Tag Archives: September 28

On September 28, 2010.

On September 28, 2010, “Interscope” label released “Invented”, the seventh Jimmy Eat World studio album. It was recorded September 2009 – May 2010, and was produced by Jim Adkins, Rick Burch, Zach Lind, Tom Linton and Mark Trombino.


  • Jim Adkins– lead vocals, lead guitar, piano, lyrics, art direction
  • Rick Burch – bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Zach Lind – drums, percussion
  • Tom Linton – vocals, rhythm guitar
  • Courtney Marie Andrews– backing vocals
  • Rachel Haden– backing vocals
  • Doug Borrmann – synthesiser
  • Mark Trombino – mixing, additional recording
  • Ted Jensen- mastering
  • David Campbell- string arrangement, conductor
  • Wesley Seidman – strings recording

Track listing:

All tracks by Jim Adkins, Rick Burch, Zach Lind and Tom Linton.

  1. Heart Is Hard to Find
  2. My Best Theory
  3. Evidence
  4. Higher Devotion
  5. Movielike
  6. Coffee and Cigarettes
  7. Stop
  8. Littlething
  9. Cut
  10. Action Needs an Audience
  11. Invented
  12. Mixtape

On September 28, 2010.

On September 28, 2010, “Nonesuch” label released “Lonely Avenue”, collaboration Ben Folds and Nick Hornby album.


  • Ben Folds – vocals, piano, bass, drums, Roland Juno, Moog, Hammond, clav, acoustic guitars, wind chimes, ARP string ensemble, percussion, handclaps
  • Kate Miller-Heidke- vocals
  • Joe Costa – handclaps
  • Keir Nuttall- primal screams
  • Jared Reynolds – bass, background vocals
  • Sam Smith – drums, background vocals
  • Chad Chapin – acoustic guitar, primal percussion, percussion, glockenspiel, background vocals
  • Andrew Higley – Wurlitzer, Fender Rhodes, Roland Jupiter, Roland Juno, Moog, French horn, background vocals
  • Paul Buckmaster – string arrangement, conductor
  • David Davidson, David Angell – violin
  • Kristin Wilkinson – viola
  • John Catchings – cello

Track listing:

All lyrics by Nick Hornby; all music by Ben Folds.

  1. A Working Day
  2. Picture Window
  3. Levi Johnston’s Blues
  4. Doc Pomus
  5. Your Dogs
  6. Practical Amanda
  7. Claire’s Ninth
  8. Password
  9. From Above
  10. Saskia Hamilton
  11. Belinda


On September 28, 1991.


On September 28, 1991, Miles Dewey Davis III aka Miles Davis died aged 65. Being trumpeter, bandleader, and composer, he is one the most influential and respected figures in the history of jazz and 20th century music. In his five decades long career, Davis has changed several times the course of jazz music, and has created and recorded some of the most important albums of the modern music.  For his work he has been awarded with the highest awards including:

  • Winner; Down BeatReader’s Poll Best Trumpet Player 1955
  • Winner; Down Beat Reader’s Poll Best Trumpet Player 1957
  • Winner; Down Beat Reader’s Poll Best Trumpet Player 1961
  • Grammy Awardfor Best Jazz Composition Of More Than Five Minutes Duration for Sketches of Spain (1960)
  • Grammy Award for Best Jazz Performance, Large Group Or Soloist With Large Groupfor Bitches Brew (1970)
  • Grammy Award for Best Jazz Instrumental Performance, Soloistfor We Want Miles (1982)
  • Sonning Awardfor Lifetime Achievement In Music (1984; Copenhagen, Denmark)
  • Doctor of Music, honoris causa(1986; New England Conservatory)
  • Grammy Award for Best Jazz Instrumental Performance, Soloistfor Tutu (1986)
  • Grammy Award for Best Jazz Instrumental Performance, Soloist for Aura(1989)
  • Grammy Award for Best Jazz Instrumental Performance, Big Bandfor Aura (1989)
  • Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award(1990)
  • Louis Walk of Fame(May 20, 1990)[83]
  • Australian Film Institute Award for Best Original Music Scorefor Dingo, shared with Michel Legrand (1991)
  • Knightof the Legion of Honor (July 16, 1991; Paris)
  • Grammy Award for Best R&B Instrumental Performancefor Doo-Bop (1992)
  • Grammy Award for Best Large Jazz Ensemble Performancefor Miles & Quincy Live at Montreux (1993)
  • Hollywood Walk of FameStar (February 19, 1998)
  • Rock and Roll Hall of FameInduction (March 13, 2006)
  • Hollywood’s RockwalkInduction (September 28, 2006)
  • RIAAQuadruple Platinum for Kind of Blue (October 7, 2008)



On September 28, 1992.


