Tag Archives: Cecil McBee

In February 1966.

In February 1966, “Blue Note” label released “Compulsion!!!!!”, the eight Andrew Hill album. It was recorded in 1965, at “Rudy Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Andrew Hill – piano
  • Freddie Hubbard – trumpet, flugelhorn
  • John Gilmore – tenor saxophone, bass clarinet
  • Cecil McBee – bass
  • Joe Chambers – drums
  • Renaud Simmons – conga, percussion
  • Nadi Qamar – percussion, African drums, thumb piano
  • Richard Davis – bass

Track listing:

All tracks by Andrew Hill.

  1. Compulsion
  2. Legacy
  3. Premonition
  4. Limbo

In December 1978.

In December 1978, “Galaxy Records” label released “Art Pepper Today”, the 34th Art Pepper album. It was recorded in December 1978, and was produced by Ed Michel.


  • Art Pepper – alto saxophone
  • Stanley Cowell – piano
  • Cecil McBee – bass
  • Roy Haynes – drums
  • Kenneth Nash – congas, percussion

Track listing:

All tracks by Art Pepper, except where noted.

  1. Miss Who
  2. Mambo Koyama
  3. Lover Come Back To Me – Sigmund Romberg; Oscar Hammerstein II
  4. Patricia
  5. These Foolish Things (Remind Me Of You) – Harry Link; Jack Strachey; Holt Marvell
  6. Chris’s Blues

On December 8, 1971.

On December 8, 1971, “Impulse!” label released “Black Unity”, the seventh Pharoah Sanders album. It was recorded in November 1971, and was produced by Lee Young.


  • Pharoah Sanders — soprano and tenor saxophone, balafon
  • Marvin “Hannibal” Peterson — trumpet
  • Carlos Garnett — flute, tenor saxophone
  • Joe Bonner — piano
  • Stanley Clarke, Cecil McBee — bass
  • Norman Connors, Billy Hart — drums
  • Lawrence Killian — conga, balafon, talking drum, percussion
  • Tony May — engineer
  • Erick Labson — remastering
  • Hollis King — art direction
  • Christine Lee — graphic design
  • Chuck Stewart — photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Pharaoh Sanders.

  1. Black Unity Pt. I
  2. Black Unity Pt. II

On March 6, 2020.

On March 6, 2020, Alfred McCoy Tyner died aged 81. He was composer, bandleader and pianist, one of the most recognizable and influential in jazz history. He has recorded and performed with many famous musicians including John Coltrane, Art Blakey, Donald Byrd, George Benson, Art Farmer, Lou Donaldson, Benny Golson, Grant Green, Freddie Hubbard, Joe Henderson, Bobby Hutcherson, Milt Jackson, J.J. Jackson, Blue Mitchell, Hank Mobley, Lee Morgan, David Murray, Julian Priester, Sonny Rollins, Ron Carter, Al Foster, Avery Sharpe, Woody Shaw, Jackie McLean, Cecil McBee, Jack DeJohnette, Wayne Shorter, Sonny Stitt and Stanley Turrentine, As a leader he recorded 74 albums. Tyner was a “NEA Jazz Master” and a five-time “Grammy” winner.


On August 21, 2000.

On August 21, 2000, “ECM” label released “The Water Is Wide”, the 31st Charles Lloyd album. It was recorded December 1999, at “Cello Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Manfred Eicher.


  • Charles Lloyd– tenor saxophone
  • John Abercrombie– guitar
  • Brad Mehldau– piano
  • Larry Grenadier– bass
  • Billy Higgins– drums
  • Darek Oles– bass

Track listing:

All tracks by Charles Lloyd except where noted.

  1. Georgia – Hoagy Carmichael, Stuart Gorrell
  2. The Water Is Wide – traditional
  3. Black Butterfly – Duke Ellington, Irving Mills
  4. Ballade and Allegro
  5. Figure in Blue
  6. Lotus Blossom – Billy Strayhorn
  7. The Monk and the Mermaid
  8. Song of Her – Cecil McBee
  9. Lady Day
  10. Heaven – Duke Ellington
  11. There Is a Balm in Gilead – traditional
  12. Prayer

On November 8, 1999.

Lester Bowie

On November 8, 1999, Lester Bowie died aged 58. Being trumpet player and composer, he is best known as co-founder and member of one of the most important groups in jazz history, “Art Ensemble of Chicago”. He was a also member of the” Association for the Advancement of Creative Musicians”, “Lester Bowie’s Brass Fantasy”, “The Leaders” and “Lester Bowie’s Organ Ensemble”. In his career Bowie has performed and recorded with many big names of the popular and jazz music, among them  Archie Shepp,David Murray, Jack DeJohnette, Fela Kuti, Kahil El’Zabar, Defunkt, David Bowie, Sunny Murray, Chico Freeman, Arthur Blythe, Kirk Lightsey, Cecil McBee, James Carter, Brigitte Fontaine, Melvin Jackson, Wadada Leo Smith, Jimmy Lyons, Little Milton, Albert King, Solomon Burke, Joe Tex and Rufus Thomas.