Tag Archives: Dick Kunc

Jean-Lyc Ponty: King Kong: Jean-Lyc Ponty Plays the Music of Frank Zappa

On May 25, 1970, “World Pacific” and “Liberty” labels released “King Kong: Jean-Luc Ponty Plays the Music of Frank Zappa”, the sixth Jean-Luc Ponty album. It was recorded in October 1969, at “Whitney Studios” in Glendale, California, and was produced by Richard Bock. 


  • Jean-Luc Ponty – electric violin, baritone violectra
  • Frank Zappa – electric guitar, arrangements, conductor
  • George Duke – acoustic and electric piano
  • Buell Neidlinger – double bass 
  • Wilton Felder – Fender Precision electric bass 
  • John Guerin – drums 
  • Arthur Dyer Tripp III – drums 
  • Gene Estes – vibraphone, percussion
  • Ernie Watts – alto and tenor saxophone
  • Ian Underwood – tenor saxophone, orchestra conductor
  • Gene Cipriano – oboe, English horn
  • Arthur Maebe – French horn, tuba 
  • Vincent DeRosa – descant recorder, French horn, descant 
  • Jonathan Meyer – flute
  • Donald Christlieb – bassoon
  • Milton Thomas – viola
  • Harold Bemko – cello
  • Gerald Wilson – conductor
  • Ian Underwood – conductor
  • Dick Kunc – engineer
  • Ron Wolin – art direction, design
  • Leonard Feather – liner notes

Track listing:

All tracks by Frank Zappa, except where noted.

  1. King Kong
  2. Idiot Bastard Son
  3. Twenty Small Cigars
  4. How Would You Like to Have a Head Like That – Jean-Luc Ponty
  5. Music for Electric Violin and Low-Budget Orchestra
  6. America Drinks and Goes Home

Mothers of Invention: We’re Only in for the Money

We're in it

On March 4, 1968, “Verve” label released “We’re Only in It for the Money”, the third Mothers of Invention studio album. It was recorded from March to October 1967, at “Capitol Studios” in Los Angeles; “Mayfair and Apostolic Studios” in New York, and was produced by Frank Zappa.


  • Frank Zappa – lead vocals, guitar, piano, weirdness, editing
  • Jimmy Carl Black –vocals, Indian of the group, drums, trumpet
  • Roy Estrada – vocals, electric bass, asthma
  • Billy Mundi – vocals, drums, yak & black lace underwear
  • Don Preston– retired
  • Bunk Gardner – all woodwinds, mumbled weirdness
  • Ian Underwood – piano, woodwinds, wholesome
  • Euclid James “Motorhead” Sherwood – baritone and soprano saxophone, all purpose weirdness & teen appeal
  • Suzy Creamcheese(Pamela Zarubica) – telephone voice
  • Pamela Zarubica – vocals
  • Dick Barber – snorks
  • Eric Clapton– male speaking part
  • Gary Kellgren– “the one doing all the creepy whispering”
  • Spider Barbour – vocals
  • Dick Kunc – “cheerful interruptions” vocal
  • Vicki Kellgren – additional telephone vocals
  • Ronnie Williams – backwards voice
  • Sid Sharp – conductor

Track listing:

All tracks by Frank Zappa

  1. Are You Hung Up
  2. Who Needs the Peace Corps
  3. Concentration Moon
  4. Mom & Dad
  5. Bow tie Daddy
  6. Harry, You’re a Beast
  7. What’s the Ugliest Part of Your Body?
  8. Absolutely Free
  9. Flower Punk
  10. Hot Poop
  11. Nasal Retentive Calliope Music
  12. Let’s Make the Water Turn Black
  13. The Idiot Bastard Son
  14. It’s His Voice on the Radio
  15. Take Your Clothes off When You Dance
  16. What’s the Ugliest Part of Your Body (reprise)
  17. Mother People
  18. The Chrome Plated Megaphone of Destiny