Tag Archives: Andy Summers

On March 25, 2014.

On March 25, 2014, “429 Records” label released “Circus Hero” the only Circa Zero album. It was recorded in May 2013, at “Bowl of Cherries Studios” in Venice, California, and was produced by Andy Summers and Rob Giles.


  • Andy Summers – guitar
  • Rob Giles – vocals. bass guitar, drums
  • Dan Epand – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Andy Summers and Rob Giles.

  1. Levitation
  2. Underground
  3. The Story Ends Here
  4. Say Goodnight
  5. Gamma Ray
  6. Night Time Travelers
  7. Shoot Out the Stars
  8. Underwater
  9. Summer Lies
  10. No Highway
  11. Light the Fuse & Run
  12. Whenever You Hear the Rain
  13. Hot Camel

In December 1968.

In December 1968, “MGM” label released “Love Is”, the third Eric Burdon and The Animals album. It was recorded in October 1968, at “TTG” and “Sunset Sound Studios” in Hollywood, and was produced by Eric Burdon, Zoot Money, Andy Summers, John Weider and Barry Jenkins.


  • Eric Burdon— lead vocals, spoken word
  • Zoot Money— bass, backing and co-lead (3, 8a) vocals, organ, piano, spoken word (8a)
  • Andy Summers— guitar, backing vocals
  • John Weider— guitar, violin, backing vocals
  • Barry Jenkins— drums, percussion, backing vocals
  • Robert Wyatt- backing vocals

Track listing:

  1. River Deep, Mountain High – Phil Spector, Jeff Barry, Ellie Greenwich
  2. I’m an Animal – Sylvester Stewart
  3. I’m Dying (Or Am I?) – Eric Burdon
  4. Ring of Fire – June Carter, Merle Kilgore
  5. Colored Rain – Steve Winwood, Jim Capaldi, Chris Wood
  6. To Love Somebody – Barry Gibb, Robin Gibb
  7. As the Years Go Passing By – Deadric Malone
  8. Gemini – Steve Hammond / Madman – Zoot Money, Andy Summers

On October 3, 1980.


On October 3, 1980, “A&M” label released “Zenyatta Mondatta” the third Police studio album. It was recorded July – August 1980, at “Wisseloord Studios” in Hilversum, Netherlands, and was produced by The Police and Nigel Gray.The album won The Police two “Grammy Awards” including “Best Rock Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocal” for “Don’t Stand So Close to Me” and “Best Rock Instrumental Performance” for “Behind My Camel”. The album was certified Platinum in Canada by “Music Canada”; Platinum in France by “SNEP”; Platinum in UK by “BPI”, and 2 x Platinum in the US by “RIIA”.


  • Sting– bass guitar, lead and backing vocals, synthesizer
  • Andy Summers– guitar, backing vocals, guitar-synths, bass guitar, piano
  • Stewart Copeland– drums, backing vocals
  • Nigel Gray– engineering
  • Watalu Asanuma, Adrian Boot, Miles Copeland, Anton Corbijn, Danny Quatrochi – photography
  • Janette Beckman– cover photo, photography
  • Simon Ryan – design
  • Vartan– reissue art director
  • Michael Ross – art direction, design, photography
  • Bob Ludwig– remastering

Track listing:

All tracks by Sting, except where noted.

  1. Don’t Stand So Close to Me
  2. Driven to Tears
  3. When the World Is Running Down, You Make the Best of What’s Still Around
  4. Canary in a Coalmine
  5. Voices Inside My Head
  6. Bombs Away – Stewart Copeland
  7. De Do Do Do, De Da Da Da
  8. Behind My Camel – Andy Summers
  9. Man in a Suitcase
  10. Shadows in the Rain
  11. The Other Way of Stopping – Stewart Copeland




On October 2, 1981.


On October 2, 1981, “A&M” label released “Ghost in the Machine” the fourth Police studio album. It was recorded January – September 1981, at “AIR Studios” in Montserrat and “Le Studio” in Quebec, and was produced by The Police and Hugh Padgham. “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked “Ghost in the Machine” at number 323 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”. The album’s cover was ranked at No. 45 in “VH1’s” list of the “50 Greatest Album Covers”. The graphic was designed by Mick Haggerty.


