Tag Archives: Chrysalis

In September 1972.

In September 1972, “Chrysalis” label released “Below the Salt”, the fourth Steeleye Span studio album. It was recorded May – June 1972, at “Sound Techniques” in London, and was produced by Jerry Boys, Maddy Prior, Tim Hart, Peter Knight, Rick Kemp and Bob Johnson.


  • Maddy Prior- vocals
  • Tim Hart- vocals, appalachian dulcimer, guitar
  • Peter Knight- violin, viola, mandolin, banjo, piano, vocals
  • Rick Kemp- bass, drum, vocals
  • Bob Johnson- guitar, vocals

Track listing:

All tracks are traditional, adapted by Maddy Prior, Tim Hart, Peter Knight, Rick Kemp and Bob Johnson.

  1. Spotted Cow
  2. Rosebud in June
  3. Jigs: The Bride’s Favourite/Tansey’s Fancy
  4. Sheep-crook and Black Dog
  5. Royal Forester
  6. King Henry
  7. Gaudete
  8. John Barleycorn
  9. Saucy Sailor

In August 1979.

On August 27, 1979, “Chrysalis” label released “In the Heat of the Night” the debut Pat Benatar studio album. It was recorded June – July 1979, at “MCA Whitney Studios” in Glendale, California, and was produced by Peter Coleman and Mike Chapman.The album was certified 4 x Platinum in Canada by “CRIA” and Platinum in US by the “RIIA”.


  • Pat Benatar– lead and backing vocals
  • Neil Giraldo– lead guitar, keyboards, slide guitar, backing vocals
  • Scott St. Clair Sheets – rhythm guitars
  • Roger Capps – bass, backing vocals
  • Glen Alexander Hamilton – drums
  • Steve Hall – mastering
  • Rick Newman – management, direction

Track listing:

  1. Heartbreaker – Geoff Gill, Clint Wade
  2. I Need a Lover – John Mellencamp
  3. If You Think You Know How To Love Me – Mike Chapman, Nicky Chinn
  4.  In the Heat of the Night – Mike Chapman, Nicky Chinn
  5. My Clone Sleeps Alone – Roger Capps,  Pat Benatar
  6. We Live for Love – Neil Giraldo
  7.    Rated X – Nick Gilder, James McCulloch
  8.    Don’t Let It Show – Alan Parsons, Eric Woolfson
  9.    No You Don’t – Mike Chapman, Nicky Chinn
  10.  So Sincere – Roger Capps, Pat Benatar

In August 1971.

In August 1971, “Chrysalis” label released “A Space in Time”, the sixthTen Years After studio album. It was recorded in 1971, at “Olympic Studios” in London, and was produced by Chris Wright.


  • Alvin Lee– guitar, vocals, back cover photography
  • Leo Lyons– bass
  • Ric Lee– drums
  • Chick Churchill– keyboards
  • Engineer – Chris Kimsey
  • String arrangement by Del Newman
  • Front cover photograph – Ed Caraeff
  • Executive producer – Chris Wright

Track listing:

All tracks by Alvin Lee except “Uncle Jam”, by Chick Churchill, Alvin Lee, Ric Lee and Leo Lyons.

  1. One of These Days
  2. Here They Come
  3. I’d Love to Change the World
  4. Over the Hill
  5. Baby Won’t You Let Me Rock ‘n’ Roll You
  6. Once There Was a Time
  7. Let the Sky Fall
  8. Hard Monkeys
  9. I’ve Been There Too
  10. Uncle Jam


In July 1983.

In July 1981, “Chrysalis” label released the debut, self-titled Waterboys album. It was recorded December 1981 – November 1982, at “Redshop Studios” in London, “Farmyard Studios” in Little Chalfont, Buckinghamshire, and was produced by Mike Scott and Rupert Hine. The album cover photograph was by Panny Charrington and design was by Stephanie Nash.


  • Mike Scott– vocals, piano, guitar, 12-string “bellzouki” guitar, bass guitar, mandolin
  • Anthony Thistlethwaite– saxophone, bass, mandolin, drums
  • Kevin Wilkinson– drums
  • Delahaye (alias of Mike Scott) – organ
  • Nick Linden – bass guitar, background vocals
  • Norman Rodger – bass guitar
  • Ray Massey – drums
  • Stephen W Tayler– bass, keyboards
  • Jason Stokes, Jim Preen, Stephen W Tayler – engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Mike Scott.

