Tag Archives: Twenty Small Cigars

Jean-Lyc Ponty: King Kong: Jean-Lyc Ponty Plays the Music of Frank Zappa

On May 25, 1970, “World Pacific” and “Liberty” labels released “King Kong: Jean-Luc Ponty Plays the Music of Frank Zappa”, the sixth Jean-Luc Ponty album. It was recorded in October 1969, at “Whitney Studios” in Glendale, California, and was produced by Richard Bock. 


  • Jean-Luc Ponty – electric violin, baritone violectra
  • Frank Zappa – electric guitar, arrangements, conductor
  • George Duke – acoustic and electric piano
  • Buell Neidlinger – double bass 
  • Wilton Felder – Fender Precision electric bass 
  • John Guerin – drums 
  • Arthur Dyer Tripp III – drums 
  • Gene Estes – vibraphone, percussion
  • Ernie Watts – alto and tenor saxophone
  • Ian Underwood – tenor saxophone, orchestra conductor
  • Gene Cipriano – oboe, English horn
  • Arthur Maebe – French horn, tuba 
  • Vincent DeRosa – descant recorder, French horn, descant 
  • Jonathan Meyer – flute
  • Donald Christlieb – bassoon
  • Milton Thomas – viola
  • Harold Bemko – cello
  • Gerald Wilson – conductor
  • Ian Underwood – conductor
  • Dick Kunc – engineer
  • Ron Wolin – art direction, design
  • Leonard Feather – liner notes

Track listing:

All tracks by Frank Zappa, except where noted.

  1. King Kong
  2. Idiot Bastard Son
  3. Twenty Small Cigars
  4. How Would You Like to Have a Head Like That – Jean-Luc Ponty
  5. Music for Electric Violin and Low-Budget Orchestra
  6. America Drinks and Goes Home

On October 23, 1970.


On October 23, 1970, “Bizzare” label released “Chunga’s Revenge”, the second Frank Zappa solo album. It was recorded July 1969 – August  1970, and was produced by Frank Zappa.


  • Frank Zappa– vocals, guitar, harpsichord, Condor, drums, percussions
  • Ian Underwood– organ, rhythm guitar, piano, electric piano, alto and tenor saxophone, pipe organ, electric alto saxophone with wah-wah pedal, grand piano
  • George Duke– organ, electric piano, vocal sound effects , trombone
  • Howard Kaylan– vocals
  • Mark Volman– vocals, rhythm guitar
  • Don “Sugarcane” Harris– organ
  • Max Bennett– bass
  • Jeff Simmons– vocals, bass
  • Aynsley Dunbar– drums, tambourine
  • John Guerin– drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Frank Zappa

  1. Transylvania Boogie
  2. Road Ladies
  3. Twenty Small Cigars
  4. The Nancy & Mary Music
  5. Tell Me You Love Me
  6. Would You Go All The Way
  7. Chunga’s Revenge
  8. The Clap
  9. Rudy Wants to Buy Yez a Drink
  10. Sharleena