Tag Archives: 1981

On March 10, 1982.

On March 10, 1982, “Charisma” label released “After Hours”, the ninth Gary Moore studio album. It was recorded in 1981, and was produced by Gary Moore and Ian Taylor.


  • Gary Moore– vocals, guitar
  • Will Lee, Bob Daisley, Johnny B. Gaydon – bass
  • Graham Walker, Anton Fig– drums
  • Tommy Eyre– keyboards
  • Martin Drover – trumpet
  • Frank Mead, Nick Pentelow, Nick Payn – saxophone
  • Andrew Love, Wayne Jackson– The Memphis Horns
  • Carol Kenyon, Linda Taylor – vocals
  • Richard Morgan – oboe
  • B. King– vocals, guitar
  • Albert Collins – vocals, guitar

Track listing:

All tracks by Gary Moore, except  where noted.

  1. Cold Day in Hell – Gary Moore
  2. Don’t You Lie to Me (I Get Evil) – Hudson Whittaker
  3. Story of the Blues
  4. Since I Met You Baby
  5. Separate Ways
  6. Only Fool in Town
  7. Key to Love – John Mayall
  8. Jumpin’ at Shadows – Duster Bennett
  9. The Blues is Alright – Milton Campbell
  10. The Hurt Inside
  11. Nothing’s the Same

On March 10, 1981.

On March 10, 1981, “Asylum” label released “On There Goes the Neighborhood”, the fifth Joe Walsh album. It was recorded October – November 1980, and was produced by Joe Walsh and George “Chocolate” Perry.


  • Joe Walsh– vocals, guitars, piano, synthesizer, bass guitar
  • Don Felder– guitar, pedal steel, backing vocals
  • Joe Vitale– drums, keyboards, flute
  • Victor Feldman– percussion
  • Russ Kunkel– percussion
  • David Lindley– percussion, violin, backing vocals
  • Bob Mayo– guitar
  • Kenny Passarelli– bass guitar, backing vocals
  • George “Chocolate” Perry– bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Tom Stephenson – keyboards
  • Timothy B. Schmit– backing vocals
  • Jody Boyer – backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Joe Walsh, except where noted.

  1. Things
  2. Made Your Mind Up
  3. Down on the Farm
  4. Rivers (Of the Hidden Funk) – Joe Walsh, Don Felder
  5. A Life of Illusion – Kenny Passarelli, Joe Walsh
  6. Bones
  7. Rockets
  8. You Never Know

On March 1, 1982.

On March 1, 1982, “Arista” label released “One Vice at a Time”, the sixth Krokus studio album. It was recorded in 1981, at “Battery Studios” in London, and was produced by Tony Platt, Marc Storace, Fernando von Arb, Mark Kohler, Chris von Rohr and Freddy Steady.


  • Marc Storace– lead vocals
  • Fernando von Arb– lead and rhythm guitar, bass, piano
  • Mark Kohler– rhythm and lead guitar
  • Chris von Rohr– bass, piano, percussion, drums
  • Freddy Steady– drums, percussion
  • Bruce Dickinson– backing vocals
  • Tony Platt– engineer, mixing
  • Barry Sage – assistant engineer

Track listing:

  1. Long Stick Goes Boom – Chris von Rohr, Fernando von Arb, Marc Storace
  2. Bad Boys, Rag Dolls – Chris von Rohr, Fernando von Arb, Marc Storace
  3. Playin’ the Outlaw – Chris von Rohr, Fernando von Arb, Freddy Steady, Marc Storace
  4. To the Top – Chris von Rohr, Fernando von Arb, Marc Storace
  5. Down the Drain – Chris von Rohr, Fernando von Arb
  6. American Woman – Burton Cummings, Gary Peterson, Michael James Kale, Randy Bachman
  7. I’m on the Run – Chris von Rohr, Fernando von Arb, Marc Storace
  8. Save Me – Chris von Rohr, Fernando von Arb, Freddy Steady, Marc Storace
  9. Rock ‘n’ Roll – Chris von Rohr, Fernando von Arb

On January 28, 1981.

