In March 1982.

In March 1982, “Venice in Peril” label released “The Golden Age of Wireless” the debut Thomas Dolby album. It was recorded in 1981, and was produced by Thomas Dolby and Tim Friese-Greene.


  • Thomas Dolby – lead and backing vocals, monk voice, drum programs, wave computer, synthesizer, piano, kalimba
  • Daniel Miller– synthesizer
  • Andy Partridge– harmonica, percussion
  • Kevin Armstrong– guitar, backing vocals
  • Dave Birch – guitar, monk voice
  • Matthew Seligman– Moog bass
  • Mark Heyward Chaplin – bass guitar
  • Justin Hildreth – drums
  • Bosco – percussion
  • Simon House– violin
  • Tim Kerr – violin
  • Simon Lloyd – leadline brass, flute
  • Bruce Woolley – monk voice, backing vocals
  • James Allen – backing vocals
  • Les Chappel – backing vocals
  • Judy Evans – backing vocals
  • Lesley Fairbairn – backing vocals
  • Mutt Lange– backing vocals
  • Miriam Stockley – backing vocals
  • Akiko Yano– backing vocals
  • Lene Lovich– backing vocals
  • John Marsh – shipping forecast
  • Guido Orlando – Chilean translations, distress, grace
  • Magnus Pyke– voiceover

Track listing:

All tracks by Thomas Dolby, except where noted.

  1. Flying North
  2. Commercial Breakup – Thomas Dolby, Tim Kerr
  3. Weightless
  4. Europa and the Pirate Twins
  5. Windpower
  6. The Wreck of The Fairchild
  7. Airwaves
  8. Radio Silence
  9. Cloudburst at Shingle Street

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.