Tag Archives: Jim Capaldi

In October 1968.

In October 1968, “Island” label released the self-titled, second studio Traffic album. It was recorded January – May 1968, at “Olympic Studios” in London, “Record Plant” in New York City, and was produced by Jimmy Miller.


  • Dave Mason– lead vocals, guitar, harmonica, Hammond organ
  • Steve Winwood– electric guitar, bass, lead and backing vocals, Hammond organ, piano, harpsichord
  • Chris Wood– tenor and soprano saxophone, flute, Coke tin, sleigh bells
  • Jim Capaldi– drums, backing vocals, percussion
  • Terry Brown, Eddie Kramer, Glyn Johns, Brian Humphries – sound engineers
  • Richard Polak, Gered Mankowitz– photography

Track listing:

  1. You Can All Join In – Dave Mason
  2. Pearly Queen – Jim Capaldi, Steve Winwood
  3. Don’t Be Sad – Dave Mason
  4. Who Knows What Tomorrow May Bring – Jim Capaldi, Steve Winwood, Chris Wood
  5. Feelin’ Alright? – Dave Mason
  6. Vagabond Virgin – Jim Capaldi, Dave Mason
  7. Forty Thousand Headmen – Jim Capaldi, Steve Winwood
  8. Cryin’ to Be Heard – Dave Mason
  9. No Time to Live – Jim Capaldi, Steve Winwood
  10. Means to an End – Jim Capaldi, Steve Winwood



In September 1974.

In September 1974, “Island” label released “When the Eagle Flies”, the seventh Traffic studio album. It was recorded July 1973 – June 1974, and was produced by Chris Blackwell. “When the Eagle Flies” was band’s last album until their 1994 reunion album “Far from Home”.


  • Steve Winwood– guitar, vocals, keyboards
  • Chris Wood– flute, saxophone
  • Jim Capaldi– drums, percussion, backing vocal, keyboards
  • Rosko Gee– bass
  • Rebop Kwaku Baah – percussion
  • Nobby Clark, Brian Humphries – engineer
  • Jeff Willens – mastering
  • Bill DeYoung – liner notes
  • Martin Hughes – cover design

Track listing:

All tracks by Steve Winwood and Jim Capaldi, except where noted.

  1. Something New
  2. Dream Gerrard – Steve Winwood, Vivian Stanshall
  3. Graveyard People
  4. Walking in the Wind
  5. Memories of a Rock N’ Rolla
  6. Love
  7. When the Eagle Flies

In September 11, 1970.

In September 1970, “Columbia” label released “Johnny Winter And”, the fourth  Johnny Winter studio album. It was recorded in June 1970 in New York City, and was produced by Johnny Winter.


  • Johnny Winter– vocals, guitar
  • Rick Derringer– vocals, guitar
  • Randy Jo Hobbs– bass
  • Randy Zehringer– percussion

Track listing:

  1. Guess I’ll Go Away – Johnny Winter
  2. Ain’t That a Kindness – Mark Klingman
  3. No Time to Live – Jim Capaldi, Steve Winwood
  4. Rock and Roll, Hoochie Koo – Rick Derringer
  5. Am I Here? – Randy Zehringer
  6. Look Up – Rick Derringer
  7. Prodigal Son – Johnny Winter
  8. On the Limb – Rick Derringer
  9. Let the Music Play – Allan Nicholls, Otis Stephens
  10. Nothing Left – Johnny Winter
  11. Funky Music – Rick Derringer

In August 1973.

In August 1973, “Columbia” label released “No Sweat”, the sixth Blood, Sweat & Tears studio album. It was recorded in 1973, at “Electric Lady Studios” in New York City and “Trident Studios”in London, and was produced by Steve Tyrell.

  • Personnel:
    Jerry Fisher – vocals
  • Dave Bargeron- trombone, tuba, bass trombone, baritone horn, background vocals
  • Bobby Colomby- drums, percussion, background vocals
  • Jim Fielder- bass, background vocals
  • Lou Marini- woodwinds
  • Lew Soloff- trumpet
  • Tom Malone– trumpet, ARP, 12-String fiddle
  • Georg Wadenius– guitar, background vocals
  • Larry Willis– keyboards
  • Paul Buckmaster– synthesizer, ARP, horn arrangements, string arrangements, string conductor
  • David Hentschel– synthesizer, ARP
  • Steve Katz– guitar
  • Chuck Winfield – trumpet, flugelhorn, French horn
  • Jimmy Maelen, Frank Ricotti– percussion
  • Joshie Armstead, Valerie Simpson, Maretha Stewart – background vocals