  1. December
  2. A Girl Called Johnny
  3. The Three Day Man
  4. Gala
  5. I Will Not Follow
  6. It Should Have Been You
  7. The Girl in the Swing
  8. Savage Earth Heart

In July 1975.

In July 1975, “Chrysalis” label released “Force It”, the fourth UFO studio album. It was recorded in 1975, at “Morgan Studios”, “Wessex Sound Studios” in London, and was produced by Leo Lyons. The cover art was by Hipgnosis.

• Phil Mogg – vocals
• Michael Schenker – guitar
• Pete Way – bass
• Andy Parker – drums
• Chick Churchill – keyboards
• Leo LyonsMike Bobak, Mike Thompson – engineers

Track listing:
All tracks by Michael Schenker and Phil Mogg, except where noted.
1. Let It Roll
2. Shoot Shoot – Michael Schenker, Phil Moog, Pete Way, Andy Parker
3. High Flyer
4. Love Lost Love
5. Out in the Street – Pete Way, Phil Moog
6. Mother Mary – Michael Schenker, Phil Moog, Pete Way, Andy Parker
7. Too Much of Nothing
8. Dance Your Life Away
9. This Kid’s” (including “Between the Walls”, written by Michael Schenker)


In June 1978.

In June 1978, “Chrysalis” label released “Obsession”, the seventh UFO studio  album. It was recorded 1977 – 1978 at “C.P. McGregors” in Los Angeles and “West 3rd Carrier Station” in Beverley Hills, with “The Record Plant Mobile”, and was produced by Ron Nevison.


  • Phil Mogg- vocals
  • Michael Schenker- lead guitar, recorder
  • Paul Raymond- rhythm guitar, keyboards, backing vocals
  • Pete Way- bass
  • Andy Parker– drums
  • Mike Clink- assistant engineer
  • Alan McMillan – conductor, string arrangements, string conductor
  • Hipgnosis- cover art

Track listing:

  1. Only You Can Rock Me – Pete Way, Michael Schenker, Phil Mogg
  2. Pack It Up (And Go) – Pete Way, Michael Schenker, Phil Mogg
  3. Arbory Hill – Michael Schenker
  4. Ain’t No Baby – Phil Mogg, Paul Raymond
  5. Lookin’ Out for No. 1 – Phil Mogg, Paul Raymond
  6. Hot ‘n’ Ready – Michael Schenker, Phil Mogg
  7. Cherry – Pete Way, Phil Mogg
  8. You Don’t Fool Me – Paul Raymond, Andy Parker, Phil Mogg
  9. Lookin’ Out for No. 1″ (reprise) – Michael Schenker, Paul Raymond
  10. One More for the Rodeo – Pete Way, Phil Mogg
  11. Born to Lose – Michael Schenker, Phil Mogg, Paul Raymond

In June 1977.

In June 1977, “Chrysalis” label released “Full House”, the fourth Frankie Miller studio album. It was recorded in 1976, and was produced by Chris Thomas.


  • Frankie Miller – vocals, rhythm guitar
  • Ray Minhinnet – lead guitar
  • Chrissy Stewart – bass guitar
  • Jim Hall – piano, organ
  • Graham Deakin– drums
  • Chris Spedding– guitar
  • Rabbit, Gary Brooker– keyboards
  • The Memphis Horns- horn section
  • Engineered bySteve Nye
  • Assisted by Nigel Walker
  • Orchestral arrangements by Peter Knight

Track listing:

All tracks by Frankie Miller; except where noted.

  1. Be Good to Yourself – Andy Fraser
  2. The Doodle Song
  3. Jealous Guy – John Lennon
  4. Searching – Peter Knight,Bob Johnson
  5. Love Letters – Edward Heyman,Victor Young
  6. Take Good Care of Yourself – Jimmy Doris
  7. Down the Honky Tonk
  8. This Love of Mine – Frankie Miller,Robin Trower
  9. Let the Candlelight Shine
  10. (I’ll Never) Live in Vain