Tag Archives: Merle Kilgore

In December 1974.

In December 1974, “Capitol” label released “Sun Secrets”, the first Eric Burdon Band album. It was recorded in 1973, at “Record Plant” in Sausalito, California, and was produced by Jerry Goldstein.


  • Eric Burdon – vocals
  • Aalon Butler – guitar
  • Randy Rice – bass
  • Alvin Taylor- drums
  • Ed Barton – engineer
  • Norman Seeff- photography

Track listing:

  1. It’s My Life – Roger Atkins, Carl D’Errico
  2. Ring of Fire – June Carter, Merle Kilgore
  3. Medley: When I Was Young / War Child – Eric Burdon, Aalon Butler
  4. The Real Me – Eric Burdon, Aalon Butler
  5. Medley:Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood / Nina’s School – Bennie Benjamin, Sol Marcus, Gloria Caldwell, Eric Burdon, Aalon Butler
  6. Letter from the County Farm – Eric Burdon, Rosco Gordon
  7. Sun Secrets – Aalon Butler

In December 1968.

In December 1968, “MGM” label released “Love Is”, the third Eric Burdon and The Animals album. It was recorded in October 1968, at “TTG” and “Sunset Sound Studios” in Hollywood, and was produced by Eric Burdon, Zoot Money, Andy Summers, John Weider and Barry Jenkins.


  • Eric Burdon— lead vocals, spoken word
  • Zoot Money— bass, backing and co-lead (3, 8a) vocals, organ, piano, spoken word (8a)
  • Andy Summers— guitar, backing vocals
  • John Weider— guitar, violin, backing vocals
  • Barry Jenkins— drums, percussion, backing vocals
  • Robert Wyatt- backing vocals

Track listing:

  1. River Deep, Mountain High – Phil Spector, Jeff Barry, Ellie Greenwich
  2. I’m an Animal – Sylvester Stewart
  3. I’m Dying (Or Am I?) – Eric Burdon
  4. Ring of Fire – June Carter, Merle Kilgore
  5. Colored Rain – Steve Winwood, Jim Capaldi, Chris Wood
  6. To Love Somebody – Barry Gibb, Robin Gibb
  7. As the Years Go Passing By – Deadric Malone
  8. Gemini – Steve Hammond / Madman – Zoot Money, Andy Summers

In May 1985.

In May 1985, “Warner Bros” label released “The Ballad of Sally Rose”, the eleventh Emmylou Harris studio album. It was recorded in 1985, and was produced by Paul Kennerley and Emmylou Harris.


  • Steve Cash – harmonica
  • Barbara Cowart – backing vocals
  • Gail Davies – backing vocals
  • Hank DeVito – acoustic, electric and pedal steel, dobro
  • Phillip Donelly – electric slide guitar
  • Bessyl Duhon – accordion
  • Ray Flacke – electric guitar
  • Vince Gill- electric guitar, backing vocals
  • Emory Gordy, Jr.- acoustic guitar, bass, string arrangements
  • Emmylou Harris – vocals, acoustic guitar, backing vocals
  • John Jarvis – keyboards
  • Waylon Jennings- electric guitar
  • Shane Keister- keyboards
  • Paul Kennerley- acoustic and electric guitar
  • Russ Kunkel- drums
  • Albert Lee- acoustic and electric guitar, mandolin
  • Larrie Londin- drums, percussion
  • Dolly Parton- backing vocals
  • Tom Roady – percussion
  • Linda Ronstadt- backing vocals
  • Gary Scruggs – harmonica
  • Buddy Spicher- giddle
  • Barry Tashian – acoustic guitar
  • Bobby Thompson – acoustic guitar, banjo
  • Donivan Cowart – engineer
  • Tom Harding, Keith Odle – second Engineer

Track list:

All tracks by Emmylou Harris and Paul Kennerley; except where noted.

  1. The Ballad of Sally Rose
  2. Rhythm Guitar
  3. I Think I Love Him/You Are My Flower – Emmylou Harris, P. Carter
  4. Heart to Heart
  5. Woman Walk the Line
  6. Bad News
  7. Timberline
  8. Long Tall Sally Rose
  9. White Line
  10. Diamond in My Crown
  11. The Sweetheart of the Rodeo
  12. K-S-O-S medley: Ring of Fire/Wildwood Flower/Six Days on the Road – Emmylou Harris, Paul Kennerley; June Carter, Merle Kilgore, A.P. Carter, Earl Greene, Carl Montgomery
  13. Sweet Chariot

On March 6, 2006.

Pay the Devil

On March 6, 2006, “Lost Highway” label released “Pay the Devil”, the thirty-second van Morrison studio album. “Pay the Devil” was recorded in 2005, and was produced by Van Morrison. The album features twelve cover versions of American country and western songs and three original compositions.


  • Van Morrison- acoustic guitar, vocals
  • Crawford Bell – vocals
  • Trionagh Moore- vocals
  • Olwin Bell – vocals
  • Paul Godden – guitar, steel guitar
  • Mick Green- guitar
  • Karen Hamill – vocals
  • Bobby Irwin – drums
  • Ian Jennings – double bass
  • Bob Loveday – violin
  • Leon McCrum – vocals
  • Paul Riley- acoustic bass
  • Johnny Scott – guitar, vocals
  • Nicky Scott – electric bass
  • Fiachra Trench- vocals, string arrangements
  • Geraint Watkins- piano
  • Aine Whelan – vocals
  • Gavyn Wright- string section leader

Track listing:

  1. There Stands the Glass – Alize Gresham, Russ Hull and Mary Jane Shurtz
  2. Half as Much – Curly Williams
  3. Things Have Gone to Pieces – Leon Payne
  4. Big Blue Diamonds – Earl J. Carson
  5. Playhouse – Van Morrison
  6. Your Cheatin’ Heart – Hank Williams
  7. Don’t You Make Me High – Daniel Barker and Ken Harris
  8. My Bucket’s Got a Hole in It – Clarence Williams
  9. Back Street Affair – Billy Wallace
  10. Pay the Devil – Van Morrison
  11. What Am I Living For? – Art Harris and Fred Jay
  12. This Has Got to Stop – Van Morrison
  13. Once a Day – Bill Anderson
  14. More and More – Merle Kilgore and Webb Pierce
  15. Til I Gain Control Again – Rodney Crowell