On January 28, 1981, “Bearsville” label released “Healing”, the ninth Todd Rundgren studio album. It was recorded in 1980, and was produced by Todd Rundgren.


  • Todd Rundgren – vocals, all instruments, arranger, engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Todd Rundgren.

  1. Healer
  2. Pulse
  3. Flesh
  4. Golden Goose
  5. Compassion
  6. Shine
  7. Healing, Part I
  8. Healing, Part II
  9. Healing, Part III


On January 19, 1982.

On January 19, 1982, “Epitaph Records” label released “How Could Hell Be Any Worse?”, the debut Bad Religion album. It was recorded October–November 1980 and January 1981, at “Track Record Studios” in Hollywood, and was produced by Greg Graffin, Brett Gurewitz, Jay Bentley and Pete Finestone.


  • Greg Graffin– vocals
  • Brett Gurewitz– guitars
  • Jay Bentley– bass
  • Pete Finestone- drums
  • Jay Ziskrout- drums
  • Greg Hetson- guitar solo
  • Edward Colver– cover photography
  • Gustave Dore – back cover illustrations

Track listing:

  1. We’re Only Gonna Die – Greg Graffin
  2. Latch Key Kids – Greg Graffin
  3. Part III – Jay Bentley
  4. Faith in God – Greg Graffin
  5. Fuck Armageddon…This Is Hell – Greg Graffin
  6. Pity – Greg Graffin
  7. In the Night – Brett Gurewitz
  8. Damned to Be Free – Greg Graffin
  9. White Trash (2nd Generation) – Brett Gurewitz
  10. American Dream – Brett Gurewitz
  11. Eat Your Dog – Greg Graffin
  12. Voice of God Is Government – Jay Bentley
  13. Oligarchy – Brett Gurewitz
  14. Doing Time – Brett Gurewitz


On January 14, 1982.

On January 14, 1982, “Elektra” label released “Echoes of an Era”, the fifth Chaka Khan album. It was recorded 1981 -1982, at “Mad Hatter Studios”, Los Angeles, and was produced by Lenny White.


  • Chaka Khan- vocals
  • Joe Henderson- tenor saxophone
  • Freddie Hubbard- trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Chick Corea- piano
  • Stanley Clarke- acoustic bass
  • Lenny White- drums
  • Bernie Kirsch – sound engineer

Track listing:

  1. Them There Eyes – Maceo Pinkard, Doris Tauber, William Tracey
  2. All of Me – Gerald Marks, Seymour Simons
  3. I Mean You – Coleman Hawkins, Thelonious Monk
  4. I Loves You Porgy – George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin, DuBose Heyward
  5. Take the “A” Train – Billy Strayhorn
  6. I Hear Music – Burton Lane, Frank Loesser
  7. High Wire – The Aerialist – Chick Corea, Tony Cohen
  8. All of Me (Alternate take) – Gerald Marks, Seymour Simons
  9. Spring Can Really Hang You up the Most – Fran Landesman, Tommy Wolf

On December 27, 1981.

On December 27, 1981, Hoagland Howard “Hoagy”  Carmichael  died aged 82. He was composer, pianist, singer, actor, and bandleader. Carmichael composed several hundred songs, including fifty that achieved hit record status. His best known songs are four among the most-recorded American songs of all time: “Stardust”, “Georgia on My Mind” (lyrics by Stuart Gorrell), “The Nearness of You”, and “Heart and Soul” (lyrics by Frank Loesser). His song “In the Cool, Cool, Cool of the Evening,” (lyrics by Johnny Mercer, won the “Academy Award for Best Original Song” in 1951. Carmichael’s songs were performed by many famous musicians including Sidney Arodin, Louis Armstrong, Fred Astaire, Bix Beiderbecke, Ray Charles, Bing Crosby, Jimmy Dorsey, Tommy Dorsey, Duke Ellington, Helen Forrest, Harry James, Spike Jones, Frank Loesser, Johnny Mercer, Glenn Miller, Dinah Shore, Jack Teagarden and Paul Whiteman.