Tag Archives: 1999

On March 19, 2002.

On March 19, 2002, “Sanctuary Records” label released “Superstarved”, the third Gravity Kills studio album. It was recorded June 1999 – October 2001, at “The Mattress Factory”, “ASI” in Chicago, and “Mr. Blood” in St. Louis, and was produced by Martin Atkins, Jeff Scheel, Matt Dudenhoeffer, Doug Firley and Brad Booker.


  • Jeff Scheel – lead vocals
  • Matt Dudenhoeffer – guitar
  • Doug Firley – keyboard
  • Brad Booker – drums
  • Julian Beeston– programming
  • Matt Dudenhoeffer – backing vocals
  • Richard Fortus– guitars
  • Charles Levi– bass
  • Derek Geisser – guitar
  • Bob Dog Caitlin – sitar on Take It All Away
  • Julian Beeston – engineer
  • Julian Beeston, Martin Atkins – mixing
  • Steve Truesdell – photography
  • Craig Wagner – Gravity Kills logo and star design
  • John Bergin – artwork, design

Track listing:

All tracks by Jeff Scheel, Matt Dudenhoeffer, Doug Firley and Brad Booker, except where noted.

  1. Love, Sex and Money
  2. Take it All Away
  3. Fifteen Minutes
  4. Forget Your Name
  5. Enemy
  6. Breakdown
  7. Beg and Borrow
  8. One Thing
  9. Personal Jesus – Martin L.Gore
  10. Wide Awake – Jeff Scheel, Matt Dudenhoeffer, Doug Firley, Brad Booker, Richard Fortus
  11. Suffocate
  12. Superstarved
  13. LS&M Reprise



On March 6, 2000.

On March 6, 2000, “Universal Records” label released “Unwind”, the second Oleander album. It was recorded 1999 – 2000, and was produced by Rich Mouser.


  • Doug Eldridge – bass guitar
  • Thomas Flowers – leadvocals, rhythm guitar
  • Ric Ivanisevich – lead guitar
  • Scott Devours– drums, percussion
  • Kaylene Peoples – string arrangements

Track listing:

All tracks by Thomas Flowers, Doug Eldridge and Ric Ivanisevich.

  1. Come To Stay
  2. Yours If You Like
  3. Are You There?
  4. Halo
  5. Benign
  6. Unwind
  7. Goodbye
  8. Jimmy Shaker Day
  9. Back Home Years Ago
  10. Tightrope
  11. She’s Up, She’s Down
  12. Champion



On January 20, 2012.

On January 20, 2012, Jamesetta Hawkins aka Etta James died aged 73. She was singer with powerful voice, performing blues, R&B, soul,  jazz and gospel music  She won six “Grammy Awards” and 17 “Blues Music Awards”; In 1993, she was inducted into the “Rock and Roll Hall of Fame”, in 1999 she was inducted in “Grammy Hall of Fame”, and in 2011 in the “Blues Hall of Fame”. “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked Etta James at number 22 on its list of the “100 Greatest Singers of All Time”.


On January 12, 1999.

On January 12, 1999, “Drag City” label released “Knock Knock”, the seventh Smog (Bill Callahan) studio album. It was recorded in 1998, and was produced by Jim O’Rourke.


  • Bill Callahan – vocals. guitar
  • Loren Mazzacane Connors – guitar
  • Thymme Jones – drums
  • Jim O’Rourke – piano

Track listing:

All tracks by Bill Callahan.

  1. Let’s Move to the Country
  2. Held
  3. River Guard
  4. No Dancing
  5. Teenage Spaceship
  6. Cold Blooded Old Times
  7. Sweet Treat
  8. Hit the Ground Running
  9. I Could Drive Forever
  10. Left Only with Love


On January 7, 1999.

On January 7, 1999, “EMI” label released “Black the Sun”, the debut Alex Lloyd studio album. I t was recorded in 1998, at “Q Studios”, “Studios 301” in Sydney, and was produced by Alex Lloyd, Ed Buller and Trent Williamson. In the 2000 “ARIA Awards” Alex Lloyd won the prize for “Best Male Artist.


  • Alex Lloyd– guitar, vocals, programming, drums, bass
  • Louise Morgan – spoken word
  • Trent Williamson – programming, harmonica
  • Terapai Richmond – drums
  • Daniel Denholm – string arrangement, vocal arrangement
  • Clayton Doley– organ
  • Ed Buller– programming

Track listing:

All tracks by Alaxander Wasiliev (Alex Lloyd), except where noted.

  1. Melting
  2. Momo
  3. Something Special – Alexander Wasiliev, Miller
  4. Desert
  5. Snow
  6. My Way Home
  7. Black The Sun
  8. Lucky Star
  9. What A Year – Alexander Wasiliev, Quinn
  10. Faraway
  11. Aliens
  12. Gender
  13. Backseat Clause

On January 5, 1999.

On January 5, 1999, “Griffin Music” label released “Hawkwind in Your Area”, the twenty-second Hawkwind album. Album had two sides, studio and live one. The studio side was recorded in 1998, at “Earth Studios”, and the live one was recorded in November 1997, at “Ancienne Belgique”,in  Brussels, Belgium, and was produced by  Dave Brock, Jerry Richards, Ron Tree and Richard Chadwick.


  • Dave Brock– electric guitar, keyboards, vocals
  • Jerry Richards – electric guitar
  • Ron Tree– vocals, bass guitar
  • Richard Chadwick – drums
  • Captain Rizz – vocals
  • Crum (Julian Crimmins) – keyboards

Track listing:

  1. Brainstorm – Nik Turner / Hawkwind In Your Area – Dave Brock, Captain Rizz / Alchemy – Jerry Richards, Richard Chadwick
  2. Love in Space – Dave Brock
  3. Rat Race – Dave Brock, Captain Rizz
  4. Aerospace Age Inferno – Robert Calvert
  5. First Landing on Medusa – Robert Calvert, Dave Brock
  6. I Am the Reptoid – Ron Tree
  7. The Nazca – Dave Brock
  8. Hippy – Ron Tree, Jerry Richards
  9. Prairie – Ron Tree, Jerry Richards
  10. Your Fantasy – Ron Tree, Dave Brock, Richard Chadwick, Jerry Richards
  11. Luxotica – Ron Tree, Richard Chadwick, Jerry Richards
  12. Diana Park – Dave Brock

On December 26, 1999.

On December 26, 1999, Curtis Lee Mayfield died aged 57. He was composer, singer-songwriter, guitarist, and record producer, regarded as one of the most influential musicians and composers in soul and politically conscious African-American music. He started the career in a gospel choir, gained wide recognition as member and main composer of The Impressions, and later had a successful solo career. “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked his 1965 song “People Get Ready” at number 24 on its list of the “500 Greatest Songs of All Time”. The same song was also included in the “Rock and Roll Hall of Fame 500 Songs that Shaped Rock and Roll”, and in 1998 was inducted into the “Grammy Hall of Fame”. His album with the soundtrack for the 1972 movie “Super Fly”  was ranked at number 72 on “Rolling Stone’s” list of “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.  In 1994, Mayfield won a “Grammy Legend Award” in and a “Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award” in 1995. In 1991, he was inductee into the “Rock and Roll Hall of Fame” as a member of the Impressions, and in 1999 as a solo artist.