Tag Archives: 1987

On July 11, 1988.

On July 11, 1988,“Polydor” label released “Wings of Heaven” the seventh Magnum studio album. It was recorded 1987 – 1988, at “Wisseloord Studios” in Hilversum, Netherlands, and was produced by Albert Boekholt, Bob Catley, Tony Clarkin, Wally Lowe, Mark Stanway and Mickey Barker.


  • Bob Catley — vocals
  • Tony Clarkin – guitar
  • Wally Lowe – bass guitar
  • Mark Stanway – keyboards
  • Mickey Barker – drums
  • Attie Bauw – Fairlight rogrammer
  • The London Gospel Choir – backing vocals
  • Max Werner – backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Tony Clarkin.

  1. Days of No Trust
  2. Wild Swan
  3. Start Talking Love
  4. One Step Away
  5. It Must Have Been Love
  6. Different Worlds
  7. Pray for the Day
  8. Don’t Wake the Lion (Too Old To Die Young)


On July 6, 1987.

On July 6, 1987, “Arista” label released “In the Dark”, the twelfth Grateful Dead studio album. It was recorded in January 1987, and was produced by Jerry Garcia and John Cutler. The cover art was designed by Randy Tuten.


  • Jerry Garcia– guitar, vocals
  • Bob Weir– guitar, vocals
  • Brent Mydland– keyboards, vocals
  • Phil Lesh– bass
  • Bill Kreutzmann– drums
  • Mickey Hart– drums, percussion
  • Bob Bralove – programming, special effects, spatialization
  • Guy Charbonneau, Dan Healy, Jeffrey Norman, David Roberts, Jeff Sterling, John Cutler – engineer
  • Gail Grant – design
  • Herb Greene– art direction, photography

Track listing:

  1. Touch of Grey – Jerry Garcia, Robert Hunter
  2. Hell in a Bucket – John Perry Barlow, Bob Weir, Brent Mydland
  3. When Push Comes to Shove – Jerry Garcia, Robert Hunter
  4. West L.A. Fadeaway – Jerry Garcia, Robert Hunter
  5. Tons of Steel – Brent Mydland
  6. Throwing Stories – John Perry Barlow, Bob Weir
  7. Black Muddy River – Jerry Garcia, Robert Hunter

On July 6, 1987.

On July 6, 1987, “Geffen” label released “Life”, the 19th Neil Young album overall, and the eleventh with Crazy Horse. It was recorded November 1986, at “Universal Amphitheatre” in Universal City, and “Record One” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Neil Young, David Briggs and Jack Nitzsche.


  • Neil Young– guitar, harmonica, keyboards
  • Crazy Horse

Poncho Sampedro – guitar, keyboards

Ralph Molina – drums

Billy Talbot – bass

  • Bryan Bell – programming, synth-bank
  • Michael Hoenig– programming
  • Niko Bolas– recording, mixing
  • Coke Johnson – recording, mixing
  • Tim Mulligan, Richard Landers, Brian Soucy – engineering
  • Chris Bellman – mastering

Track listing:

All tracks by Neil Young.

  1. Mideast Vacation
  2. Long Walk Home
  3. Around the World
  4. Inca Queen
  5. Too Lonely
  6. Prisoners of Rock ‘N’ Roll
  7. Cryin’ Eyes
  8. When Your Lonely Heart Breaks
  9. We Never Danced

On June 14, 2016.

On June 14, 2016, Henry Campbell Liken McCullough died aged 72. He was guitarist, singer and songwriter, who has worked with many famous musicians including Joe Cocker, George Harrison, Roy Harper, Frankie Miller, Eric Burdon, Marianne Faithful, Ronnie Lane, Donovan, Bobby Harrison, Steve Marriot, Time Rice and Andrew Lloyd Webber. McCullough was member of Spooky Tooth, The Grease Band, Dr. Feelgood and Wings.

