Tag Archives: May 25

On May 25, 2015.

On May 25, 2015, “Columbia” label released “English Graffiti”, the third Vaccines studio album. It was recorded 2013-2014, and was produced by Justin Young, Freddie Cowan, Arni Arnason, Pete Robertson, Dave Fridmann and Cole M. Greif-Neill.


  • Justin Young—vocals, rhythm guitar
  • Freddie Cowan—lead guitar
  • Arni Arnason—bass guitar
  • Pete Robertson—drums

Track listing:

All lyrics by Justin Hayward-Young, all music by Justin Young, Freddie Cowan, Arni Arnason and Pete Robertson.

  1. Handsome
  2. Dream Lover
  3. Minimal Affection
  4. 20/20
  5. (All Afternoon) In Love
  6. Denial
  7. Want You So Bad
  8. Radio Bikini
  9. Maybe I Could Hold You
  10. Give Me a Sign
  11. Undercover

On May 25, 2015.

On May 25, 2015, “earMUSIC” label released “Kablammo!”, the sixth Ash studio album. It was recorded in 2015 at “Atomic Heart Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Claudius Mittendorfer, Tim Wheeler, Mark Hamilton and Rick McMurray.


  • Tim Wheeler– vocals, guitars, piano, keyboards
  • Mark Hamilton – bass
  • Rick McMurray – drums, percussion
  • Leanne Macoomber, Laura Mittendorfer, Danielle Johnson – cheerleaders
  • Neil Martin – cello

Track listing:

All tracks by Tim Wheeler except where noted.

  1. Cocoon
  2. Let’s Ride
  3. Machinery
  4. Free
  5. Go! Fight! Win!
  6. Moondust
  7. Evel Knievel
  8. Hedonism
  9. Dispatch – Mark Hamilton, Tim Wheeler
  10. Shutdown
  11. For Eternity
  12. Bring Back the Summer


On May 25, 2012.

On May 25, 2012, “Infectious Music” label released “An Awesome Wave”, the debut Alt-J studio album. It was recorded in 2011, at “Iguana Studio” in London, and was produced by Charlie Andrew and Mark Bishop. The album certified Platinum in UK by the “BPI”.


  • Rachael Lander – cello
  • Kirsty Mangan – string arrangements; violin
  • St Ronan’s Chamber Choir– additional vocals
  • Dick Beetham – mastering
  • European Space Agency– cover photo provider

Track listing:

All tracks by Joe Newman, Gus Unger-Hamilton, Gwilym Sainsbury and Thom Green.

  1. Intro
  2. ❦ [The Ripe & Ruin]
  3. Tessellate
  4. Breezeblocks
  5. ❦ [Guitar]
  6. Something Good
  7. Dissolve Me
  8. Matilda
  9. Ms
  10. Fitzpleasure
  11. ❦ [Piano]
  12. Bloodflood
  13. Taro (ends at 5:04; hidden track Hand-Made starts at 10:04 following 5:00 of silence)

On May 25, 1984.

Eric Gale

On May 25, 1984, Eric J. Gale died aged 55. Being jazz and session guitarist, as a leader he recorded twelve albums, and has performed and recorded with some of the biggest names of the music scene, including Clark Terry, Oliver Nelson, Jimmy McGriff, Benny Golson, Van Morrison, Bernard Purdie, Herbie Mann, Yusuf Lateef, Chico Hamilton, Sonny Stitt, Quincy Jones, Al Kooper, Lena Horn, Gabor Szabo, Freddie Hubbard, Dizzy Gillespie, Esther Philips, Chuck Rainey, Johnny Hammond, Stanley Turrentine,  David Newman, Hank Crawford, Grover Washington, Jr., Roberta Flack, Stanley Turrentine, Hubert Laws, Bob James, Joe Higgs, Van McCoy, Ron Carter, George Benson, Phil Upchurch, Tom Scott, Idris Muhammad, Ashford & Simpson, Cedar Walton, Stanley Turrentine, Blood, Sweat & Tears,  Paul Butterfield, Joe Cocker, Lalo Schifrin, Randy Crawford, Rainbow, Lalo Schifrin, Patti Austin, Maynard Ferguson, Ralph MacDonald, Essra Mohawk, Carla Bley, Pee Wee Ellis, Art Farmer, Tom Scott, Jeremy Steig, Joe Farrell, Kenny Loggins, David Matthews and David Ruffin.

On May 25, 2009.


On May 25, 2009, “Astralwerks” label released “Préliminaires”, the fifteenth Iggy Pop  studio album. It was recorded in 2009 in Miami, Florida and Woodstock, New York, and was produced by Hal Cragin. The album was inspired by Michel Houellebecq’s novel “La Possibilité d’une île” (The Possibility of an Island).


