Tag Archives: 1983

In February 1984.

In February 1984, “Atlantic” label released “Parting Should Be Painless”, the fifth Roger Daltrey studio album. It was recorded in 1983, and was produced by Mike Thorne.


  • Roger Daltrey – leadand background vocals; harmonica
  • Chris Spedding– guitars
  • Mick Gallagher– keyboards
  • Allan Schwartzberg– drums
  • Norman Watt-Roy– bass guitar
  • Michael Brecker– tenor saxophone
  • Mike Thorne– synthesizers
  • Robert Medici – marimba
  • David Tofani – clarinet
  • Billy Nicholls– backing vocals
  • James Biondolillo – string and horn arrangements
  • Harvey Goldberg, John Brand, Don Wershba, Lincoln Clapp – engineer
  • Graham Hughes – photography

Track listing:

  1. Walking in My Sleep – Jack Green, Leslie Adey
  2. Parting Should Be Painless – Kit Hain
  3. Is There Anybody Out There? – Nicky Chinn, Steve Glen
  4. Would a Stranger Do? – Steve Andrews, Simon Climie
  5. Going Strong – Bryan Ferry
  6. Looking for You – Kit Hain
  7. Somebody Told Me – Annie Lennox, Dave Stewart
  8. One Day – Gerald Milne
  9. How Does the Cold Wind Cry – Colin Towns
  10. Don’t Wait on the Stairs – Steve Swindells

In February 1983.

In February 1983, “Arista” label released “Quick Step & Side Kick”, the third Thompson Twins studio album. It was recorded 1982 – 1983, and was produced by Alex Sadkin. The album was certified Platinum in UK by “BPI”.


  • Tom Bailey- vocals, synthesizer, drum programming
  • Alannah Currie– vocals, xylophone, percussion
  • Joe Leeway– vocals, congas, synthesizer
  • Boris Williams- cymbals
  • Grace Jones- background vocals
  • Monte Brown – guitar
  • Phil Thornalley – engineer

Track listing:

  1. Love On Your Side
  2. Lies
  3. If You Were Here
  4. Judy Do
  5. Tears
  6. Watching
  7. We Are Detective
  8. Kamikaze
  9. Love Lies Bleeding
  10. All Fall Out

In January 1984.

In January 1984, “Urantia” label released “Flex-Able”, the debut Steve Vai solo album. It was recorded April–November, 1983, and was produced by Steve Vai.


  • Steve Vai– synthesizer, bass, guitar, percussion, piano, electric guitar, keyboards, sitar, vocals, bells, producer, engineer, drum machine, drum programming, design, mixing
  • Scott Collard – synthesizer, keyboards, Fender Rhodes
  • Larry Crane – lyre, xylophone, bells, vibraphone
  • Greg Degler – clarinet, flute, saxophone
  • Joe Despagni – sound effects
  • Laurel Fishman – vocals
  • Peggy Foster – bass
  • Chris Frazier– drums
  • Stuart Hamm– bass, sound effects, vocals
  • Bob Harris – trumpet, vocals (as Irney Rantin)
  • Suzannah Harris (as Ursula Rayven) – vocals
  • Billy James– percussion, drums
  • Paul Lemcke – keyboards
  • Pia Maiocco– vocals
  • Tommy Mars– violin, keyboards, vocals
  • Lill Vai – sound effects
  • Chad Wackerman– drums
  • Pete Zeldman – percussion, drums
  • Aaron Brown – design, illustrations
  • John Matousek – mastering
  • Mark Pinske – assistant
  • Neil Zlozower – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Steve Vai.

  1. Little Green Men
  2. Viv Woman
  3. Lovers Are Crazy
  4. Salamanders in the Sun
  5. The Boy/Girl Song
  6. The Attitude Song
  7. Call It Sleep
  8. Junkie
  9. Bill’s Private Parts
  10. Next Stop Earth
  11. There’s Something Dead in Here


In January 1983.

In January 1983, “SST” label released “What Makes a Man Start Fires?”, the second Minutemen studio album. It was recorded July – August 1982, and was produced by Spot.


