Tag Archives: France

In February 1978.

In February 1978, “Harvest” label released “Drastic Plastic”, the fifth and the final Be-Bop Deluxe album. It was recorded in 1977, at “Chateau Saint Georges” in Juan-les-Pins, in France, and was produced by John Leckie and Bill Nelson.


  • Bill Nelson– lead vocals, electric, acoustic and 12-string guitars, mandolin, guitar synthesizer, piano, percussion
  • Andy Clark- keyboards and synthesizers
  • Charlie Tumahai- bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Simon Fox- drums, loops

Track listing:

All tracks by Bill Nelson.

  1. Electrical Language
  2. New Precision
  3. New Mysteries
  4. Surreal Estate
  5. Love in Flames
  6. Panic in the World
  7. Dangerous Stranger
  8. Superenigmatix (Lethal Appliances for the Home with Everything)
  9. Visions of Endless Hopes
  10. Possession
  11. Islands of the Dead



In January 1975.

In January 1975, “RCA” label released “Play Don’t Worry”, the second Mick Ronson album. It was recorded in 1974, at “Trident Studios”, “Scorpio Sound” and “Sundragon Studios” in London, “Strawberry Studios” in Juan La Pins, France, and was produced by Mick Ronson.


  • Mick Ronson– vocals, guitar, bass, drums, harmonica, piano, clavinet, synthesizer, arrangements, mixing
  • Trevor Bolder– bass, horn
  • Mike Garson– piano
  • Ritchie Dharma, Aynsley Dunbar, Tony Newman– drums
  • Jeff Daly – saxophone, flutes
  • Neil Kernon– ARP synthesizer
  • Paul Francis – drums
  • John Mealing– piano
  • Ian Hunter– backing vocals
  • Vicky Silva, Miquel Brown, Beverly Baxton – backing vocals
  • Sid Sax – string conductor
  • Dennis Mackay, Peter Fielder, Ted Sharp, Ray Hendrickson, Ian Major – engineers
  • Clive Arrowsmith- photography

Track listing:

  1. Billy Porter – Mick Ronson
  2. Angel No. 9 – Craig Fuller
  3. This Is for You – Laurie Heath
  4. White Light/White Heat – Lou Reed
  5. Play Don’t Worry – Mick Ronson, Bob Sargeant
  6. Hazy Days – Mick Ronson
  7. Girl Can’t Help It – Bobby Troup
  8. Empty Bed (Io Me Ne Andrei) – Claudio Baglioni, Antonio Coggio, Mick Ronson
  9. Woman – Adam Taylor

On December 2, 2016.

On December 2, 2016, “Polydor” label released “Blue & Lonesome”, the 23rd Rolling Stones album. It was recorded in December 2015, at “British Grove Studios” and was produced by Don Was and The Glimmer Twins. It is the band’s first album to feature only cover songs. The album won “Album of the Year” at the “2017 Jazz FM Awards”. “Blue & Lonesome” was certified Platinum in Austria by “IFPI Austria”; Platinum in Belgium by “BEA”; 2 x Platinum in France by “SNEP”; Platinum in Poland by “ZPAV”, and Platinum in UK by “BPI”.


  • Mick Jagger– vocals, harmonica
  • Keith Richards– electric guitar
  • Ronnie Wood– electric guitar
  • Charlie Watts– drums
  • Eric Clapton– slide guitar; lead electric guitar
  • Darryl Jones– bass
  • Matt Clifford, Chuck Leavell– keyboards
  • Jim Keltner– percussion
  • Andy Cook, Jason Elliott, Derrick Stockwell – assistant enginer
  • Richard Havers – liner notes
  • Stephen Marcussen, Ron McMaster – mastering
  • Krish Sharma – engineer, mixer
  • Pierre de Beauport – crew chief
  • Don McAulay – drum technician

Track listing:

  1. Just Your Fool – Buddy Johnson
  2. Commit a Crime – Howlin’ Wolf
  3. Blue and Lonesome – Little Walter
  4. All of Your Love – Magic Sam
  5. I Gotta Go – Little Walter
  6. Everybody Knows About My Good Thing – Miles Grayson, Lermon Horton
  7. Ride ‘Em on Down – Eddie Taylor
  8. Hate to See You Go – Little Walter
  9. Hoo Doo Blues – Otis Hicks, Jerry West
  10. Little Rain – Ewart G.Abner Jr., Jimmy Reed
  11. Just Like I Treat You – Willie Dixon
  12. I Can’t Quit You Baby – Willie Dixon


In November 1975.

