Tag Archives: daniel Miller

On March 17, 2017.

On March 17, 2017, “Columbia” label released “Spirit”, the 14th Depeche Mode studio album. It was recorded April – August 2016, at “Jungle City Studios” in New York City, “Sound Design” in Santa Barbara, California, and was produced by James Ford. The album was certified Platinum in France “SNEP” and 2 x Platinum in Poland by “ZPAV”.


  • Dave Gahan– lead vocals, backing vocals
  • Martin Gore– guitars, keyboards, synthesizers, backing vocals, lead vocals
  • Andy Fletcher– keyboards, synthesizers, backing vocals
  • James Ford- mixing, drums, pedal steel guitar
  • Matrixxman– programming
  • Kurt Uenala– programming, bass guitar
  • Jimmy Robertson – engineering, mix engineering
  • Connor Long, Óscar Muñoz, David Schaeman – assistant engineer
  • Brendan Morawski – assistant engineer, mix assistant
  • Brian Lucey – mastering
  • Daniel Miller– A&R
  • Anton Corbijn– cover, all visuals and art-direction, design

Track listing:

All tracks by Martin L. Gore, except where noted.

  1. Going Backwards
  2. Where’s the Revolution
  3. The Worst Crime
  4. Scum
  5. You Move – Martin L. Gore, Dave Gahan
  6. Cover Me – Martin L. Gore, Peter Gordeno, Christian Eigner
  7. Eternal
  8. Poison Heart – Dave Gahan, Peter Gordeno, Christian Eigner
  9. So Much Love
  10. Poorman
  11. No More (This Is the Last Time) – Dave Gahan, Kurt Uenala
  12. Fail

In March 1982.

In March 1982, “Venice in Peril” label released “The Golden Age of Wireless” the debut Thomas Dolby album. It was recorded in 1981, and was produced by Thomas Dolby and Tim Friese-Greene.


  • Thomas Dolby – vocals, drum programs, wave computer, backing vocals, synthesizer, piano, monk voice, kalimba
  • James Allen – backing vocals
  • Kevin Armstrong– guitar, backing vocals
  • Dave Birch – guitar, monk voice
  • Bosco – percussion
  • Les Chappel – backing vocals
  • Judy Evans – backing vocals
  • Lesley Fairbairn – backing vocals
  • Mark Heyward-Chaplin – bass guitar
  • Justin Hildreth – drums
  • Simon House– violin
  • Tim Kerr – violin
  • Mutt Lange– backing vocals
  • Simon Lloyd – leadline brass, flute
  • Lene Lovich– backing vocals
  • John Marsh – shipping forecast
  • Daniel Miller– synthesizer
  • Guido Orlando – Chilean translations, distress, grace
  • Andy Partridge– harmonica, percussion
  • Magnus Pyke– voiceover
  • Matthew Seligman– Moog bass
  • Miriam Stockley – backing vocals
  • Bruce Woolley– backing vocals, monk voice
  • Akiko Yano– backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Thomas Dolby, except where noted.

  1. Flying North
  2. Commercial Breakup – Thomas Dolby, Tim Kerr
  3. Weightless
  4. Europa and the Pirate Twins
  5. Windpower
  6. The Wreck of The Fairchild
  7. Airwaves
  8. Radio Silence
  9. Cloudburst at Shingle Street

On September 28,, 1987.


On September 28, 1987, “Mute” label released “Music for the Masses” the sixth Depeche Mode studio album. It was recorded February – July 1987, at “Studio Guillaume Tell” in Paris; “Konk” in London, and was produced by Depeche Mode, David Bascombe and Daniel Miller. The album was certified Platinum in France by “SNEP”, and Platinum in the US by “RIIA”.


  • Martyn Atkins – design, photography
  • David Bascombe – engineering, production
  • Mark Higenbottam – design, photography
  • David Jones – design, photography
  • Daniel Miller– additional production, helpTrack listing:

All tracks by Martin L. Gore.

  1. Never Let Me Down Again
  2. The Things You Said
  3. Strangelove
  4. Sacred
  5. Little 15
  6. Behind the Wheel
  7. I Want You Know
  8. To Have and to Hold
  9. Nothing
  10. Pimpf / Interlude 1

On September 27, 1982.


