On September 28, 1987.


On September 28, 1987, “Mute” label released “Music for the Masses” the sixth Depeche Mode studio album. It was recorded February – July 1987, at “Studio Guillaume Tell” in Paris; “Konk” in London, and was produced by Dave Gahan , Martin L. Gore, Andy Fletcher, David Bascombe and Daniel Miller. The album was certified Platinum in France  by “SNEP”, and Platinum in the US by “RIIA”.


  • Dave Gahan – lead vocals
  • Martin L. Gore – co-lead vocals, keyboards, guitars
  • Andy Fletcher – keyboards
  • David Bascombe – engineer
  • Martyn Atkins – design, photography
  • Mark Higenbottam – design, photography
  • David Jones – design, photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Martin L. Gore.

  1. Never Let Me Down Again
  2. The Things You Said
  3. Strangelove
  4. Sacred
  5. Little 15
  6. Behind the Wheel
  7. I Want You Know
  8. To Have and to Hold
  9. Nothing
  10. Pimpf / Interlude 1

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.