Tag Archives: Ruben Blades

On August 5, 1992.

On August 5, 1992, Jeffrey Thomas Porcaro died aged 38. He was a songwriter, musician (drums), and record producer, best known as the drummer with Toto. He was one of the most south after session drummers in popular music, played on hundreds of albums and worked with numerous artists such as Paul McCartney, Pink Floyd, Michael Jackson, George Benson, Greg Lake, Seals & Crofts, Les Dudek, Joe Cocker, Steely Dan, The Jacksons, Tommy Bolin, Jackson Browne, Leo Sayer, Boz Scaggs, Carly Simon, Eric Carmen, Valerie Carter, Lisa Dal Bello, Hall & Oates, Diana Ross, Colin Blunstone, Larry Carlton, Allen Toussaint, Dave Mason, Warren Zevon, Ruben Blades, Bim, Jerry Williams, Al Stewart, Marc Jordan, Rickie Lee Jones, Janne Schaffer, Lowell George, Aretha Franklin, Jon Anderson, Luis Miguel, Love and Money, Patti Austin, Mariya Takeuchi, The Brothers Johnson, Peter Frampton, Bee Gees, Char, Christopher Cross, Randy Crawford, Al Jarreau, Amii Ozaki, Crosby, Stills & Nash, Eye to Eye, Donna Summer, Elton John, Melissa Manchester, Donald Fagen, Herbie Hancock, Don Henley, Michael McDonald, Lionel Richie, Paul Simon, Randy Newman, Russ Taff, Chicago, David Gilmour Joe Walsh, Eric Clapton, Peter cetera, Earth Wind & Fire, roger Hodgson, David Benoit, Dr. John, Steve Porcaro, Nik Kershaw, Poco, Clair Mario, Celine Dion, Natalie Cole, Madonna, Jude Cole, Sandy Patty, Bruce Springsteen, Michael Bolton, Cher, Dire Straits, Richard Marx, Bonnie Raitt, Rod Stewart, B-52’s, Go West, 10CC, Roger Waters, Paul Young, and David Crosby. In 1993, Porcaro was posthumously inducted into the “Modern Drummer Hall of Fame”.

On July 29, 1997.

On July 29, 1997, “Sony Music” label released “Fabulosos Calavera” (Fabulous Skull in Spanish) the eleventh Los Fabulosos Cadillacs album. It was recorded 1996 – 1997, and was produced by K.C. Porter.


  • Vicentico– vocals
  • Flavio Cianciarulo– bass
  • Ariel Minimal – guitar
  • Mario Siperman – keyboards
  • Fernando Ricciardi – drums
  • Sergio Rotman – alto saxophone
  • Daniel Lozano – trumpet,flugelhorn
  • Fernando Albareda – trombone
  • Gerardo Rotblat – percussion
  • Rubén Blades- vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Flavio Cianciarulo, except where noted.

  1. El Muerto (The Deadman)
  2. Surfer Calavera (Skull Surfer)
  3. El Carnicero de Giles/Sueño (The Butcher of Giles/Dream) – Vicentico, Flavio Cianciarulo
  4. Sábato
  5. Howen – Fernando Ricciardi
  6. A Amigo J.V. (To Friend J.V.) – Vicentico
  7. Hoy Lloré Canción (Today I Cried Song) – Flavio Cianciarulo, Rubén Blades
  8. Calaveras y Diablitos (Skulls and Little Devils)
  9. Il Pajarito (The Little Bird) – Vicentico
  10. Niño Diamante (Diamond Child) – Vicentico
  11. Piazzolla
  12. Amnesia – Sergio Rotman
  13. D.R.B. (En Busca Eterna) (A.D.R.B. (In Eternal Search)) – Vicentico

On May 4, 2004.

On May 4, 2004, “Hollywood/Mammoth” labels released “The Ride”, the eleventh Los Lobos album. It was recorded 2003 – 2004, and was produced by David Hidalgo, Louie Pérez, Cesar Rosas, Conrad Lozano and Steve Berlin. The album contains new material and new versions of earlier bands songs.


