Tag Archives: Whitney Studios

In November 1970.

In November 1970, “Straight” label released “Starsailor”, the sixth Tim Buckley studio album. It was recorded in September 1970, at “Whitney Studios” in Glendale, and was produced by Tim Buckley.


  • Tim Buckley– guitar, 12-string guitar, vocals
  • John Balkin – double bass, electric bass
  • Lee Underwood– guitar, piano, pipe organ
  • Buzz Gardner – trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Maury Baker – percussion
  • Bunk Gardner– alto flute, tenor saxophone
  • Ed Thrasher – art direction, photography

Track listing:

All lyrics by Larry Beckett, all music by Tim Buckley, except where noted.

  1. Come Here Woman – Tim Buckley
  2. I Woke Up
  3. Monterey
  4. Moulin Rouge
  5. Song to the Siren – Tim Buckley
  6. Jungle Fire – Tim Buckley
  7. Starsailor – John Balkin, Larry Beckett, Tim Buckley
  8. The Healing Festival – Tim Buckley
  9. Down by the Borderline – Tim Buckley

On June 16, 1969.


On June 16, 1969, “Straight” label released “Trout Mask Replica”, the third Captain Beefheart and his Magic Band album. It was recorded August 1968 – March 1969, at “Sunset Sound Recorders” and “Whitney Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Frank Zappa. The album is highly regarded as one of the most influential albums in the history of the 20th century. ”Rolling Stone” magazine ranked “Trout Mask Replica” at number 60 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Bill Harkleroad
  • Jeff Cotton
  • Mark Boston
  • Victor Hayden
  • John French
  • Don Van Vliet aka Captain Beefheart
  • Frank Zappa (occasional vocals and narrations)

Track listing

All compositions by Don Van Vliet

  1. Frownland
  2. The Dust Blows Forward’n the Dust Blows Back
  3. Dachau Blues
  4. Ella Guru
  5. Hair pie: Bake 1
  6. Moonlight on Vermont
  7. Pachuco Cadaver
  8. Bills Corpse
  9. Sweet Sweet Bulbs
  10. Neon Meate Dream of a Octafish
  11. China Pig
  12. My Human Gets Me Blues
  13. Dali’s Car
  14. Hair Pie: Bake 2
  15. Pena
  16. Well
  17. When Big Joan Sets Up
  18. Fallin Ditch
  19. Sugar’n’Spikes
  20. Ant Man Bee
  21. Orange Claw Hammer
  22. Wild life
  23. She’s Too Much for My Mirror
  24. Hobo Chang Ba
  25. The Blimp
  26. Steal Softly Thru Snow
  27. Old Fart at Play
  28. Veteran’s Day Poppy


On February 25, 1974.


On February 25, 1974, “Atlantic” label released “Let Me in Your Life”, the twenty-first Aretha Franklin studio album. “Let Me in Your Life” was recorded from April to September 1973, at the “Whitney Studios” in Glendale, and was produced by Jerry Wexler and Aretha Franklin.


  1. Aretha Franklin – lead vocals, acoustic piano, electric piano
  2. Gwen Guthrie- background vocals
  3. Donny Hathaway- acoustic piano, electric piano
  4. Bob James- organ, keyboards
  5. Chuck Rainey- bass
  6. Ernie Royal- trumpet
  7. Deodato- arranger, electric piano
  8. Ralph MacDonald- percussion
  9. Kenneth Bichel- synthesizer
  10. Margaret Branch – background vocals
  11. Cissy Houston- background vocals
  12. Ann S. Clark – background vocals
  13. Stanley Clarke– bass
  14. Judy Clay- background vocals
  15. Cornell Dupree- guitar
  16. Joe Farrell- tenor saxophone, flute
  17. Arif Mardin- string arranger
  18. Rick Marotta- drums
  19. Hugh McCracken– guitar
  20. Pancho Morales – percussion
  21. Gene Orloff- concert master
  22. Bernard “Pretty” Purdie- drums
  23. Sylvia Shemwell – background vocals
  24. Myrna Smith- background vocals
  25. David Spinozza- guitar
  26. Richard Tee- keyboards
  27. Deirdre Tuck Corley – background vocals
  28. Willie Weeks- bass

Track listing:

  1. Let Me in Your Life – Bill Withers
  2. Every Natural Thing – Eddie Hinton
  3. Ain’t Nothing Like the Real Thing – Nickolas Ashford and Valerie Simpson
  4. I’m in Love – Bobby Womack
  5. Until You Come Back to Me (That’s What I’m Gonna Do) – Clarence Paul,Stevie Wonder and Morris Broadnax
  6. The Masquerade is Over – Herbert Magidson and Allie Wrubel
  7. With Pen in Hand – Bobby Goldsboro
  8. Oh Baby – Aretha Franklin
  9. Eight Days On the Road – Michael Gayle and Jerry Ragovoy
  10. If You Don’t Think – Aretha Franklin
  11. A Song for You – Leon Russell