On September 28, 1992, “Parlaphone” label released “Back to the Light” the first Brian May solo album. It was recorded 1988 – 1992, and was produced by Brian May and Justin Shirley-Smith.


  • Brian May – vocals, backing vocals, guitars, keyboards
  • Cozy Powell– drums
  • Geoff Dugmore– drums
  • Gary Tibbs– bass
  • Neil Murray– bass
  • John Deacon– bass
  • Suzie O’List, Gill O’Donovan – backing vocals
  • Mike Moran– piano, keyboards
  • Don Airey- keyboards

Track listing:

All tracks by Brian May, except where noted.

  1. The Dark
  2. Back to the Light
  3. Love Token
  4. Resurrection – Brian May, Cozy Powell, Jamie Page
  5. Too Much Love Will Kill You – Brian May, Frank Musker, Elizabeth Lamers
  6. Driven by You
  7. Nothin’ But Blue – Brian May, Cozy Powell
  8. I’m Scared
  9. Last Horizon
  10. Let Your Heart Rule Your Head
  11. Just One Life
  12. Rollin’ Over – Ronnie Lane, Steve Marriott

On September 28, 1992.


On September 28, 1992, “XL” label released “Experience”, the debut Prodigy studio album. It was recorded in 1992, at “Earthbound Studios” and “The Strongroom”, and was produced by Liam Howlett. The album was certified Platinum in UK by “BPI”.


  • Liam Howlett– keyboards, synthesizers, sampling, programming, engineering
  • Maxim Reality– vocals
  • Simone – vocals
  • Alex Garland– artwork
  • Mike Champion – management

Track listing:

All tracks written by Liam Howlett.

  1. Jericho
  2. Music Reach (1/2/3/4)
  3. Wind It Up
  4. Your Love (Remix)
  5. Hyperspeed” (G-Force Part 2)
  6. Charly” (Trip into Drum and Bass Version)
  7. Out of Space
  8. Everybody in the Place” (155 and Rising)
  9. Weather Experience
  10. Fire” (Sunrise Version)
  11. Ruff in the Jungle Bizness
  12. Death of the Prodigy Dancers” (Live)

On September 28, 1987.


On September 28, 1987, “Rough Trade” label released “Strangeways, Here We Come” the fourth and final Smiths studio album. It was recorded in 1987, at “The Wool Hall” in Beckington, Somerset, and was produced by Johnny Marr, Morrissey and Stephen Street. The album cover was designed by Morrissey,


  • Morrissey– vocals, piano
  • Johnny Marr– guitar, keyboards, harmonica, autoharp, synthesised strings and saxophone arrangements, additional vocals
  • Andy Rourke– bass guitar
  • Mike Joyce– drums, percussion
  • Stephen Street– additional drum machine programming, trings arrangement
  • Steve Williams – assistant engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Morrissey and Johnny Marr.

  1. A Rush and a Push and the Land is Ours
  2. I Started Something I Couldn’t Finish
  3. Death of a Disco Dancer
  4. Girlfriend in a Coma
  5. Stop Me If You Think You’ve Heard This One Before
  6. Last Night I Dreamt That Somebody Loved Me
  7. Unhappy Birthday
  8. Paint a Vulgar Picture
  9. Death at One’s Elbow
  10. I Won’t Share You



On September 28,, 1987.


On September 28, 1987, “Mute” label released “Music for the Masses” the sixth Depeche Mode studio album. It was recorded February – July 1987, at “Studio Guillaume Tell” in Paris; “Konk” in London, and was produced by Depeche Mode, David Bascombe and Daniel Miller. The album was certified Platinum in France by “SNEP”, and Platinum in the US by “RIIA”.


  • Martyn Atkins – design, photography
  • David Bascombe – engineering, production
  • Mark Higenbottam – design, photography
  • David Jones – design, photography
  • Daniel Miller– additional production, helpTrack listing:

All tracks by Martin L. Gore.

  1. Never Let Me Down Again
  2. The Things You Said
  3. Strangelove
  4. Sacred
  5. Little 15
  6. Behind the Wheel
  7. I Want You Know
  8. To Have and to Hold
  9. Nothing
  10. Pimpf / Interlude 1