  • David Hidalgo- vocals, guitar, accordion, fiddle, requinto jarocho
  • Louie Pérez- vocals, guitar, drums, jarana
  • Cesar Rosas- vocals, guitar, bajo sexto
  • Conrad Lozano- vocals, bass, guitarron
  • Steve Berlin- keyboards, woodwinds
  • Cougar Estrada – drums, percussion
  • Victor Bisetti – additional percussion

Café Tacuba

  • Elfego Buendia – vocals
  • Alejandro Flores – quinta guapanguera, requinto
  • Emmanuel de Real – jarana, keyboards
  • Joselo Rangel – electric guitar
  • Garth Hudson- keyboards
  • Mitchell Froom- keyboards
  • Greg Leisz- pedal steel guitar
  • Charles Williams – piano, organ, clavinet
  • Francisco Torres – trombone
  • Alberto Salas – piano
  • Lonnie Jordan – B-3

Track listing:

  1. La Venganza de Los Pelados – featuring Café Tacuba
  2. Rita
  3. Is This All There Is? – featuring Little Willy G.
  4. Charmed
  5. Somewhere in Time – featuring Dave Alvin
  6. Wicked Rain/Across 110th Street – featuring Bobby Womack
  7. Kitate – featuring Tom Waitsand Martha Gonzales
  8. Hurry Tomorrow
  9. Ya Se Va – featuring Rubén Blades
  10. Wreck of the Carlos Rey – featuring Richard Thompson
  11. A Matter of Time – featuring Elvis Costello
  12. Someday – featuring Mavis Staples
  13. Chains of Love

On April 10, 2001.

On April 10, 2001, “Deutsche Grammophon” label released “For the Stars”, album by Anne Sofie von Otter. It was recorded September 2000-January 2001, and was produced by Elvis Costello.


  • Elvis Costello – vocals, baritone guitar, Lowrey organ, bass
  • Anne Sofie Von Otter – vocals
  • Bengt Forsberg – piano, Hammond B-3 organ
  • Michael Blair – vibraphone, bass drum, percussion
  • Bebe Risenfors – clarinet, tenor saxophone, accordion
  • Svante Henryson – celtar, cello, upright bass
  • Mats Schubert – piano, harmonium, Moog bass
  • Steve Nieve- piano, celeste, organ

Track listing:

  1. No Wonder – Elvis Costello
  2. Baby Plays Around – Cait O’Riordan, Declan MacManus
  3. Go Leave – Kate McGarrigle
  4. Rope – Elvis Costello, Fleshquartet
  5. Don’t Talk (Put Your Head on My Shoulder) – Brian Wilson, Tony Asher
  6. Broken Bicycles/Junk – Tom Waits, Paul McCartney
  7. The Other Woman – Jessie Mae Robinson
  8. Like an Angel Passing Through My Room – Benny Andersson, Björn Ulvaeus
  9. Green Song – Elvis Costello, Svante Henryson
  10. April After All – Ron Sexsmith
  11. You Still Believe in Me – Brian Wilson, Tony Asher
  12. I Want to Vanish – Elvis Costello
  13. For No One – John Lennon, Paul McCartney
  14. Shamed Into Love – Declan MacManus, Rubén Blades
  15. Just a Curio – Elvis Costello, Flesh Quartet
  16. This House Is Empty Now – Burt Bacharach, Elvis Costello
  17. Take It With Me – Kathleen Brennan, Tom Waits
  18. For the Stars – Elvis Costello


On October 13, 1987.


On October 13, 1987, “A&M” label released“…Nothing Like the Sun”, the second Sting studio album. It was recorded March–August, 1987,at the “Air Studios”, in Montserrat, and was  produced by Sting, Hugh Padgham, Bryan Loren and Neil Dorfsman.


  • Sting– lead vocals, bass guitar, guitar
  • Manu Katché– drums
  • Kenny Kirkland– keyboards
  • Mino Cinelu– percussion, vocoder
  • Branford Marsalis– saxophone
  • Andy Newmark– drums
  • Gil Evans& His Orchestra
  • Hiram Bullock– guitar
  • Kenwood Dennard– drums
  • Mark Egan– bass
  • Andy Summers, Eric Clapton, Fareed Haque, Mark Knopfler– guitar
  • Rubén Blades– spoken Spanish
  • Ken Helman– piano
  • Renée Geyer, Vesta Williams, Dollette McDonald, Janice Pendarvis– background vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Sting, except where noted.

  1. The Lazarus Heart
  2. Be Still My Beating Heart
  3. Englishman in New York
  4. History Will Teach Us Nothing
  5. They Dance Alone
  6. Fragile
  7. We’ll Be Together
  8. Straight to My Heart
  9. Rock Steady
  10. Sister Moon
  11. Little Wing – Jimi Hendrix
  12. The Secret Marriage – Hanns Eisler, Sting