Tag Archives: Gypsy

In November 1972.

In November 1972, “Warner Bros” and “Reprise” labels released “Not till Tomorrow”, the sixth Ralph McTell album released in UK. It was recorded in 1972, and was produced by Tony Visconti.


  • Ralph McTell– lead vocals, guitar, piano, organ, harmonica
  • Tony Visconti– sitar, organ, recorder, background vocals
  • Mary Visconti (Mary Hopkin)– background vocals
  • Danny Thompson– double bass
  • Laurie Allan– percussion
  • Victor Gamm – recording engineer
  • Seabrook/Graves/Aslett – sleeve art direction
  • Kelvin McGowan – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Ralph McTell.

  1. Zimmerman Blues
  2. First Song
  3. When I Was a Cowboy
  4. Nettle Wine
  5. Sylvia
  6. Birdman
  7. Barges
  8. Standing Down in New York Town
  9. Another Rain Has Fallen
  10. This Time of Night
  11. Gypsy

In October 1970.

In October 1970, “Decca” label released “Looking In”, the sixth Savoy Brown album. It was recorded in 1970, at “Recorded Sound Studios” in London, and was produced by Kim Simmonds.


  • Kim Simmonds—guitar, piano
  • Lonesome Dave—vocals, guitar
  • Roger Earl—drums
  • Tone Stevens—bass
  • Owen Finnegan—congas
  • Paul Tregurtha, Eric Holand – engineers
  • Anthony Hawkins – mastering

Track listing:

  1. Gypsy – Kim Simmonds
  2. Poor Girl – Tony Stevens
  3. Money Can’t Save Your Soul – Dave Peverett, Kim Simmonds
  4. Sunday Night – Kim Simmonds
  5. Looking In – Dave Peverett, Kim Simmonds
  6. Take It Easy – Dave Peverett, Kin Simmonds
  7. Sitting an’ Thinking – Kim Simmonds
  8. Leavin’ Again – Dave Peverett, Kim Simmonds
  9. Romanoff – Kim Simmonds


In July 1972.

In July 1972, “Warner Bros” label released “Saint Dominic’s Preview”, the sixth Van Morrison studio album. It was recorded 1971 – 1972, at “Wally Heider Studios”, “Pacific High Studios” in San Francisco, “The Church” in San Anselmo, California,  and was produced by Ted Templeman and Van Morrison.


  • Van Morrison— vocals, acoustic, rhythm and twelve string guitar, backing vocals, arrangements
  • Jules Broussard — tenor saxophone, flute
  • Lee Charlton — drums
  • Bill Church— bass
  • Ron Elliott— acoustic guitar
  • “Boots” Houston — tenor saxophone, backing vocals
  • Mark Jordan — piano
  • Connie Kay— drums
  • Bernie Krause— Moog synthesizer
  • Gary Mallaber— drums, percussion, vibraphone
  • John McFee— steel guitar
  • Doug Messenger — electric and acoustic guitars
  • Ronnie Montrose— acoustic guitar, backing vocals
  • Mark Naftalin— piano, Moog synthesizer
  • Pat O’Hara — trombone
  • Janet Planet — backing vocals
  • Tom Salisbury — piano, organ
  • Rick Shlosser- drums
  • Ellen Schroer — backing vocals
  • Jack Schroer— alto and baritone saxophones
  • Mark Springer — backing vocals
  • Leroy Vinnegar— double bass
  • Engineers: Donn Landee, Bob Schumaker, Jim Gaines, Dave Brown, Steve Brandon
  • Mixing: Donn Landee, Bob Schumaker
  • Photography: Michael Maggid
  • Arrangements – Tom Salisbury
  • Remastering – Tim Young, Walter Samuel

Track listing:

All tracks by Van Morrison.

  1. Jackie Wilson Said (I’m in Heaven When You Smile)
  2. Gypsy
  3. I Will Be There
  4. Listen to the Lion
  5. Saint Dominic’s Preview
  6. Redwood Tree
  7. Almost Independence Day




In July 1971.

In July 1971, “Metromedia” label released “In the Garden”, the second Gypsy album. It was recorded in 1971, at “Larrabee Sound” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Clark Burroughs.


  • Enrico Rosenbaum- guitar, vocals
  • James Walsh – keyboards, vocals
  • James Johnson – guitar, vocals
  • Bill Lordan- drums
  • Willie Weeks- bass
  • Joe Lala– percussion
  • Engineered by Jerry Barnes

Track listing:

  1. Around You
  2. Reach Out Your Hand
  3. As Far As You Can See (As Much As You Can Feel)
  4. Here in the Garden I
  5. Here in the Garden II
  6. Blind Man
  7. Time Will Make It Better – James Walsh