Tag Archives: 1998

On March 13, 1998.

On March 13, 1998, Alexander Minto Hughes aka Judge Dread died aged 52. He was reggae and ska musician, the first white recording artist to have a reggae hit in Jamaica. “Rolling Stone” magazine  wrote “He sold several million albums throughout his 25-plus year career and was second only to Bob Marley in U.K. reggae sales during the 70s”. Dread has the most banned songs on “BBC” radio of all time.


In March 1961.

In March 1961, “Atlantic” label released “My Favorite Things”, the seventh John Coltrane studio album. It was recorded in October 1960, and was produced by Nesuhi Ertegün. In 1998, the album received “Grammy Hall of Fame” award.


  • John Coltrane– soprano and tenor saxophones
  • McCoy Tyner– piano
  • Steve Davis– double bass
  • Elvin Jones– drums
  • Tom Dowd, Phil Iehle — engineering
  • Lee Friedlander— photography
  • Loring Eutemey — cover design
  • Bill Coss — liner notes

Track listing:

  1. My Favorite Things – Oscar Hammerstein II,, Richard Rodgers
  2. Ev’ry Time We Say Goodbye – Cole Porter
  3. Summertime – Ira Gershwin, DuBose Heyward, George Gershwin
  4. But Not for Me – Ira Gershwin, George Gershwin

In February 1973.

In February 1973, “Jugoton” label released “Dnevnik jedne ljubavi” (Diary of a Love), the debut Josipa Lisac album. It was recorded in February 1973, and was produced by Karlo Metikoš and K. Klemenčić. In 1998, the album was ranked at number 9 on the list of “YU 100: The Best albums of Yugoslav pop and rock music”.


  • Brane “Lambert” Živković – flute, piano, el.piano, arranger
  • Slobodan “Bobo”Kovačević – acoustic guitar
  • Vedran Božić – guitar
  • Tihomir “Pop” Asanović – Hammond organ
  • Mario Mavrin – Fender bass
  • Jože “Braco” Doblekar – congas
  • Dado Topić – tambourine
  • Ratko “Rale” Divjak – drums
  • Miroslav Sedak-Benčić, Boris Frančišković – tenor saxophone
  • Maks Johan – baritone saxophone
  • Radmilo Maslovarić – trombone
  • Marijan Domić – trumpet
  • Ivan Kuzmić, Silvio Orlando – violin
  • Ante Živković – viola
  • Josip Stojanović – cello
  • Nenad Marinović – oboe
  • Stjepan Obadić – horn
  • Konstantin Iskra – bassoon
  • Zdenka Kovačiček, Dubravka Zubović, Ksenija Erker, Adica Dobrić – backing vocals
  • Franjo Berner – engineer
  • Jozo Ćetković – photography
  • Ivica Krajač – artwork

Track listing:

All music by Karlo Metikoš; all lyrics by Ivica Krajač.

  1. O jednoj mladosti
  2. Srela sam se s njim
  3. Sreća
  4. Po prvi put
  5. Plačem
  6. Jedna kratka vijest
  7. Ležaj od suza
  8. Ne prepoznajem ga
  9. Vjerujem ti sve
  10. Kao stranac


On January 12, 1999.

On January 12, 1999, “Drag City” label released “Knock Knock”, the seventh Smog (Bill Callahan) studio album. It was recorded in 1998, and was produced by Jim O’Rourke.


  • Bill Callahan – vocals. guitar
  • Loren Mazzacane Connors – guitar
  • Thymme Jones – drums
  • Jim O’Rourke – piano

Track listing:

All tracks by Bill Callahan.

  1. Let’s Move to the Country
  2. Held
  3. River Guard
  4. No Dancing
  5. Teenage Spaceship
  6. Cold Blooded Old Times
  7. Sweet Treat
  8. Hit the Ground Running
  9. I Could Drive Forever
  10. Left Only with Love


On January 7, 1999.

On January 7, 1999, “EMI” label released “Black the Sun”, the debut Alex Lloyd studio album. I t was recorded in 1998, at “Q Studios”, “Studios 301” in Sydney, and was produced by Alex Lloyd, Ed Buller and Trent Williamson. In the 2000 “ARIA Awards” Alex Lloyd won the prize for “Best Male Artist.


  • Alex Lloyd– guitar, vocals, programming, drums, bass
  • Louise Morgan – spoken word
  • Trent Williamson – programming, harmonica
  • Terapai Richmond – drums
  • Daniel Denholm – string arrangement, vocal arrangement
  • Clayton Doley– organ
  • Ed Buller– programming

Track listing:

All tracks by Alaxander Wasiliev (Alex Lloyd), except where noted.

  1. Melting
  2. Momo
  3. Something Special – Alexander Wasiliev, Miller
  4. Desert
  5. Snow
  6. My Way Home
  7. Black The Sun
  8. Lucky Star
  9. What A Year – Alexander Wasiliev, Quinn
  10. Faraway
  11. Aliens
  12. Gender
  13. Backseat Clause

On January 5, 1999.

On January 5, 1999, “Griffin Music” label released “Hawkwind in Your Area”, the twenty-second Hawkwind album. Album had two sides, studio and live one. The studio side was recorded in 1998, at “Earth Studios”, and the live one was recorded in November 1997, at “Ancienne Belgique”,in  Brussels, Belgium, and was produced by  Dave Brock, Jerry Richards, Ron Tree and Richard Chadwick.


  • Dave Brock– electric guitar, keyboards, vocals
  • Jerry Richards – electric guitar
  • Ron Tree– vocals, bass guitar
  • Richard Chadwick – drums
  • Captain Rizz – vocals
  • Crum (Julian Crimmins) – keyboards

Track listing:

  1. Brainstorm – Nik Turner / Hawkwind In Your Area – Dave Brock, Captain Rizz / Alchemy – Jerry Richards, Richard Chadwick
  2. Love in Space – Dave Brock
  3. Rat Race – Dave Brock, Captain Rizz
  4. Aerospace Age Inferno – Robert Calvert
  5. First Landing on Medusa – Robert Calvert, Dave Brock
  6. I Am the Reptoid – Ron Tree
  7. The Nazca – Dave Brock
  8. Hippy – Ron Tree, Jerry Richards
  9. Prairie – Ron Tree, Jerry Richards
  10. Your Fantasy – Ron Tree, Dave Brock, Richard Chadwick, Jerry Richards
  11. Luxotica – Ron Tree, Richard Chadwick, Jerry Richards
  12. Diana Park – Dave Brock

On December 26, 1999.

On December 26, 1999, Curtis Lee Mayfield died aged 57. He was composer, singer-songwriter, guitarist, and record producer, regarded as one of the most influential musicians and composers in soul and politically conscious African-American music. He started the career in a gospel choir, gained wide recognition as member and main composer of The Impressions, and later had a successful solo career. “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked his 1965 song “People Get Ready” at number 24 on its list of the “500 Greatest Songs of All Time”. The same song was also included in the “Rock and Roll Hall of Fame 500 Songs that Shaped Rock and Roll”, and in 1998 was inducted into the “Grammy Hall of Fame”. His album with the soundtrack for the 1972 movie “Super Fly”  was ranked at number 72 on “Rolling Stone’s” list of “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.  In 1994, Mayfield won a “Grammy Legend Award” in and a “Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award” in 1995. In 1991, he was inductee into the “Rock and Roll Hall of Fame” as a member of the Impressions, and in 1999 as a solo artist.