On September 27, 1982, “Mute” label released “A Broken Frame” the second Depeche Mode studio album. It was recorded December 1981–July 1982, at “Blackwing Studios” in London, and was produced by Depeche Mode and Daniel Miller. The cover photograph was taken by Brian Griffin. It was featured on the cover of “Life Magazine’s” 1990 edition of “World’s Best Photographs 1980 – 1990”.


  • Dave Gahan– lead vocals
  • Martin Gore– keyboards, backing and lead vocals
  • Andy Fletcher– keyboards, backing vocals
  • Engineered by John Fryer, Eric Radcliffe
  • Design: Martyn Atkins
  • Calligraphy: Ching Ching Lee

Track listing:

All tracks by Martin Gore.

  1. Leave in Silence
  2. My Secret Garden
  3. Monument
  4. Nothing to Fear
  5. See You
  6. Satellite
  7. The Meaning of Love
  8. A photograph of You
  9. Shouldn’t Have Done That
  10. The Sun & the Rainfall


On March 22, 2013.

Depeche_Mode_-_Delta_Machine (1)

On March 22, 2013, “Columbia” label released “Delta Machine”, the thirteenth Depeche Mode studio album. It was recorded March – October 2012, at “Sound Design” in Santa Barbara, and “Jungle City Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Ben Hiller.

  • Christoffer Berg – programming
  • Anton Corbijn– backprojection images, design, photography
  • Tomas del Toro-Diaz – assistant engineering
  • Flood– mixing
  • Anja Grabert – back projection images
  • Rob Kirwan – mix engineering
  • Will Loomis – assistant engineering
  • Daniel Miller– A&R
  • Ferg Peterkin – engineering
  • Drew Smith – mix assistance
  • Bunt Stafford-Clark – mastering
  • Dan Tobiason – assistant engineering
  • Kurt Uenala– additional programming, vocal recording

Track listing:

All tracks by Martin L. Gore, except where noted.

  1. Welcome to My World
  2. Angel
  3. Heaven
  4. Secret to the End
  5. My Little Universe
  6. Slow
  7. Broken
  8. The Child Inside
  9. Soft Touch/Raw Nerve
  10. Should Be Higher
  11. Alone
  12. Soothe My Soul
  13. Goodbye



On October 5, 1981.


On October 5, 1981, “Mute” label released “Speak & Spell”, the debut Depeche Mode album. It was recorded in 1981, and produced by Depeche Mode and Daniel Miller  “Speak & Spell” was the only band’s album with Vince Clarke as a member, who left form.


  • Dave Gahan- lead vocals
  • Martin Gore- keyboards, backing vocals, lead vocals
  • Andy Fletcher- keyboards, backing vocals
  • Vince Clarke- keyboards, programming, backing vocals

Track listing:

All compositions by Vince Clarke, except “Tora! Tora! Tora!” and “Big Muff” written by Martin Gore.

  1. New Life
  2. I Sometimes Wish I was Dead
  3. Puppets
  4. Boys Say Go
  5. Nodisco
  6. What’s Your Name
  7. Photographic
  8. Tora! Tora! Tora!
  9. Big Muff
  10. Any Seconds Now
  11. Just Can’t Get Enough


On August 22, 1983.

Depeche_Mode Construction_Time_Again

On August 22, 1983, “Mute” label released “Construction time again”, the third Depeche Mode studio album. It was recorded at John Foxx’s “Garden Studios” in London, engineered by Gareth Jones, mixed at the “Hansa Ton” studio in Berlin and produced by Depeche Mode and Daniel Miller. This was the first Depeche Mode album with Alan Wilder.


  • Martyn Atkins – design
  • Brian Griffin – cover photography
  • Gareth Jones – tonmeister
  • Corinne Simcock – assistant engineering
  • Ian Wright – illustrations

Track listing:

All tracks by Martin L. Gore, except where noted.

  1. Love, in Itself
  2. More Than a Party
  3. Pipeline
  4. Everything Counts
  5. Two Minute Warning – Alan Wilder
  6. Shame
  7. The Landscape is Changing – Alan Wilder
  8. Told You So
  9. And Then