Tag Archives: Wisseloord Studios

On November 9, 1998.

On November 9, 1998, “Century Media Records” label released “How to Measure a Planet?”, the fifth Gathering studio album. It was recorded July – October 1998, at “Bauwhaus Studios” in Amsterdam, “Wisseloord Studios” in Hilversum, Netherlands, and was produced by Attie Bauw.


  • Anneke van Giersbergen – lead vocals, guitars
  • René Rutten – guitars, didgeridoo, theremin
  • Frank Boeijen – keyboards
  • Hugo Prinsen Geerligs – bass
  • Hans Rutten – drums
  • Attie Bauw – percussion, arrangements, programming, engineer, mixing
  • Chris Blair – mastering

All lyrics by Anneke van Giersbergen, music as noted.

  1. Frail (You Might as Well Be Me) – René Rutten, Frank Boeijen
  2. Great Ocean Road –  René Rutten, Hugo Prinsen Geerligs
  3. Rescue Me – René Rutten
  4. My Electricity – Anneke Van Giersbergen
  5. Liberty Bell –  René Rutten
  6. Red Is a Slow Colour – René Rutten
  7. The Big Sleep – Frank Boeijen
  8. Marooned – René Rutten
  9. Travel – René Rutten, Frank Boeijen

On July 11, 1988.

On July 11, 1988,“Polydor” label released “Wings of Heaven” the seventh Magnum studio album. It was recorded 1987 – 1988, at “Wisseloord Studios” in Hilversum, Netherlands, and was produced by Albert Boekholt, Bob Catley, Tony Clarkin, Wally Lowe, Mark Stanway and Mickey Barker.


  • Bob Catley — vocals
  • Tony Clarkin – guitar
  • Wally Lowe – bass guitar
  • Mark Stanway – keyboards
  • Mickey Barker – drums
  • Attie Bauw – Fairlight rogrammer
  • The London Gospel Choir – backing vocals
  • Max Werner – backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Tony Clarkin.

  1. Days of No Trust
  2. Wild Swan
  3. Start Talking Love
  4. One Step Away
  5. It Must Have Been Love
  6. Different Worlds
  7. Pray for the Day
  8. Don’t Wake the Lion (Too Old To Die Young)


On August 3, 1987.

On August 3, 1987, “Phonogram” label released “Hysteria” the fourth Def Leppard studio album. It was recorded February 1984–January 1987, at “Wisseloord Studios” in Hilversum; “Windmill Lane Studio 2” in Dublin; “Studio Des Dames” in Paris, and was produced by Robert John “Mutt” Lange. In 2004, “Hysteria” was ranked at number 464 on “Rolling Stone’s” magazine list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”. The album was certified 4 x Platinum in Australia by “ARIA”; 10 x Platinum in Canada by “CRIA”; Diamond in US by the “RIIA” and 2 x Platinum in UK by the “BPI”.


  • Joe Elliott – lead vocals
  • Phil Collen- guitars, backing vocals
  • Steve Clark- guitars, backing vocals
  • Rick Savage- bass, bass synthesiser, backing vocals
  • Rick Allen– drums
  • Robert John “Mutt” Lange– backing vocals
  • Rocky Newton – backing vocals
  • Philip “Art School” Nicholas – keyboards, Fairlight programming
  • Nigel Green – engineer, assistant engineer, mixing
  • Erwin Musper, Ronald Prent – engineer
  • Mike Shipley– mixing
  • Bob Ludwig, Howie Weinberg– mastering
  • Ross Halfin, Laurie Lewis – photography
  • Mark Flannery – tape operator
  • Art concept, design – Andie Airfix @ Satori

Track listing:

All tracks by Joe Elliott, Rick Savage, Phil Collen, Steve Clark and Mutt Lange.

  1. Women
  2. Rocket
  3. Animal
  4. Love Bites
  5. Pour Some Sugar On Me
  6. Armageddon It
  7. Gods of War
  8. Don’t Shoot Shotgun
  9. Run Riot
  10. Hysteria
  11. Excitable
  12. Love and Affection


On October 3, 1980.


On October 3, 1980, “A&M” label released “Zenyatta Mondatta” the third Police studio album. It was recorded July – August 1980, at “Wisseloord Studios” in Hilversum, Netherlands, and was produced by The Police and Nigel Gray.The album won The Police two “Grammy Awards” including “Best Rock Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocal” for “Don’t Stand So Close to Me” and “Best Rock Instrumental Performance” for “Behind My Camel”. The album was certified Platinum in Canada by “Music Canada”; Platinum in France by “SNEP”; Platinum in UK by “BPI”, and 2 x Platinum in the US by “RIIA”.


  • Sting– bass guitar, lead and backing vocals, synthesizer
  • Andy Summers– guitar, backing vocals, guitar-synths, bass guitar, piano
  • Stewart Copeland– drums, backing vocals
  • Nigel Gray– engineering
  • Watalu Asanuma, Adrian Boot, Miles Copeland, Anton Corbijn, Danny Quatrochi – photography
  • Janette Beckman– cover photo, photography
  • Simon Ryan – design
  • Vartan– reissue art director
  • Michael Ross – art direction, design, photography
  • Bob Ludwig– remastering

Track listing:

All tracks by Sting, except where noted.

  1. Don’t Stand So Close to Me
  2. Driven to Tears
  3. When the World Is Running Down, You Make the Best of What’s Still Around
  4. Canary in a Coalmine
  5. Voices Inside My Head
  6. Bombs Away – Stewart Copeland
  7. De Do Do Do, De Da Da Da
  8. Behind My Camel – Andy Summers
  9. Man in a Suitcase
  10. Shadows in the Rain
  11. The Other Way of Stopping – Stewart Copeland




On April 21, 1980.

Undertones - Hypnotised

On April 21, 1980, “Sire” label released “Hypnotised’, the third Undertones album. It was recorded 1979 – 1980, at “Wisseloord Studios” in the Netherlands, and “Eden Studios” in London, and was produced by Roger Bechirian.


  • Feargal Sharkey- lead vocals
  • John O’Neill- guitar and vocals
  • Damian O’Neill- guitar, keyboards and vocals
  • Michael Bradley- bass and vocals
  • Billy Doherty – drums

Track listing:

  1. More Songs About Chocolate And Girls – Damian O’Neill
  2. There Goes Norman – J. J. O’Neill
  3. Hypnotised – Damian O’Neill,Michael Bradley
  4. See That Girl – J.J. O’Neill
  5. Whizz Kids – Damian O’Neill
  6. Under The Boardwalk – Kenny Young, Arthur Resnick
  7. The Way Girls Talk – J.J. O’Neill
  8. Hard Luck – J. J. O’Neill, Michael Bradley, Damian O’Neill, Billy Doherty, Feargal Sharkey
  9. My Perfect Cousin – Damian O’Neill, Michael Bradley
  10. Boys Will Be Boys – J. J. O’Neill, Damian O’Neill
  11. Tearproof – J. J. O’Neill, Michael Bradley
  12. Wednesday Week – J. J. O’Neill
  13. Nine Times Out Of Ten – J. J. O’Neill, Billy Doherty
  14. Girls That Don’t Talk – J. J. O’Neill
  15. What’s With Terry – Damian O’Neill