  • Iggy Pop – vocals, concept, guitar on “He’s Dead, She’s Alive”
  • Hal Cragin – bass, guitar, percussion, keyboards, drum programming
  • Kevin Hupp – drums, congas
  • Jon Cowherd– piano on
  • Tim Ouimette – trumpet
  • Marc Phaneuf- clarinet
  • Lucie Aimé – vocals
  • Clarence L. Banks – trombone

Track listing:

  1. Les feuilles mortes – music by Joseph Kosma, lyrics by Jacques Prévert
  2. I Want to Go to the Beach – Iggy Pop
  3. King of The Dogs – Lil Armstrong, Iggy Pop
  4. Je sais que tu sais – Lucie Aimé, Hal Cragin, Iggy Pop
  5. Spanish Coast – Hal Cragin, Iggy Pop
  6. Nice to Be Dead – Hal Cragin, Iggy Pop
  7. How Insensitive – Vinicius De Moraes, Ray Gilbert, Antônio Carlos Jobim
  8. Party Time – Hal Cragin, Iggy Pop
  9. He’s Dead / She’s Alive- Iggy Pop
  10. A Machine for Loving – Hal Cragin, Michel Houellebecq, Iggy Pop; English translation by Gavin Bowd
  11. She’s a Business – Hal Cragin, Iggy Pop
  12. Les feuilles mortes (Marc’s Theme) – music by Joseph Kosma; lyrics by Jacques Prévert




On May 25, 1993.


On May 25, 1993, “Reprise” label released “Kamakiriad”, the second Donald Fagen solo album. It was recorded 1990 – 1993, and was produced by Walter Becker.


  • Donald Fagen- keyboards, vocals
  • Walter Becker- bass, lead guitar
  • Randy Brecker- trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Cornelius Bumpus- tenor saxophone
  • Frank “Harmonica Frank” Floyd – background vocals
  • Diane Garisto – background vocals
  • Paul Griffin- Hammond organ
  • Amy Helm – background vocals
  • Bashiri Johnson – percussion
  • Birch Johnson – trombone
  • Mindy Jostyn – background vocals
  • Brenda King – background vocals
  • Curtis King – background vocals
  • Angela Clemmons-Patrick – background vocals
  • Leroy Clouden – percussion, drums
  • Ronnie Cuber- baritone saxophone
  • Lawrence Feldman – flute, tenor saxophone
  • Lou Marini- clarinet, flute, alto saxophone
  • Dennis McDermott – drums
  • Jenni Muldaur – background vocals
  • Christopher Parker – drums
  • Jim Pugh – trombone
  • Tim Ries – tenor saxophone
  • Roger Rosenberg – baritone saxophone
  • Alan Rubin – trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Catherine Russell- background vocals
  • Dian Sorel – background vocals
  • Fonzi Thornton- background vocals
  • David Tofani- flute, tenor saxophone
  • Georg Wadenius– guitar
  • Engineers: Phil Burnett, David Michael Dill, Tom Fritze, Andy Grassi, Troy Halderson, Bob Mitchel, John Neff, Roger Nichols, Dave Russell, Jay A. Ryan, Tony Volante, Wayne Yurgelun
  • Mastering: Scott Hull, Glenn Meadows
  • Sample editing: Craig Siegal
  • Digital technician: Phil Burnett
  • Digital delay: Craig Siegal
  • Horn arrangements, rhythm arrangements: Donald Fagen
  • Design: Carol Bobolts
  • Photography: James Hamilton
  • Liner notes: Donald Fagen, Tim White

Track listing:

  1. Trans-Island Skyway – Donald Fagen
  2. Countermoon – Donald Fagen
  3. Springtime – Donald Fagen
  4. Snowbound – Walter Becker, Donald Fagen
  5. Tomorrow’s Girls – Donald Fagen
  6. Florida Room – Donald Fagen, Libby Titus
  7. On the Dunes – Donald Fagen
  8. Teahouse on the Tracks – Donald Fagen


On May 25, 1978.


On May 25, 1978, “Harvest” label released the debut, self-titled album by David Gilmour. It was recorded February – March 1978, at “Super Bear Studios” in France, and was produced by David Gilmour. The album was certified Gold in the US by the “RIAA”.


  • David Gilmour– lead vocals; electric and acoustic guitars; keyboards; lap steel guitar; piano; harmonica, cover design
  • Rick Wills– bass guitar; backing vocals
  • Willie Wilson– drums; percussion
  • Mick Weaver– piano
  • Carlena Williams – backing vocals
  • Debbie Doss – backing vocals
  • Shirley Roden – backing vocals
  • Hipgnosis– cover design; photography

Track listing:

All tracks by David Gilmour, except where noted.

  1. Mihalis
  2. There’s No Way Out of here – Ken Barker
  3. Cry from the Street – David Gilmour, Eric Stuart
  4. So Far Away
  5. Short and Sweet – David Gilmour, Roy Harper
  6. Raise My Rent
  7. No Way
  8. It’s Definitely
  9. I Can’t Breathe Anymore