Tag Archives: number 1

In August 1987.

In August 1987, “Spirit Music” label released “Diesel and Dust”, the sixth Midnight Oil studio album. It was recorded in 1987, at “Albert Studios” in Sydney, Australia, and was produced by Peter Garrett, Peter Gilford, Robert Hirst, Jim Moginie, Martin Rotsey and Wame Livesey. In 1989, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked it No. 13 on its list of the “100 Best Albums of the 1980s”. In October 2010 it was listed at No. 1 in the book “100 Best Australian Albums”.


  • Peter Garrett– vocals
  • Peter Gifford– bass, vocals
  • Robert Hirst– drums, vocals
  • Jim Moginie– guitars, keyboards
  • Martin Rotsey– guitars

Track listing:

  1. .Beds Are Burning – Peter Garrett, Robert Hirst, Jim Moginie
  2. Put Down the Weapon – Peter Garrett, Robert Hirst, Jim Moginie
  3. Dreamworld – Peter Garrett, Robert Hirst, Jim Moginie
  4. Arctic World – Peter Garrett, Jim Moginie
  5. Warakurna – Jim Moginie
  6. The Dead Heart – Peter Garrett, Robert Hirst, Jim Moginie
  7. Whoah – Peter Garrett, Jim Moginie
  8. Bullroare – Peter Garrett, Robert Hirst, Jim Moginie
  9. Sell My Soul – Peter Garrett, Jim Moginie
  10. Sometimes – Peter Garrett, Robert Hirst, Jim Moginie
  11. Gunbarrel Highway – Peter Garrett, Robert Hirst, Jim Moginie, Peter Gifford, Martin Rotsey

On June 3, 2008.

On June 3, 2008, “Bella Union” label released the debut, self-titled Fleet Foxes  album. It was recorded in 2007, and was produced by Phil Ek. The cover art is a detail of the 1559 painting “Netherlandish Proverbs” by Pieter Bruegel the Elder. “Times” ranked the album at number 1 on its list of the “100 Best Albums of the Year”; “Mojjo” magazine ranked it and number 1 on its list of the “Top 50 Albums of 2008”. The album was certified Platinum in UK by the “BPI”.


  • Robin Pecknold– band member, songwriter, arranger, design
  • Skyler Skjelset – band member, arranger
  • Nicholas Peterson – band member, arranger
  • Casey Wescott – band member, arranger
  • Craig Curran – band member, arranger
  • Gwen Owen – flute
  • Phil Ek– engineer, mixer
  • Ed Brooks – mastering
  • Sasha Barr – design
  • Dusty Summers – design

Track listing:

All tracks by Robin Pecknold.

  1. Sun it Rises
  2. White Winter Hymnal
  3. Ragged Wood
  4. Tiger Mountain Peasant Song
  5. Quiet Houses
  6. He Dosen’t Know Why
  7. Heard Them Stirring
  8. Your Protector
  9. Meadowlarks
  10. Blue Ridge Mountains
  11. Oliver James

On May 14, 2013.

On May 14, 2013, “XL” label released “Modern Vampires of the City”, the third  Vampire Weekend album. It was recorded in 2013, at “Downtown Studios” in New York City; “Echo Park Back House”, “Vox Studios” in Los Angeles; “Slow Death Studios” in Burbank, and was produced by Rostam Batmanglij. “Modern Vampires of the City” was ranked at number 1 on “Rolling Stone’s” list of the “50 Best Albums of 2013”, and at number one of “Pop Matter’s” list of “The 75 Best Albums of 2013”.


  • Ezra Koenig– lead vocals, piano
  • Rostam Batmanglij– piano, guitars, banjo, vocal harmonies and backing vocals, drum and synth programming, keyboards, shaker, lead vocals
  • Chris Baio– bass
  • Chris Tomson– drums
  • Ariel Rechtshaid– additional drum and synth programming, additional bass, engineering
  • Jeff Curtin – additional drums, engineering
  • Brendan Ryan – accordion
  • Johnny Cuomo – flistle
  • Danny T. Levin – trumpet
  • Elizabeth Lea – trombone
  • Seth Shafer – tuba
  • Adam Schatz – saxophone
  • Angel Deradoorian– backing vocals, additional vocal arrangement
  • Fanny Franklin – backing vocals

Track listing:

All lyrics by Ezra Koenig, except where noted. All music by Rostam Batmanglij and Ezra Koenig, except where noted.

  1. Obvious Bicycle
  2. Unbelievers – music by Ezra Koenig
  3. Step
  4. Diane Young
  5. Don’t Lie – lyrics by Ezra Koenig and Rostam Batmanglij
  6. Hannah Hunt
  7. Everlasting Arms
  8. Finger Back
  9. Worship You
  10. Ya Hey – music Rostam Batmanglij, Ezra Koenig, Ariel Rechtshaid
  11. Hudson – music by Rostam Batmanglij, Ezra Koenig, and Chris Tomson
  12. Young Lion – music and lyrics by Rostam Batmanglij

On May 9, 2000.

On May 9, 2000, “Food” label released “100 Broken Windows”, the second Idlewild studio album. It was recorded in 1999, at “Air Studios” in London, and was produced by Dave Eringa and Bob Weston. In 2009, “The Skinny” ranked “100 Broken Windows” at number 1 on its list of the “Scottish Albums of the Decade”.


  • Roddy Woomble- lead vocals
  • Bob Fairfoull– bass
  • Rod Jones- guitar, backing vocals, keyboards
  • Colin Newton- drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Roddy Woomble, Bob Fairfoull, Rod Jones and Colin Newton.

  1. Little Discourage
  2. I Don’t Have the Map
  3. These Wooden Ideas
  4. Roseability
  5. Idea Track
  6. Let Me Sleep (Next to the Mirror)
  7. Listen to What You’ve Got
  8. Actually It’s Darkness
  9. Rusty
  10. Mistake Pageant
  11. Quiet Crown
  12. The Bronze Medal