In November 1975, “RAK” label released the second, self-titled Hot Chocolate studio album. It was recorded in 1975, in Oise, France, by the “RAK Records Mobile”, “Morgan Studios” in London, and was produced by Mickie Most.


  • Errol Brown– lead vocals
  • Harvey Hinsley – leadand acoustic guitars, backing vocals
  • Larry Ferguson – keyboards
  • Tony Wilson – bass, vocals
  • Tony Connor – drums, backing vocals, electric piano
  • Patrick Olive – percussion, backing vocals, bass
  • The CCS Horns– trumpets, trombone, alto, baritone and tenor saxophones
  • John Cameron, Phil Dennys – arrangements
  • Linard & Co. – album art

Track listing:

All tracks by Errol Brown; except where noted.

  1. Hello America
  2. The Street
  3. Call the Police – Tony Wilson
  4. Dollar Sign
  5. You Sexy Thing – Errol Brown, Tony Wilson
  6. A Child’s Prayer
  7. A Warm Smile – Harvey Hinsley, Patrick Olive, Tony Connor
  8. Amazing Skin Song
  9. Love’s Coming on Strong – Tony Wilson
  10. Lay Me Down – Tony Wilson

In November 1972.

In November 1972, “A&M” label released “Whatever’s for Us”, the debut Joan Armatrading album. It was recorded in 1972, at “Château d’Hérouville” in France, “Trident Studios” and “Marquee Studios” in London, and was produced by Gus Dudgeon. The album was collaboration between Joan Armatrading and singer-songwriter Pam Nestor.


  • Joan Armatrading – vocals, piano, acoustic guitar, harmonium
  • Davey Johnstone- guitars, sitar
  • Larry Steele – bass guitar
  • Chris Hughes – saxophone
  • Gerry Conway, Henry Spinetti– drums
  • Ray Cooper– percussion, vibes
  • Robin Geoffrey Cable, Ken Scott, Roy Baker, Phil Dunne – engineers
  • Del Newman – string, horns arrangements
  • Chris Hughes – brass arrangements
  • John Hays – art direction
  • Sumiko Davies – cover design
  • Derek Davies – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Joan Armatrading and Pam Nestor, except where noted.

  1. My Family
  2. City Girl – Joan Armatrading
  3. Spend a Little Time – Joan Armatrading
  4. Whatever’s for Us, for Us
  5. Child Star
  6. Visionary Mountains
  7. It Could Have Been Better
  8. Head of the Table
  9. Mister Remember Me
  10. Gave It a Try
  11. Alice
  12. Conversation – Joan Armatrading
  13. Mean Old Man
  14. All the King’s Gardens


In October 1972.

In October 1972, “Chrysalis” label released “Rock & Roll Music to the World”, the seventh Ten Years After studio album. It was recorded in 1972, at “Olympic Studios” in, London, and with the “Rolling Stones Mobile” at Cap Ferrat, France, and was produced by Alvin Lee, Leo Lyons, Ric Lee and Chick Churchill.


  • Alvin Lee– guitar, vocals
  • Leo Lyons– bass
  • Ric Lee– drums
  • Chick Churchill– organ

Track listing:

All tracks by Alvin Lee.

  1. You Give Me Loving
  2. Convention Prevention
  3. Turned-Off TV Blues
  4. Standing at the Station
  5. You Can’t Win Them All
  6. Religion
  7. Choo Choo Mama
  8. Tomorrow I’ll Be Out of Town
  9. Rock & Roll Music to the World



In September 1973.

In September 1973, “Bronze” label released “Sweet Freedom”, the sixth Uriah Heep studio album. It was recorded June – July 1973, at “Château d’Hérouville” in France, and was produced by Gerry Bron.


  • David Byron– lead vocals
  • Mick Box– guitars
  • Ken Hensley– keyboards, backing vocals, guitars
  • Gary Thain– bass
  • Lee Kerslake– drums, backing vocals, percussion

Track listing:

All tracks by Ken Hensley except where noted.

  1. Dreamer – Mick Box, Gary Thain
  2. Stealin’
  3. One Day – Ken Hensley, Gary Thain
  4. Sweet Freedom
  5. If I Had the Time
  6. Seven Stars
  7. Circus
  8. Pilgrim – David Byron, Ken Hensley