Tag Archives: Fontana

On January 7, 1966.

On January 7, 1966, “Fontana” label released “The Second Album”, the second  Spencer Davis Group album. It was recorded in 1966, and was produced by Jimmy Miller and Chris Blackwell.


  • Spencer Davis– lead and backing vocals, rhythm guitar
  • Steve Winwood– lead vocals, lead guitar, organ, piano
  • Muff Winwood– bass guitar
  • Pete York– drums, percussion
  • Clifford Jones – photography
  • Chris Welch– liner notes

Track listing:

  1. Look Away – Norman Meade, Bert Russell
  2. Keep on Running – Jackie Edwards
  3. This Hammer – Muff Winwood, Steve Winwood, Pete York, Spencer Davis
  4. Georgia On My Mind – Hoagy Carmichael, Stuart Gorrell
  5. Please do Something – Don Covay
  6. Let Me Down Easy – Dee Dee Ford
  7. Strong Love – Deadric Malone, Edward Silvers, Mary M. Brown
  8. I Washed My Hands In Muddy Water – Joe Babcock
  9. Since I Met You Baby – Ivory Joe Hunter
  10. You Must Believe Me – Curtis Mayfield
  11. Hey Darling – Davis, S. Winwood
  12. Watch Your Step – Bobby Parker

In January 1958.

In January 1958, “Fontana” label released “Ascenseur pour l’échafaud”, album by Miles Davis. It was recorded on December 4 and 5, 1957, at “Le Poste Parisien Studio” in Paris. The album features the musical cues for the 1958 Louis Malle film “Ascenseur pour l’échafaud”.


  • Miles Davis– trumpet
  • Barney Wilen– tenor saxophone
  • René Urtreger– piano
  • Pierre Michelot– bass
  • Kenny Clarke– drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Miles Davis.

  1. Générique
  2. L’ Assassinat de Carala
  3. Sur L’Autoroute
  4. Julien Dans L’Ascenseur
  5. Florence Sur Les Champs Élysées
  6. Dîner au Motel
  7. Évasion De Julien
  8. Visite Du Vigile
  9. Au Bar du Petit Bac
  10. Chez Le Photographe Du Motel

In December 1965.

In December 1965, “Fontana” label released “Get the Picture?”, the second Pretty Things studio album. It was recorded in 1965, at “Philips Studios” in London, and was produced by Bobby Graham and Glyn Johns.


  • Phil May– vocals
  • Dick Taylor– lead guitar
  • Brian Pendleton– rhythm guitar
  • John Stax – bass
  • Viv Prince, Bobby Graham, Twink– drums

Track listing:

  1. You Don’t Believe Me – Phil May, Bobby Graham, Jimmy Page, Willie Morrell
  2. Buzz the Jerk – Phil May, Dick Taylor
  3. Get the Picture? – Phil May, Dick Taylor
  4. Can’t Stand the Pain – Phil May, Dick Taylor, Bobby Graham
  5. Rainin’ in My Heart – James Moore, Jerry West
  6. We’ll Play House – Phil May, Dick Taylor
  7. You’ll Never Do It, Baby – Brian Smith, Terry Fox
  8. I Had a Dream – Jimmy Witherspoon
  9. I Want Your Love -Johnnie Dee, Johnny Tarr
  10. London Town – Tim Hardin
  11. Cry to Me – Bert Russell
  12. Gonna Find Me a Substitute – Ike Turner

On August 10, 2010.

On August 10, 2010, “Fontana” label released the debut, self-titled Brother Clyde album. It was recorded in 2010, and was produced by Billy Ray Cyrus.


