Tag Archives: October 2

On October 2, 2018.

On October 2, 2018, Geoffrey Emerick died aged 72. He was recording studio audio engineer and producer, worked with America, Elvis Costello, Badfinger, Art Garfunkel, Jeff Beck, Gino Vannelli, Supertramp, Cheap Trick, Nazareth, Chris Bell, Split Enz, Trevor Rabin, Nick Heyward, Big Country, Gentle Giant, Mahavishnu Orchestra, Ultravox, Matthew Fisher, Kate Bush, Nellie McKay and Robin Trower, but he was best known for his work with The Beatles, on their albums Revolver, Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band, The Beatles and Abbey Road. For his work in the music recording field, Emerick won “European Edison Award” and four “Grammy Awards”.


On October 2, 2012..

On October 2, 2012, “Verve” label released “Glad Rag Doll”, the eleventh Diana Krall studio album. It was recorded in 2012, at “Avatar Studios” in New York City, “The Village” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Diana Krall and T-Bone Burnett.


  • Diana Krall – vocals, piano
  • Marc Ribot – electric and acoustic guitars, banjo, 6 string bass
  • Colin Linden – electric guitar, dobro
  • Bryan Sutton – electric, acoustic and baritone guitar
  • Howard Coward (Elvis Costello) – tenor guitar, ukulele, mandola, background vocals
  • Keefus Ciancia – keyboards
  • Dennis Crouch – acoustic guitar, bass
  • Jay Bellerose – drums
  • T Bone Burnett – electric guitar
  • Mike Piersante – recording, editing
  • Gavin Lurssen – mastering
  • Bob Mallory, Vanessa Parr – 2nd engineer
  • Tom Perme – technician
  • Zachary Dawes – mixing assistant
  • Ivy Skoff – production coordination
  • Edwin Fotheringham – illustrations
  • Mark Seliger, Ruth Levy – photographer
  • Colleen Atwood – stylist
  • Christine Cantella – style assistant
  • Danilo – hair stylist
  • Patti Dubroff – make-up

Track listing

  1. We Just Couldn’t Say Goodbye – Harry M. Woods
  2. There Ain’t No Sweet Man That’s Worth the Salt of My Tears – Fred Fishe
  3. Just Like a Butterfly That’s Caught in the Rain – Mort Dixon, Harry M. Woods
  4. You Know – I Know Ev’rything’s Made for Love – Howard E. Johnson, Al Sherman, Charles Tobias
  5. Glad Rag Doll – Milton Ager, Dan Dougherty, Jack Yellen
  6. I’m a Little Mixed Up – Betty James, Edward Johnson
  7. Prairie Lullaby – Billy Hil
  8. Here Lies Love – Ralph Rainger, Leo Robin
  9. I Used to Love You But It’s All Over Now – Lew Brown, Albert Von Tilzer
  10. Let It Rain – Hal Dyson, James Kendis
  11. Lonely Avenue – Doc Pomus
  12. Wide River to Cross – Julie Miller, Steven P. Miller
  13. When the Curtain Comes Down – Carl Hoefle, Al Lewis, Al Sherman

On October 2, 2006.

On October 2, 2006, “Island” label released ”Sam’s Town”, the second Killers studio album. It was recorded February – June 2006, at “Studio at the Palms” in Paradise, Nevada, “Criterion Studios” in London, and was produced by Flood, Alan Moulder, Brandon Flowers, Dave Keuning, Mark Stoermer and Ronnie Vannucci, Jr.


  • Brandon Flowers – lead vocals, keyboards, bass
  • Dave Keuning – lead and rhythm guitar, backing vocals
  • Mark Stoermer – bass, rhythm guitar, backing vocals
  • Ronnie Vannucci, Jr. – drums, percussion
  • Adrina Hanson, Maryam Haddad, Tristan Moyer – strings
  • Tommy Marth – saxophone
  • Neeraj Khajanchi – trombone
  • Jake – keyboards, trumpet
  • Corlene Byrd, Louis XIV – background vocals
  • Max Dingel, Mark Gray – engineering
  • Flood, Alan Moulder – engineering, mixing
  • Andy Savours – mixing
  • Howie Weinberg – mastering
  • Andy West – art direction, design
  • Suzanne Hackett Morgan – painting
  • Anton Corbijn – photography
  • Doug Joswick – package production

Track listing

  1. Sam’s Town – Brandon Flowers
  2. Enterlude – Brandon Flowers
  3. When You Were Young – Brandon Flowers, Dave Keuning, Mark Stoermer, Ronnie Vannucci Jr.
  4. Bling (Confession of a King) – Brandon Flowers, Mark Stoermer
  5. For Reasons Unknown – Brandon Flowers
  6. Read My Mind – Brandon Flowers, Dave Keuning, Mark Stoermer
  7. Uncle Jonny – Brandon Flowers, Dave Keuning, Mark Stoermer
  8. Bones – Brandon Flowers, Mark Stoermer, Ronnie Vannucci Jr.
  9. My List – Brandon Flowers
  10. This River Is Wild – Brandon Flowers, Mark Stoermer
  11. Why Do I Keep Counting? – Brandon Flowers
  12. Exitlude – Brandon Flowers

On October 2, 2017.

