin London, Muddy Waters
  7. Wang Dang Doodle – Willie Dixon
  8. Battleship Chains – Terry Anderson
  9. I’m a One-Woman Man – Tillman Franks, Johnny Horton
  10. Vigilante Man – Woody Guthrie

On February 17, 2020.

On February 2010, Henry Gray died aged 95. He was musician (piano) and singer, credited as one of the creators of the distinctive sound of the Chicago blues piano. In his seven decades long career he performed with many artists including Howlin’ Wolf, Muddy Waters, Robert Lockwood Jr., Billy Boy Arnold, Morris Pejoe and The Rolling Stones. As leader Gray released more than 50 albums. In 2017, he was inducted into the “Blues Hall of Fame”.

ON January 15, 1998.

On January 15, 1998, Amos Wells Blakemore Jr. aka Junior Wells died aged 63. He was musician (harmonica) and vocalist, one of the pioneers of the Chicago amplified blues harp style. He recorded and performed with Buddy Guy, The Aces, Earl Hooke, Muddy Waters and The Rolling Stones. His composition “Messin’ with the Kid” became one of the all-time blues classics.

on January 11, 2021.

On January 11, 2021, Howard Lewis Johnson died aged 79. He was musician (tuba, baritone saxophone, bass clarinet, trumpet), member and leader of the tuba ensembles Tuba Libre, Substructure, and Gravity. He recorded and performed with some of the world best known musicians and bands, including George Gruntz, Hank Crawford, Gil Evans, Charles Mingus, Hank Crawford, Rahsaan Roland Kirk, Archie Shepp, Hank Mobley, Levon Helm, Tomasz Stanko, Gary Burton, Gábor Szabó, Bob Thiele, Charlie Haden, Jazz Composers, Andrew Hill, Leon Thomas, Johnny Coles, Taj Mahal, Charles Tolliver, The Band, Carla Bley, John Lennon, Sam Rivers, Gato Barbieri, Jaco Pastorius, Muddy Waters, Dexter Gordon, Clifford Jordan, David “Fathead” Newman,  James Taylor, Jack De Johnette, Jimmy Heath, Franco Ambrosetti, George Gruntz, Miles Davis, Quincy Jones, NDR Big Band, Ray Anderson, Barbara Dennerlein, John Scofield, T. S. Monk, Mario Pavone, and Chet Baker. As leader he released four albums.

On June 30, 2009.

On June 30, 2009, “Dirt Farmer” label released “Electric Dirt”, the sixth and the final Levon Helm album. It was recorded in 2009, at “Levon Helm Studio” in Woodstock, New York, and was produced by Larry Campbell.


  • Levon Helm – vocals, drums, mandolin
  • Larry Campbell – acoustic, electric and resonator guitar, fiddle, mandolin, dulcimer, harmony vocals
  • Brian Mitchell – piano, organ, harmonium, accordion
  • Jimmy Vivino – organ. acoustic and electric guitar
  • Byron Isaacs – bass, backing vocals
  • Steven Bernstein – alto horn, horn arrangements
  • Erik Lawrence – soprano saxophone
  • Jay Collins – tenor saxophone
  • Clark Gayton – trombone
  • Howard Johnson – tuba
  • Teresa Williams – acoustic guitar, autoharp, harmony vocals
  • Any Helm – mandolin, bass drum, harmony vocals
  • George Receli – backing vocals
  • Jay Collins – backing vocals
  • Allen Toussaint – horn arrangements
  • Justin Guip – recording, mixing
  • Chris Edwards, James Smith, Rocky Talent – engineer assistant
  • Doug Sax – mastering
  • Sangwook “Sunny” Nam – mastering
  • Levon Helm – artwork
  • Michael DuBois – artwork
  • Carrie Smith – layout, design
  • Ahron R. Foster – photography
  • Georgette Cartwright – creative director

Track listing:

  1. Tennessee Jed – Jerry Garcia, Robert Hunter
  2. Move Along Train – Roebuck Staples
  3. Growin’ Trade – Levon Helm, Larry Campbell
  4. Golden Bird – Happy Traum
  5. Stuff You Gotta Watch – Muddy Waters
  6. White Dove – Carter Stanley
  7. Kingfish – Randy Newman
  8. You Can’t Lose What You Ain’t Never Had – Muddy Waters
  9. When I Go Away – Larry Campbell
  10. Heaven’s Pearls – Anthony Leone, Byron Isaacs, Fiona McBain, Amy Helm, Glenn Patscha
  11. I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel to Be Free – Richard Carroll Lamp, Willy E. Taylor