Track listing:

  1. Roller Coaster – Mark James
  2. Save Our Ship – Georg Wadenius, Cynthia Weil
  3. Django (An Excerpt) – John Lewis
  4. Rosemary – Randy Newman
  5. Song for John – Lou Marini
  6. Almost Sorry – Jeff Kent, Doug Lubahn
  7. Back Up Against the Wall – Buddy Buie, James Cobb
  8. Hip Pickles – Lou Marini
  9. My Old Lady – Georg Wadenius, Cynthia Weil
  10. Empty Pages – Jim Capaldi, Steve Winwood
  11. Mary Miles – Michael Rabon
  12. Inner Crisis – Larry Willis


In July 1970.

In July 1970, “Island” label released “John Barleycorn Must Die”, the fourth Traffic studio album. It was recorded February – April 1970, at “Island Studios”, “Olympic Studios” in London, and was produced by Chris Blackwell, Steve Winwood and Guy Stevens.


  • Steve Winwood– vocals, organ, piano, bass, percussion, bass guitar, electric piano, acoustic guitar
  • Chris Wood– sax, flute, electric sax, percussion, organ
  • Jim Capaldi– drums, percussion, vocals, tambourine
  • Andy Johns, Brian Humphries – eengineer
  • Mike Sida – album design
  • Richard Polak – photography

Track listing:

  1. Glad – Steve Winwood
  2. Freedom Rider – Steve Winwood, Jim Capaldi
  3. Empty Pages – Steve Winwood, Jim Capaldi
  4. Stranger to Himself – Steve Winwood, Jim Capaldi
  5. John Barleycorn (Must Die) – traditional, arr. Steve Winwood
  6. Every Mother’s Son – Steve Winwood, Jim Capaldi

In June 1977.

In June 1977, Island” label released the debut, self-titled Steve Winwood solo studio album. It was recorded 1976 – 1977, and was produced by Steve Winwood, Chris Blackwell and Mark Miller Mundy.


  • Steve Winwood – lead and backing vocals, electric piano, synthesizer, guitars, saxophone, organ, clavinet, harmonium, string synthesizer, harpsichord, drums, percussion
  • Brother James – percussion
  • Willie Weeks– bass
  • Andy Newmark – drums
  • Nicole Winwood – backing vocal
  • Jim Capaldi– percussion, backing vocal
  • Rebop Kwaku Baah – congas
  • Junior Marvin– guitar
  • John Susswell – drums
  • Alan Spenner– bass guitar
  • Robert Ash – assistant engineer
  • Phill Brown – recording engineer
  • Fin Costello – photography
  • Ray Doyle – assistant engineer
  • Lee Hulko – mastering
  • James Hutcheson – cover design, paintings
  • Mark Miller Mundy – associate producer

Track listing:

All tracks by Steve Winwood and Jim Capaldi, except where noted.

  1. Hold On
  2. ime Is Running Out
  3. Midland Maniac – Stevie Winwood
  4. Vacant Chair – Stevie Winwood,Viv Stanshall
  5. Luck’s In
  6. Let Me Make Something in Your Life

In June 1970.

In June 1970, “Blue Thumb” label released “Alone Together”, the debut Dave Mason solo album. It was recorded in1970, at “Sunset Sound” in Hollywood; “Elektra Sound Recorders” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Dave Mason and Tommy LiPuma.


  • Dave Mason- guitar, vocals
  • Bonnie Bramlett- vocals
  • Leon Russell- keyboards
  • Carl Radle- bass
  • Chris Ethridge- bass
  • Larry Knechtel- bass
  • Jim Capaldi- drums
  • Jim Gordon- drums
  • Jim Keltner- drums
  • Michael DeTemple- guitar
  • Don Preston- keyboards
  • John Simon- keyboards
  • John Barbata- drums
  • Rita Coolidge- vocals
  • Mike Coolidge – vocals
  • Claudia Lennear- vocals
  • Lou Cooper – vocals
  • Bob Norwood – vocals
  • Jack Storti – vocals
  • Bruce Botnick, Douglas Botnick – recording engineer
  • Al Schmitt– mixing
  • Barry Feinstein, Tom Wilkes – photography, design

Track listing:

All tracks by Dave Mason, except where noted.

  1. Only You Know and I Know
  2. Can’t Stop Worrying, Can’t Stop Loving
  3. Waitin’ on You
  4. Shouldn’t Have Took More Than You Gave
  5. World in Changes
  6. Sad and Deep as You
  7. Just a Song
  8. Look at You Look at Me – Dave Mason, Jim Capaldi