On October 2, 2017, Thomas Earl Petty aka Tom Petty, died aged 66. He was singer, songwriter, multi instrumentalist and record producer, best known as the leader and singer of Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers. He was also member and co-founder of the Traveling Wilburys and his early band Mudcrutch. Tom Petty has sold more than 80 million albums worldwide, becoming one of the best-selling music artists of all time. In 2002, he was inducted into the “Rock and Roll Hall of Fame”.

On October 2, 2012.

On October 2, 2012, “Blue Note” label released “Born to Sing: No Plan B”, the 34th Van Morrison studio album. It was recorded in 2012, in Belfast, Northern Ireland, and was produced by Van Morrison.


  • Van Morrison– alto saxophone, electric guitar, piano, vocals
  • Paul Moran – Hammond organ, trumpet, piano, keyboards
  • Alistair White – trombone
  • Chris White– tenor saxophone, clarinet
  • Dave Keary – guitar, acoustic guitar, slide guitar
  • Paul Moore – bass
  • Jeff Lardner – drums, percussion
  • Enda Walsh – recording, mixing
  • Tim Young – mastering
  • Paddy Johnston – personal assistant

Track listing:

All tracks by Van Morrison.

  1. Open the Door (To Your Heart)
  2. Going Down to Monte Carlo
  3. Born to Sing
  4. End of the Rainbow
  5. Close Enough for Jazz
  6. Mystic of the East
  7. Retreat and View
  8. If in Money We Trust
  9. Pagan Heart
  10. Educating Archie

On October 2, 2009.

On October 2, 2009, “Cherrytree” label released “Humanoid”, the third Tokio Hotel studio album. It was recorded 2008 – 2009, and was produced by Tom Kaulitz, Bill Kaulitz, David Roth, Patrick Benzner, David Jost and Peter Hoffmann.


  • Bill Kaulitz- lead vocals
  • Tom Kaulitz – guitar, piano, backing vocals
  • Georg Listing – bass guitar, keyboards, backing vocals
  • Gustav Schäfer – drums, percussion, backing vocals
  • Executive producers: Patrick Benzner, Dave Roth, David Jost, Peter Hoffman
  • Co-producers: Bill Kaulitz; Tom Kaulitz

Track listing:

All tracks by Bill Kaulitz, Tom Kaulitz, except where noted.

  1. Komm
  2. Sonnensystem
  3. Automatisch
  4. Lass uns laufen
  5. Hunaboid
  6. Für immer jetzt
  7. Kampf der Liebe
  8. Hunde
  9. Menschen suchen Menschen
  10. Alien
  11. Geisterfahrer
  12. Zoom – Bill Kaulitz, Tom Kaulitz, Desmond Child, Blakeman




On October 2, 2007.

On October 2, 2007, “Fantasy” label released “Revival”, the seventh John Fogerty solo album. It was recorded in 2007, at “NRG Recording Studios” in Hollywood, “G Studio Digital” and “Studio City” in California, and “Sound Studio” in Frankfurt, Germany, and was produced by John Fogerty.


  • John Fogerty– vocals, guitar, lyrics, arrangement
  • Hunter Perrin – guitar
  • Benmont Tench– Hammond B-3 organ, Wurlitzer electric piano
  • David Santos – bass guitar
  • Kenny Aronoff– drums, percussion
  • Julia Waters, Maxine Waters, Oren Waters – backing vocals
  • Recorded by Jim Scott, Seth Presant, Ryan Freeland
  • Assistant engineers: Keven Dean, Dave Colvin
  • Mixedby Jim Scott , John Fogerty
  • Masteredby Robert Ludwig

Track listing:

All songs written by John Fogerty.

  1. Don’t You Wish It Was True
  2. Gunslinger
  3. Creedence Song
  4. Broken Down Cowboy
  5. River Is Waiting
  6. Long Dark Night
  7. Summer of Love
  8. Natural Thing
  9. It Ain’t Right
  10. I Can’t Take It No More
  11. Somebody Help Me
  12. Longshot