Tag Archives: Eric Clapton

On June 22, 2004.

On June 22, 2004, “Rhino” label released “Gettin’ in Over My Head”, the fifth Brian Wilson studio album. It was recorded in 1996, 2002 – 2004, and was produced by Brian Wilson.


  • Brian Wilson– lead vocals, keyboards, piano
  • Carl Wilson– vocals
  • Paul McCartney– vocals, acoustic guitar
  • Scott Bennett – guitar, bass, percussion, vibraphone, background vocals
  • Eric Clapton– lead guitar
  • Amy Farris– viola, violin
  • Jeffrey Foskett– guitar, background vocals
  • Probyn Gregory – french horn, guitar, keyboards, trombone, trumpet
  • Jim Hines – drums, percussion
  • Sandra Jensen – violin
  • Elton John– vocals, piano
  • Peter Kent – violin
  • Greg Leisz– guitar
  • Bob Lizik – bass
  • Paul Mertens – clarinet, flute, harmonica, saxophone
  • Andy Paley– percussion, background vocals
  • Michael Rhodes– bass
  • Carol Robbins – harp
  • Darian Sahanaja– keyboards, percussion, piano, vibraphone, background vocals
  • Rudolph Stein – cello
  • Todd Sucherman– drums, percussion
  • Joe Thomas – keyboards
  • Nick Walusko – guitar

Track listing:

  1. How Could We Still Be Dancin? – Brian Wilson, Joe Thomas
  2. Soul Searchin’ – Brian Wilson, Andy Paley
  3. You’ve Touched Me – Brian Wilson, Steve Kalinich
  4. Getting in Over My Head – Brian Wilson, Andy Paley
  5. City Blues – Brian Wilson, Scott Bennett
  6. Desert Drive – Brian Wilson, Andy Paley
  7. A Friend Like You – Brian Wilson, Steve Kalinich
  8. Make a Wish – Brian Wilson
  9. Rainbow Eyes – Brian Wilson
  10. Saturday Morning In The City – Brian Wilson, Andy Paley
  11. Fairy Tale – Brian Wilson, David Foster
  12. The Waltz – Brian Wilson, Van Dyke Parks

On May 30, 1980.

On May 30, 1980, Carl Dean Radle died aged 37. He was musician (bass, guitar) and music producer, best known as the bass player with Derek and the Dominoes. Radle has worked with many influential artists including  Gary Lewis & the Playboys, George Harrison, Joe Cocker, Dave Mason, Delaney and Bonnie, Eric Clapton, Jim Gordon, Duane Allman, Bobby Whitlock, Rita Coolidge, Kris Kristofferson. J. J. Cale, Leon Russell, and Buddy Guy. In 2006, he was posthumously inducted to the “Oklahoma Music Hall of Fame”.

On April 20, 2012.

On April 20, 2012, Herbert Maurice William ‘Bert’ Weedon, died aged 91. He was guitarist whose style of playing was popular and influential during the 1950s and 1960s. “Play in a Day” record sold over two million copies and became the first hit record in the UK Singles Chart recorded by a guitarist. His “Play in a Day” guitar guide influenced many musicians, including Jimmy Page, Eric Clapton,  Brian May, Dave Davies, Paul McCartney, George Harrison, John Lennon, Keith Richards, Pete Townshend and Tony Iommi. In 2001, for his services to music, Weedon was awarded an OBE.

On March 23, 2004.

On March 23, 2004, “Reprise” label released “Me and Mr. Johnson”, album by Eric Clapton consisting of covers of songs written and originally recorded by Robert Johnson. It was recorded in 2004, at “The Town House” in London, and was produced by Simon Climie and Eric Clapton.


  • Eric Clapton– guitar, slide guitar, vocals
  • Andy Fairweather-Low– guitar
  • Doyle Bramhall II– guitar, slide guitar
  • Jerry Portnoy– harmonica
  • Billy Preston– organ
  • Chris Stainton– piano
  • Nathan East– bass
  • Steve Gadd– drums
  • Pino Palladino– bass
  • Jim Keltner– drums
  • Alan Douglas – recording engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Robert Johnson.

  1. When You Got a Good Friend
  2. Little Queen of Spades
  3. They’re Red Hot
  4. Me and the Devil Blues
  5. Traveling Riverside Blues
  6. Last Fair Deal Gone Down
  7. Stop Breakin’ Down Blues
  8. Milkcow’s Calf Blues
  9. Kind Hearted Woman Blues
  10. Come on in My Kitchen
  11. If I Had Possession Over Judgement Day
  12. Love in Vain
  13. 32-20 Blues
  14. Hell Hound on My Trail


On December 2, 2016.