  • Jamie Arentzen – instrumentation
  • Billy Ray Cyrus- guitar, lead vocals, background vocals
  • Trace Cyrus- vocals
  • Mike Estes – guitar
  • Owen Hale- drums
  • James Dean Hicks – background vocals
  • Jamie Houston – guitar, background vocals
  • Stacy Jones – instrumentation
  • King Phaze – vocals
  • Ed King, Don Kirkpatrick – guitar
  • Fred Kron, Johnny Neil – keyboards
  • Al Moody, Ted Wadhams – bass guitar
  • Dolly Parton- vocals
  • Michael J. Sagraves – harp
  • Morris Joseph Tancredi – bass guitar, drums, acoustic guitar, electric guitar
  • Denny Westin Jr. – drums
  • Jason D. Williams – piano

Track listing:

  1. Lately – Jonathan Rivera, Morris Joseph Tancredi
  2. Lie to Me – Billy Ray Cyrus, Morris Joseph Tancred
  3. Waiting – Billy Ray Cyrus, Morris Joseph Tancred
  4. Slip Away – Billy Ray Cyrus, Morris Joseph Tancred
  5. Crawl – Jamie Arentzen, Stacy Jones
  6. Son of a Gun – James Dean Hicks, Jamie Houston
  7. How Long – Billy Ray Cyrus, Morris Joseph Tancred
  8. Alive – Billy Ray Cyrus, Morris Joseph Tancred, Trace Cyrus
  9. The Right Time – Billy Ray Cyrus, Morris Joseph Tancred, Dolly Parton
  10. I Walk the Line – John R. Cash

In March 1988.

In March 1988, “Fontana” label released “The Tenement Year”, the sixth Pere Ubu studio album. It was recorded in 1988, and was produced by Paul Hammann.


  • David Thomas– vocals, trombone, spike
  • Jim Jones– guitar, backing vocals
  • Allen Ravenstine– EML synthesizer, sax, backing vocals
  • Tony Maimone– bass, backing vocals
  • Chris Cutler– drums, percussion
  • Scott Krauss– drums
  • John Kirkpatrick– Melodeon

Track listing:

  1. Something’s Gotta Give
  2. George Had a Hat
  3. Talk to Me
  4. Busman’s Honeymoon
  5. Say Goodbye
  6. Universal Vibration
  7. Miss You
  8. Dream the Moon
  9. Rhythm King
  10. The Hollow Earth
  11. We Have the Technology

In March 1996.


In March 1996, “Fontana” label released “Milk & Kisses”, the eighth and the final Cocteau Twins studio album. It was recorded in 1995, at “Pors Poulhan” in Bretagne and “September Sound” in London, and was produced by Elizabeth Fraser, Robin Guthrie and Simon Raymonde.


  • Elizabeth Fraser – vocals
  • Robin Guthrie – guitars, bass, drum machine
  • Simon Raymonde – bass, guitars, piano
  • Engineering – Elizabeth Fraser, Robin Guthrie, Simon Raymonde, Des Ward, Lincoln Fong, Mitsuo Tate
  • Photography – Spiros Politis

Track listing:

All tracks by Elizabeth Fraser, Robin Guthrie and Simon Raymonde.

  1. Violaine
  2. Serpentskirt
  3. Tishbite
  4. Half-Gifts
  5. Calfskin Smack
  6. Rilkean Heart
  7. Ups
  8. Eperdu
  9. Treasure Hiding
  10. Seekers Who Are Lovers


On October 10, 1980.


On October 10, 1980, “Fontana” label released “Kilimanjaro”, the debut Teardrop Explodes album. It was recorded in 1980, at “Rockfield Studios” in Monmouth, and was produced by Bill Drummond, David Balfe and Alan Winstanley. In 2000  “Q” magazine placed “Kilimanjaro” at number 95 in its list of the “100 Greatest British Albums Ever”.


  • Julian Cope– vocals, bass guitar
  • David Balfe– piano, organ, synthesizer
  • Gary Dwyer– drums
  • Michael Finkler – guitar
  • Alan Gill– guitar
  • Hurricane Smith, Ray Martinez – trumpets
  • Hugh Jones– engineer
  • Brian Griffin – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Julian Cope, Gary Dwyer and Michael Finkler; except where noted.

  1. Ha Ha I’m Drowning
  2. Sleeping Gas – Julian Cope, Gary Dwyer, Michael Finkler,Paul Simpson
  3. Treason
  4. Second Head
  5. Reward
  6. Poppies in the Field
  7. Went Crazy – Julian Cope, Michael Finkler
  8. Brave Boys Keep Their Promises
  9. Bouncing Babies
  10. Books – Julian Cope,Ian McCulloch
  11. The Thief of Baghdad
  12. When I Dream