  • Boon- guitar, lead vocals
  • Mike Watt- bass, backing vocals
  • George Hurley- drums, oil drums
  • Joe Baiza – additional guitar

Track listing:

  1. Bob Dylan Wrote Propaganda Songs – Mike Watt
  2. One Chapter in the Book – Mike Watt
  3. Fake Contest – Mike Watt
  4. Beacon Sighted Through Fog – Mike Watt
  5. Mutiny in Jonestown – Boon, Mike Watt
  6. East Wind/Faith – George Hurley, Mike Watt
  7. Pure Joy – George Hurley, Mike Watt
  8. 99 – George Hurley, Mike Watt
  9. The Anchor – George Hurley, Mike Watt
  10. Sell or Be Sold – Boon, Mike Watt
  11. The Only Minority – Boon, Mike Watt
  12. Split Red – Boon, Mike Watt
  13. Colors – Boon, Mike Watt
  14. Plight – Boon, Mike Watt
  15. The Tin Roof – Mike Watt
  16. Life as a Rehearsal – Mike Watt
  17. This Road – Mike Watt
  18. Polarity – Mike Watt

On January 18, 1983.

On January 18, 1983, “A&M” label released “Cuts Like a Knife”, the third Bryan Adams studio album. It was recorded August – October 1982, at “Little Mountain Sound” in  Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, and was produced by Bob Clearmountain and Bryan Adams.


  • Bryan Adams– vocals, guitars, piano
  • Mickey Curry– drums
  • Tommy Mandel– organ, B-3 organ, synthesizers, piano
  • Keith Scott– guitars, background vocals
  • Dave Taylor– bass guitar, background vocals
  • Bruce Allen(credited as “B.A.”) – background vocals
  • Alfa Anderson – background vocals
  • Bob Clearmountain(credited as “B.C.”), Davies, L. Frenette, Lou Gramm, M. Simpson – background vocals
  • Jim Vallance– percussion, electric piano
  • Jim Wesley – background vocals
  • James O’Mara – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Bryan Adams and Jim Vallance except where noted.

  1. The Only One
  2. Take Me Back
  3. This Time
  4. Straight from the Heart – Bryan Adams, Eric Kagna
  5. Cuts Like a Knife
  6. I’m Ready
  7. What’s It Gonna Be
  8. Don’t Leave Me Lonely – Bryan Adams, Jim Vallance, Eric Carr
  9. Let Him Know
  10. The Best Was Yet to Come


On January 9, 1984.

On January 9, 1984, “Warner Bros” label released 1984 (stylized as MCMLXXXIV on the album’s cover), sixth Van Halen studio album. It was recorded in 1983, at “5150 Studios” in Studio City, California, and was produced by Ted Templeman. The album cover art was by Margo Nahas.  The album was certified 5 x Platinum in Canada by “Music Canada’, Platinum in Germany by “BVMI”, and Diamond in US by the “RIIA”.


  • David Lee Roth– vocals
  • Eddie Van Halen– guitars, keyboards, background vocals
  • Alex Van Halen– drums, background vocals
  • Michael Anthony– bass guitar, background vocals
  • Ken Deane, Donn Landee– engineering
  • Chris Bellman, Gregg Geller – mastering
  • Jo Motta – project coordination
  • Joan Parker – production coordination
  • Pete Angelus, Richard Seireeni – art direction
  • Margo Nahas – cover art
  • Pete Angelus – lighting

Track listing:

All tracks by Eddie Van Halen, Alex Van Halen, Michael Anthony and David Lee Roth, except where noted.

  1. 1984
  2. Jump
  3. Panama
  4. Top Jimmy
  5. Drop Dead Legs
  6. Hot for Teacher
  7. I’ll Wait – Eddie Van Halen, Alex Van Halen, Michael Anthony, David Lee Roth, Michael McDonald
  8. Girl Gone Bad
  9. House of Pain

On December 22, 2014.

On December 22, 2014, John Robert “Joe” Cocker, died aged 70. He was singer and musician, with unique gritty voice and stage movements. He gained world popularity with his performance of the Beatles song “With a Little Help from My Friends” at  “Woodstock”  and “Isle of Wight” festivals in 1969. Cocker has received several awards, including a 1983 “Grammy Award” for his song “Up Where We Belong”;  2007 a bronze “Sheffield Legends” plaque in his hometown and in 2008 “OBE” at Buckingham Palace for services to music. Magazine “Rolling Stone” ranked him at number 97 on its list of the “100 Greatest Singers”.