Tag Archives: Glendale

In November 1970.

In November 1970, “Straight” label released “Starsailor”, the sixth Tim Buckley studio album. It was recorded in September 1970, at “Whitney Studios” in Glendale, and was produced by Tim Buckley.


  • Tim Buckley– guitar, 12-string guitar, vocals
  • John Balkin – double bass, electric bass
  • Lee Underwood– guitar, piano, pipe organ
  • Buzz Gardner – trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Maury Baker – percussion
  • Bunk Gardner– alto flute, tenor saxophone
  • Ed Thrasher – art direction, photography

Track listing:

All lyrics by Larry Beckett, all music by Tim Buckley, except where noted.

  1. Come Here Woman – Tim Buckley
  2. I Woke Up
  3. Monterey
  4. Moulin Rouge
  5. Song to the Siren – Tim Buckley
  6. Jungle Fire – Tim Buckley
  7. Starsailor – John Balkin, Larry Beckett, Tim Buckley
  8. The Healing Festival – Tim Buckley
  9. Down by the Borderline – Tim Buckley

In August 1979.

On August 27, 1979, “Chrysalis” label released “In the Heat of the Night” the debut Pat Benatar studio album. It was recorded June – July 1979, at “MCA Whitney Studios” in Glendale, California, and was produced by Peter Coleman and Mike Chapman.The album was certified 4 x Platinum in Canada by “CRIA” and Platinum in US by the “RIIA”.


  • Pat Benatar– lead and backing vocals
  • Neil Giraldo– lead guitar, keyboards, slide guitar, backing vocals
  • Scott St. Clair Sheets – rhythm guitars
  • Roger Capps – bass, backing vocals
  • Glen Alexander Hamilton – drums
  • Steve Hall – mastering
  • Rick Newman – management, direction

Track listing:

  1. Heartbreaker – Geoff Gill, Clint Wade
  2. I Need a Lover – John Mellencamp
  3. If You Think You Know How To Love Me – Mike Chapman, Nicky Chinn
  4.  In the Heat of the Night – Mike Chapman, Nicky Chinn
  5. My Clone Sleeps Alone – Roger Capps,  Pat Benatar
  6. We Live for Love – Neil Giraldo
  7.    Rated X – Nick Gilder, James McCulloch
  8.    Don’t Let It Show – Alan Parsons, Eric Woolfson
  9.    No You Don’t – Mike Chapman, Nicky Chinn
  10.  So Sincere – Roger Capps, Pat Benatar

On March 31, 1987.


On March 31, 1987, “Paisley Park Records” released “Sign o’ the Times” (Sign “☮” the Times}, the ninth Prince studio album. It was recorded in 1986 – 1987, at “Lake Minnetonka Home Studio” in Minnetonka, “Galpin Boulevard Home Studio” in Chanhassen, “Washington Avenue Warehouse” in Eden Prairie, “Sunset Sound Recorders” and “Ocean Way Recording” in Hollywood, “Monterey Sound Studios” in Glendale, and “Dierks Studio Mobile Trucks” in Paris, and was produced by Prince. In 1989, magazine “Time Out” named it as the greatest album of all time. Magazine “New Musical Express” ranked “Sign o’ the Times” at number 16 in its list of the “All Time Top 100 Albums”. Magazine “The Times”  ranked  “Sign o’ the Times” as the 29th greatest album of all time, and in 2003, magazine “Rolling Stone” ranked the album at number 93 on its list of “The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Prince- all vocals and instruments except as noted below
  • Wendy Melvoin- guitar and backing vocals (7), tambourine and congas (12, 15)
  • Lisa Coleman- backing vocals (7), Fairlight sitar and wooden flute (12), keyboards and backing vocals (15)
  • Sheila E.- drums and percussion (10), percussion and rap (15)
  • Fink- keyboards (15)
  • Miko Weaver- guitar (15)
  • Brown Mark- bass (15)
  • Bobby Z.- drums (15)
  • Eric Leeds- saxophone (3, 7, 8, 15, 16)
  • Atlanta Bliss- trumpet (3, 7, 15, 16)
  • Susannah Melvoin- backing vocals (2, 4), vocals (15)
  • Jill Jones- vocals (15)
  • Sheena Easton- co-lead vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Prince, except where noted

  1. Sign o’ the Times
  2. Play in the Sunshine
  3. Housequake
  4. The Ballad of Dorothy Parker
  5. It
  6. Starfish and Coffee – Prince and Susannah Melvoin
  7. Slow Love – Prince and Carole Davis
  8. Hot Thing
  9. Forever in My Life
  10. U Got the Look
  11. If I Was Your Girlfriend
  12. Strange Relationship
  13. I Could Never Take the Place of Your Man
  14. The Cross
  15. It’s Gonna Be a Beautiful Night – Prince, Doctor Fink and Eric Leeds
  16. Adore

On February 25, 1974.


On February 25, 1974, “Atlantic” label released “Let Me in Your Life”, the twenty-first Aretha Franklin studio album. “Let Me in Your Life” was recorded from April to September 1973, at the “Whitney Studios” in Glendale, and was produced by Jerry Wexler and Aretha Franklin.


  1. Aretha Franklin – lead vocals, acoustic piano, electric piano
  2. Gwen Guthrie- background vocals
  3. Donny Hathaway- acoustic piano, electric piano
  4. Bob James- organ, keyboards
  5. Chuck Rainey- bass
  6. Ernie Royal- trumpet
  7. Deodato- arranger, electric piano
  8. Ralph MacDonald- percussion
  9. Kenneth Bichel- synthesizer
  10. Margaret Branch – background vocals
  11. Cissy Houston- background vocals
  12. Ann S. Clark – background vocals
  13. Stanley Clarke– bass
  14. Judy Clay- background vocals
  15. Cornell Dupree- guitar
  16. Joe Farrell- tenor saxophone, flute
  17. Arif Mardin- string arranger
  18. Rick Marotta- drums
  19. Hugh McCracken– guitar
  20. Pancho Morales – percussion
  21. Gene Orloff- concert master
  22. Bernard “Pretty” Purdie- drums
  23. Sylvia Shemwell – background vocals
  24. Myrna Smith- background vocals
  25. David Spinozza- guitar
  26. Richard Tee- keyboards
  27. Deirdre Tuck Corley – background vocals
  28. Willie Weeks- bass

Track listing:

  1. Let Me in Your Life – Bill Withers
  2. Every Natural Thing – Eddie Hinton
  3. Ain’t Nothing Like the Real Thing – Nickolas Ashford and Valerie Simpson
  4. I’m in Love – Bobby Womack
  5. Until You Come Back to Me (That’s What I’m Gonna Do) – Clarence Paul,Stevie Wonder and Morris Broadnax
  6. The Masquerade is Over – Herbert Magidson and Allie Wrubel
  7. With Pen in Hand – Bobby Goldsboro
  8. Oh Baby – Aretha Franklin
  9. Eight Days On the Road – Michael Gayle and Jerry Ragovoy
  10. If You Don’t Think – Aretha Franklin
  11. A Song for You – Leon Russell