Tag Archives: David Thomas

In November 1978.

In November 1978, “Chrysalis” label released “Dub Housing”, the second Pere Ubu studio album. It was recorded August – September 1978, and was produced by Ken Hamann, David Thomas, Tom Herman, Tony Maimone, Allen Ravenstein and Scott Krauss. “Trouser Press” described the album as one of the most important post-punk recordings.


  • David Thomas– vocals, organ, EQ, mastering
  • Tom Herman – guitar, bass, organ
  • Tony Maimone– bass, guitar, piano
  • Allen Ravenstine– EML synthesizers, saxophone
  • Scott Krauss– drums
  • Ken Hamann – recording, engineering, EQ, mastering

Track listing:

All tracks by David Thomas, Tom Herman, Tony Maimone, Allen Ravenstine  and  Scott Krauss.

  1. Navvy
  2. On the Surface
  3. Dub Housing
  4. Caligari’s Mirror
  5. Thriller!
  6. I, Will Wait
  7. Drinking Wine Spodyody
  8. Pa) Ubu Dance Party
  9. Blow Daddy-O
  10. Codex



In June 1980.

In June 1980, “Rough Trade” label released “The Art of Walking”, the fourth Pere Ubu album. It was recorded in 1980, and was produced by Ken Hamann, David Thomas, Mayo Thompson, Allen Ravenstine, Tony Maimone and Scott Krauss.


  • David Thomas– lead vocals, Vox Continental Baroque organ, drums
  • Mayo Thompson– guitar, backing and lead vocals, piano
  • Allen Ravenstine– EML synthesizers
  • Tony Maimone– bass, piano, organ
  • Scott Krauss– drums, horn, piano, drum machine

Track listing:

All tracks by David Thomas, Mayo Thompson, Allen Ravenstine, Tony Maimone and Scott Krauss, except where noted.

  1. Go
  2. Rhapsody in Pink
  3. Arabia
  4. Young Miles in the Basement
  5. Misery Goats
  6. Loop
  7. Rounder
  8. Birdies
  9. Lost in Art
  10. Horses – Mayo Thompson
  11. Crush This Horn

In March 1988.

In March 1988, “Fontana” label released “The Tenement Year”, the sixth Pere Ubu studio album. It was recorded in 1988, and was produced by Paul Hammann.


  • David Thomas– vocals, trombone, spike
  • Jim Jones– guitar, backing vocals
  • Allen Ravenstine– EML synthesizer, sax, backing vocals
  • Tony Maimone– bass, backing vocals
  • Chris Cutler– drums, percussion
  • Scott Krauss– drums
  • John Kirkpatrick– Melodeon

Track listing:

  1. Something’s Gotta Give
  2. George Had a Hat
  3. Talk to Me
  4. Busman’s Honeymoon
  5. Say Goodbye
  6. Universal Vibration
  7. Miss You
  8. Dream the Moon
  9. Rhythm King
  10. The Hollow Earth
  11. We Have the Technology

In January 1978.


In January 1978, “Blank” label released “The Modern Dance”, debut Pere Ubu studio album. It was recorded October 1976; January 1977; November 1977, at “Cleveland Recording” and “Suma Studios” in Cleveland, Ohio, and was produced by Pere Ubu and Ken Hamann.


  • David Thomas– vocals, musette, percussion, production
  • Tom Herman – guitar, backing vocals, production
  • Allen Ravenstine– EML 101 & 200 analog synthesizers, saxophone, tapes, production
  • Tony Maimone– bass, piano, backing vocals, production
  • Scott Krauss– drums, production
  • Tim Wright– bass guitar
  • W. Taylor – sleeve artwork
  • Ken Hamann – engineering
  • Mike Bishop – engineering assistance
  • Paul Hamann – engineering assistance
  • Mik Mellen – sleeve photography

Track listing:

All tracks by David Thomas, Tom Herman, Allen Ravenstine, Tony Maimone and Scott Krauss, except where noted.

  1. Non-Alignment Pact
  2. The Modern Dance
  3. Laughing
  4. Street Waves
  5. Chinese Radiation
  6. Life Stinks – Peter Laughner
  7. Real World
  8. Over My Head
  9. Sentimental Journey
  10. Humor Me