  • Sting– bass guitar, lead and backing vocals, double bass, keyboards, saxophone
  • Andy Summers– guitars, backing vocals, guitar synth, keyboards
  • Stewart Copeland– drums, backing vocals, percussion, keyboards
  • Jean Roussel– piano
  • Hugh Padgham– engineering
  • Ted Jensen– mastering
  • Dave Collins, Bob Ludwig– remastering
  • Jeffrey Kent Ayeroff, Mick Haggerty, Vartan – art direction
  • Jeffrey Kent Ayeroff, Mick Haggerty – design
  • Duane Michals– photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Sting, except where noted

  1. Spirits in the Material World
  2. Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic
  3. Invisible Sun
  4. Hungry for You (J’aurais toujours faim de toi)
  5. Demolition Man
  6. Too Much Information
  7. Rehumanize Yourself – Sting, Stewart Copeland
  8. One World (Not Three)
  9. Ωmegaman – Andy Summers
  10. Secret Journey
  11. Darkness – Stewart Copeland



On November 2, 1978.

Police-outlandos damour

On November 2, 1978, “A&M” label released “Outlandos d’Amour”, the debut Police album.  It was recorded January – June 1978, at the “Surrey Sound Studios”, and was produced by Sting, Andy Summers and Stewart Copeland. In 2012, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album  at number 428 on its list of “500 Greatest Albums of all Time”


  • Sting– bass guitar, lead and backing vocals, harmonica, butt piano
  • Andy Summers– guitar, backing vocals, spoken word, piano
  • Stewart Copeland– drums, backing vocals, percussion
  • Joe Sinclair – piano
  • Nigel Gray, Chris Gray – engineers

Track listing:

All tracks by Sting, except where noted.

  1. Next to You
  2. So Lonely
  3. Roxanne
  4. Hole in My Life
  5. Peanuts – Sting, Stewart Copeland
  6. Can’t Stand Losing You
  7. Truth Hurts Everybody
  8. Born in the 50’
  9. Be My Girl Sally – Sting, Andy Summers
  10. Masoko Tanga

On October 13, 1987.


On October 13, 1987, “A&M” label released“…Nothing Like the Sun”, the second Sting studio album. It was recorded March–August, 1987,at the “Air Studios”, in Montserrat, and was  produced by Sting, Hugh Padgham, Bryan Loren and Neil Dorfsman.


  • Sting– lead vocals, bass guitar, guitar
  • Manu Katché– drums
  • Kenny Kirkland– keyboards
  • Mino Cinelu– percussion, vocoder
  • Branford Marsalis– saxophone
  • Andy Newmark– drums
  • Gil Evans& His Orchestra
  • Hiram Bullock– guitar
  • Kenwood Dennard– drums
  • Mark Egan– bass
  • Andy Summers, Eric Clapton, Fareed Haque, Mark Knopfler– guitar
  • Rubén Blades– spoken Spanish
  • Ken Helman– piano
  • Renée Geyer, Vesta Williams, Dollette McDonald, Janice Pendarvis– background vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Sting, except where noted.

  1. The Lazarus Heart
  2. Be Still My Beating Heart
  3. Englishman in New York
  4. History Will Teach Us Nothing
  5. They Dance Alone
  6. Fragile
  7. We’ll Be Together
  8. Straight to My Heart
  9. Rock Steady
  10. Sister Moon
  11. Little Wing – Jimi Hendrix
  12. The Secret Marriage – Hanns Eisler, Sting


On October 2, 1979.

Police-Reggatta de blanc

On October 2, 1979, “A&M” label released “Reggatta de Blanc”, the second Police studio album. It was ecorded February – August 1979, at the “Surrey Sound Studios”, and was produced by Nigel Gray, Sting, Andy Summers, and Stewart Copeland. In 1980, the title track brought the band their first “Grammy Award for Best Rock Instrumental Performance”. In 2012, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked “Reggata de Blanc” No. 372 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of all Time”.


  • Sting– bass guitar, lead  and backing vocals, double bass
  • Andy Summers– guitar, backing vocals, piano
  • Stewart Copeland– drums, backing and lead vocals, guitar, piano, spoken word

Track listing

All compositions by Sting, except where noted.

  1. Message in a Bottle
  2. Reggata de Blanc – Andy Summers, Sting and Stewart Copeland
  3. It’s Alright for You – Sting and Stewart Copeland
  4. Bring on the Night
  5. Deathwish – Andy Summers, Sting and Stewart Copeland
  6. Walking on the Moon
  7. On Any Other Day – Stewart Copeland
  8. The Bed’s Too Big Without You
  9. Contact
  10. Does Everyone Stare
  11. No Time This Time