Tag Archives: Shawn Colvin

On July 25, 2000.

On July 25, 2000, “Columbia” label released “Outbound”, the eighth Béla Fleck and the Flecktones studio album. It was recorded in 2000, and was produced by Bella Fleck, Jeff Coffin, Future Man and Victor Wooten. At the 43rd annual “Grammy Awards”, “Outbound” won “Best Contemporary Jazz Album”.


  • Béla Fleck – Gibson-style 75 banjo, Gibson-style 18 acoustic banjo, gut string banjo, Deering Crossfire electric banjo, electric sitar banjo, synth, National steel guitar, Paradis stereo guitar with VG8
  • Jeff Coffin – Tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone, alto saxophone, alto flute, clarinet
  • Victor Wooten – vocals, Fodera 4 string bass, Fodera tenor bass, stereo effect, Compito 5 string fretless bass
  • Future Man – vocals, Synth-Axe Drumitar, acoustic percussion, X-Drum acoustic kick drum, Zendrum, Pear tall cajons, Roland S-760 samplers
  • Jon Anderson – vocals
  • Shawn Colvin – vocals
  • Rita Sahai – vocals
  • David Angell – violin
  • David Davidson – violin
  • Mark Feldman – violin
  • Kristin Wilkinson – viola
  • John Catchings – cello
  • Adrian Belew – electric guitar
  • Sandip Burman – tabla
  • Paul Hanson – bassoon, harmonizer, synth, tenor saxophone
  • Paul McCandless – Soprano saxophone, pennywhistle, oboe, English horn
  • John Medeski – Hammond B-3 organ
  • Edgar Meyer – arco and pizzicato acoustic basses
  • Andy Narell – steelpans
  • Kongar-ol Ondar – Tuvan throat singing 

Track listing:

All tracks by Béla Fleck except where noted.

  1. Intro
  2. Hoedown – Aaron Copland
  3. A Moment So Close
  4. Zona Mona – Bella Fleck, Jeff Coffin
  5. Hall Of Mirrors
  6. Earth Jam – Bella Fleck, Future Man, Victor Wooten
  7. Something She Said
  8. Ovombo Summit – Future Man
  9. Aimum – Bella Fleck, The Future Man, Victor Wooten, Jeff Coffin
  10. Prelude
  11. Lover’s Leap
  12. Outbound
  13. Scratch & Sniff – Bella Fleck, Victor Wooten
  14. Shuba Yatra
  15. That Old Thing
  16. Reprise

On March 14, 1991.

On March 14, 1991, Jerome Solon Felder aka Doc Pomus died aged 65. He was singer and songwriter, co-writer (together with Mort Shuman) of big number of hits, many of them became rock and roll standards, including: “A Teenager in Love”, “Save The Last Dance For Me”, “Hushabye”, “This Magic Moment”, “Turn Me Loose”, “Sweets For My Sweet”, “Go, Jimmy, Go”, “Little Sister”, “Can’t Get Used to Losing You”, “Suspicion”, “Surrender” and “His Latest Flame”. He also co-wrote with Phil Spector few successful tracks including “Young Boy Blues”, “Ecstasy”, “First Taste of Love” and “What Am I to Do?” His songs were performed by hundreds of artists including The Beatles, Ray Charles, Elvis Presley, Elvis Costello, Dean Martin, Andy Williams, Bad Company, Leonard Cohen, Van Morrison, Led Zeppelin, Bruce Springsteen, Michael Buble, Dolly Parton, Joe Cocker, ZZ Top, Emmy Lou Harris, Bob Dylan, Brian Wilson, Harry Nilsson, John Hiatt, The Beach Boys, B.B. King, Dion, The New York Dolls, Shawn Colvin and Los Lobos. As singer Pomus performed with Milt Jackson, Mickey Baker, and King Curtis. In 1991 he was inducted into the “Rock and Roll Hall of Fame”, in 1992, in the “Songwriters Hall of Fame”, and in 2012 into the “Blues Hall of Fame”.

On February 28, 2010.

On February 28, 2010, Tom “T-Bone” Wolk died aged 58. He was musician (bass, guitar, mandolin, accordion), and music producer, worked with Kurtis Blow, Carly Simon, Saturday night Live house band, Elvis Costello, Billy Joel, Squeeze, Shawn Colvin and Jellyfish, but was best known as member and bass player of Hall & Oates.