He released five solo albums and one EP:

  • Mind Your Own Business- 1975
  • All Shook Up – 1982 (EP)
  • Hell of A Record- May 1984
  • Cut- 1987
  • Get In The Hole– 1989  (live)
  • Blue Sunset- 1998


On April 6, 1987.

On April 6, 1987, “CBS” label released “Raindancing”, the second Alison Moyet studio album. It was recorded 1986 – 1987, and was produced by Jimmy Iovine, Jess Bailey, Alison Moyet, Joseph Hughes, David Freeman and Jean Guiot.


  • Alison Moyet – vocals, mixing
  • Dave Freeman – vocals
  • Mike Shipley – associate producer
  • Joe Chiccarelli, John Fryer, Robert de la Garza, Mark Desisto – recording engineer
  • Jess Bailey, Scott Litt, Mike Shipley, Humberto Gatica – mixing
  • Vladimir “Vlado” Meller – mastering
  • Richard Houghton – sleeve photography
  • Rob O’Connor (Stylorouge) – design, art direction

Track listing:

  1. Weak in the Presence of Beauty – Michael Ward, Rob Clarke
  2. Ordinary Girl – Alison Moyet, Jess Bailey, Rick Driscoll
  3. You Got me Wrong – Alison Moyet
  4. Without You – Alison Moyet
  5. Sleep Like Breathing – David Freeman, Joseph Hughes
  6. Is This Love – Alison Moyet, Jean Guiot
  7. Blow Wind Blow – Alison Moyet, Jess Bailey
  8. Glorious Love – Alison Moyet, Jess Bailey, Rick Driscoll
  9. When I Say (No Giveaway) – Alison Moyet, Jess Bailey, Rick Driscoll
  10. Stay – Alison Moyet, Jess Bailey, Rick Driscoll


On April 5, 1988.

On April 5, 1988, “Epic” label released “Stronger Than Pride”, the third Sade studio album. It was recorded 1987 – 1988, at “Compass Point Studios” in Nassau, Bahamas; “Studio Marcadet” in Paris, and “Studio Miraval” in Le Val, France, and was produced by Mike Pela, Ben Rogan, Sade Adu, Andrew Hale, Stuart Matthewman and Paul S. Denman.


  • Sade Adu– vocals
  • Andrew Hale – keyboards
  • Stuart Matthewman– guitar, saxophone
  • Paul S. Denman– bass
  • James McMillan – trumpet
  • Leroy Osbourne – vocals
  • Gavyn Wright– solo violin
  • Martin Ditcham– drums, percussion
  • Gordon Hunte – guitar
  • Jake Jacas – trombone
  • Nick Ingman– string arrangements
  • Olivier de Bosson, Alain Lubrano, Vince McCartney, Melanie West – assistant engineering
  • Mike Pela– co-production, engineering
  • Herb Powers, Jr. – mastering
  • Ben Rogan – co-production, engineering
  • Franck Segarra – assistant engineering
  • Jean-Christophe Vareille – assistant engineering
  • Levon Parian – cover photograph
  • Toshi Yajima – inlay photograph
  • Graham Smith – artwork, design

Track listing:

  1. Love Is Stronger Than Pride – Sade Adu, Andrew Hale, Stuart Matthewman
  2. Paradise – Sade Adu. Andrew Hale, Stuart Matthewman, Paul S.Denman
  3. Nothing Can Come Between Us – Sade Adu, Andrew Hale, Stuart Matthewman
  4. Haunt Me – Sade Adu, Stuart Matthewman
  5. Turn My Back on You – Sade Adu. Andrew Hale, Stuart Matthewman
  6. Keep Looking – Sade Adu, Andrew Hale
  7. Clean Heart – Sade Adu, Andrew Hale, Stuart Matthewman
  8. Give It Up – Sade Adu, Andrew Hale, Stuart Matthewman
  9. I Never Thought I’d See the Day – Sade Adu, Leroy Osbourne
  10. Siempre Hay Esperanza – Sade Adu, Leroy Osbourne, Stuart Matthewman