On October 2, 1979.

Police-Reggatta de blanc

On October 2, 1979, “A&M” label released “Reggatta de Blanc”, the second Police studio album. It was ecorded February – August 1979, at the “Surrey Sound Studios”, and was produced by Nigel Gray, Sting, Andy Summers, and Stewart Copeland. In 1980, the title track brought the band their first “Grammy Award for Best Rock Instrumental Performance”. In 2012, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked “Reggata de Blanc” No. 372 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of all Time”.


  • Sting – lead and backing vocals, bass guitar, double bass
  • Andy Summers – guitar, piano, backing vocals
  • Stewart Copeland – lead and backing vocals, drums, guitar, piano, spoken word

Track listing

All tracks by Sting, except where noted.

  1. Message in a Bottle
  2. Reggata de Blanc – Andy Summers, Sting, Stewart Copeland
  3. It’s Alright for You – Sting, Stewart Copeland
  4. Bring on the Night
  5. Deathwish – Andy Summers, Sting, Stewart Copeland
  6. Walking on the Moon
  7. On Any Other Day – Stewart Copeland
  8. The Bed’s Too Big Without You
  9. Contact
  10. Does Everyone Stare
  11. No Time This Time

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.