On December 2, 2016, “Polydor” label released “Blue & Lonesome”, the 23rd Rolling Stones album. It was recorded in December 2015, at “British Grove Studios” and was produced by Don Was and The Glimmer Twins. It is the band’s first album to feature only cover songs. The album won “Album of the Year” at the “2017 Jazz FM Awards”. “Blue & Lonesome” was certified Platinum in Austria by “IFPI Austria”; Platinum in Belgium by “BEA”; 2 x Platinum in France by “SNEP”; Platinum in Poland by “ZPAV”, and Platinum in UK by “BPI”.


  • Mick Jagger– vocals, harmonica
  • Keith Richards– electric guitar
  • Ronnie Wood– electric guitar
  • Charlie Watts– drums
  • Eric Clapton– slide guitar; lead electric guitar
  • Darryl Jones– bass
  • Matt Clifford, Chuck Leavell– keyboards
  • Jim Keltner– percussion
  • Andy Cook, Jason Elliott, Derrick Stockwell – assistant enginer
  • Richard Havers – liner notes
  • Stephen Marcussen, Ron McMaster – mastering
  • Krish Sharma – engineer, mixer
  • Pierre de Beauport – crew chief
  • Don McAulay – drum technician

Track listing:

  1. Just Your Fool – Buddy Johnson
  2. Commit a Crime – Howlin’ Wolf
  3. Blue and Lonesome – Little Walter
  4. All of Your Love – Magic Sam
  5. I Gotta Go – Little Walter
  6. Everybody Knows About My Good Thing – Miles Grayson, Lermon Horton
  7. Ride ‘Em on Down – Eddie Taylor
  8. Hate to See You Go – Little Walter
  9. Hoo Doo Blues – Otis Hicks, Jerry West
  10. Little Rain – Ewart G.Abner Jr., Jimmy Reed
  11. Just Like I Treat You – Willie Dixon
  12. I Can’t Quit You Baby – Willie Dixon


In November 1978.

In November 1978, “Polydor” label released “Backless”, the sixth Eric Clapton studio album. It was recorded in 1978, and was produced by Glyn Johns. The album was certified Platinum in Canada by “Music Canada” and Platinum in US by the “RIIA”.


  • Eric Clapton – guitars, vocals
  • Dick Sims – keyboards
  • Marcy Levy– vocals
  • George Terry– guitar
  • Carl Radle- bass guitar, vocals
  • Jamie Oldaker- drums, percussion, vocals
  • Benny Gallagherand Graham Lyle – backing vocals

Track listing:

  1. Walk Out in the Rain – Bob Dylan, Helena Springs
  2. Watch Out for Lucy – Eric Clapton
  3. I’ll Make Love to You Anytime – J.J. Cale
  4. Roll It – Eric Clapton, Marcy Levy
  5. Tell Me That You Love Me – Eric Clapton
  6. If I Don’t Be There by Morning – Bob Dylan, Helena Springs
  7. Early in the Morning – traditional arranged by Eric Clapton
  8. Promises – Richard Feldman, Roger Linn
  9. Golden Ring – Eric Clapton
  10. Tulsa Time – Danny Flowers

In October 1967.

In October 1967, “Liberty” label released “Gorilla”, the debut Bonzo Dog Doo-Dah Band album. It was recorded in 1967, and was produced by Gerry Bron and Lyn Birkbeck.


  • Vivian Stanshall– vocals, trumpet, euphonium, tuba, ukulele, cover design, liner notes
  • Neil Innes– piano, harpsichord, guitar, musical director
  • Vernon Dudley Bohay-Nowell – bass guitar, banjo, baritone saxophone, bass saxophone, whistle
  • Rodney Slater– alto saxophone, baritone saxophone, bass saxophone, clarinet, trombone, bass clarinet
  • Sam Spoons – double bass, percussion, spoons
  • “Legs” Larry Smith– drums, tuba, tap dance
  • Roger Ruskin Spear– saxophone
  • Eric Clapton– ukulele
  • Roger Ruskin Spear – engineer

Track listing:

  1. Cool Britannia – Vivian Stanshall, Neil Innes
  2. The Equestrian Statue – Neil Innes
  3. Jollity Farm – Leslie Sarony
  4. I Left My Heart in San Francisco – George Cory. Douglass Cross
  5. Look Out, There’s a Monster Coming – Vivian Stanshall
  6. Jazz (Delicious Hot, Disgusting Cold) – Bonzo Dog Band
  7. Death Cab for Cutie – Vivian Stanshall, Neil Innes
  8. Narcissus – Ethelbert Nevin
  9. The Intro and the Outro – Vivian Stanshall
  10. Mickey’s Son and Daughter – Eddie Lisbonna, Tommy Connor
  11. Big Shot – Vivian Stanshall
  12. Music for the Head Ballet – Neil Innes
  13. Piggy Bank Love – Neil Innes
  14. I’m Bored – Vivian Stanshall
  15. The Sound of Music – Oscar Hammerstein II, Richard Rodgers