On September 27, 1982.


On September 27, 1982, “Mute” label released “A Broken Frame” the second Depeche Mode studio album. It was recorded December 1981–July 1982, at “Blackwing Studios” in London, and was produced by Dave Gahan, Martin Gore, Andy Fletcher and Daniel Miller. The cover photograph was taken by Brian Griffin. It was featured on the cover of “Life Magazine’s” 1990 edition of “World’s Best Photographs 1980 – 1990”.


  • Dave Gahan– lead vocals
  • Martin Gore– lead and backing vocals, keyboards
  • Andy Fletcher– keyboards, backing vocals
  • John Fryer, Eric Radcliffe – engineer
  • Martyn Atkins – design
  • Ching Ching Lee – calligraphy

Track listing:

All tracks by Martin Gore.

  1. Leave in Silence
  2. My Secret Garden
  3. Monument
  4. Nothing to Fear
  5. See You
  6. Satellite
  7. The Meaning of Love
  8. A photograph of You
  9. Shouldn’t Have Done That
  10. The Sun & the Rainfall

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.