On June 14, 2005.

On June 14, 2005, “Favored Nations” label released “Bloom”, the fifth Eric Johnson studio album. It was recorded in 2005, at “Saucer Sound”, “Surfland”, “One Good Ear”, “Studio B”, “No Favors”, and was produced by Eric Johnson and Richard Mullen.


  • Eric Johnson – vocals, acoustic, classical and electric guitar,piano, pedal steel, electric sitar, bass, synth, rhodes electric piano
  • Chris Maresh, Roscoe Beck- bass
  • Steve Barber – vocals, acoustic piano, Moog synth
  • Bill Maddox – percussion, drums
  • James Fenner – percussion
  • Tal Bergman, Barry “Frosty” Smith, Tom Brechtlein – drums
  • Tony Phillips – drums, bass, synth
  • Tommy Taylor – percussion, drums
  • Salvatore Banzai La Rocca – harmonica
  • Tom Burrit – percussion
  • Adrian Legg- guitar
  • Brad Evilsizer – percussion
  • Shawn Colvin, Lisa Tingle, Jody Lazo – vocals
  • Rich Harvey – acoustic piano
  • Richard Mullen – engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Eric Johnson, except where noted.

  • Prelude
  1. Bloom
  2. Summer Jam
  3. My Back Pages – Bob Dylan
  4. Good to Me
  5. Columbia
  6. 12 to 12 Vibe
  • Courante
  1. Sea Secret
  2. Sad Legacy
  3. From My Heart
  4. Cruise the Nile
  5. Tribute to Jerry Reed
  6. Your Sweet Eyes
  • Allemande
  1. Hesitant
  2. Sunnaround You
  3. Magnetized
  4. Ciel

On April 10, 1991.


On April 10, 1991, “A&M” label released “Days of Open Hand”, the third Suzanne Vega album. It was recorded in 1990, at “Skyline Studios”, “RPM Studios” and “The Living Room”, and was produced by Anton Sanko and Suzanne Vega. The album won “Grammy Award for Best Recording Package” in 1991.


  • Suzanne Vega– vocal, acoustic guitar, background vocals, Fairlight, hand claps
  • Michael Visceglia – five-string bass, fretless bass
  • Marc Shulman – electric guitar, tiple, electric 12-string guitar, E-Bow guitar, bouzouki
  • Anton Sanko – Hammond C3, Akai S1000, Sequential Circuits Prophet VS, Fairlight CMI percussion programming on 3 11, Voyetra Eight on 5 11, Fairlight,  DX7II, string arrangements, classical guitar, tiple, harmonium, electric guitar
  • Frank Vilardi – drums, rims, brushes, Akai S-1000, shaker, percussion, floor tom, snare drum, cymbal, Blastics
  • Michael Blair – metal percussion, tambourine, wood percussion,  shaker,  orchestral bass drum, Chinese drum, hand drum
  • John Linnell– accordion
  • Shawn Colvin– background vocals
  • Sandra Park – 1st violin
  • Hae-Young Ham – violin
  • Rebecca Young Schatz – viola
  • Maria Kitsoupolos – cello
  • Erik Sanko– fretless bass
  • Hearn Gadbois – dumbek
  • Glen Velez– frame drum
  • Richard Horowitz– ney
  • Percy Jones– fretless bass
  • Philip Glass– string arrangement
  • Tim Baker – violin
  • Barry Finclair – violin
  • Fred Zlotkin – cello
  • Al Brown – viola

Track listing:

All tracks by Suzanne Vega except where noted.

  1. Tired of Sleeping
  2. Men in a War
  3. Rusted Pipe – Suzanne Vega, Anton Sanko
  4. Book of Dreams – Suzanne Vega, Anton Sanko
  5. Institution Green – Suzanne Vega, Anton Sanko
  6. Those Whole Girls (Run in Grace)
  7. Room off the Street – Suzanne Vega, Anton Sanko
  8. Big Space – Suzanne Vega, Anton Sanko
  9. Predictions
  10. Fifty-Fifty Chance
  11. Pilgrimage – Suzanne Vega, Anton Sanko