Tag Archives: Kevin Armstrong

On September 2, 1991.

On September 2, 1991, “Victory Music” label released “Tin Machine II”m the second Tin Machine album. It was recorded 1989 – 1991, in Sydney and Los Angeles, and was produced by Tim Palmer, Hugh Padgham, David Bowie, Reeves Gabrels, Hunt Sales, Tony Sales, Kevin Armstrong and Tim Palmer.


  • David Bowie– lead vocals, guitar, piano, saxophone
  • Reeves Gabrels– lead guitar, backing vocals, vibrators, organ
  • Hunt Sales– drums, percussion, backing and lead vocals
  • Tony Sales– bass, backing vocals
  • Kevin Armstrong– rhythm guitar, piano
  • Tim Palmer– percussion, additional piano

Track listing:

All tracks by David Bowie and Reeves Gabrels except where noted.

  1. Baby Universal
  2. One Shot – David Bowie, Reeves Gabrels, Hunt Sales, Tony Sales
  3. You Belong in Rock n’ Roll
  4. If There Is Something – Bryan Ferry
  5. Amlapura
  6. Betty Wrong
  7. You Can’t Talk – David Bowie, Reeves Gabrels, Hunt Sales, Tony Sales
  8. Stateside – David Bowie, Hunt Sales
  9. Shopping for Girls
  10. A Big Hurt – David Bowie
  11. Sorry – Hunt Sales
  12. Goodbye Mr. Ed – David Bowie, Hunt Sales, Tony Sales
  13. Hammerhead (hidden track) – David Bowie, Hunt Sales




In June 1985.

In June 1985, “Kitchenware” label released “Steve McQueen”, the second Prefab Sprout studio album. It was recorded 1984 – 1985, at “Nomis Studios” in London, and was produced by Thomas Dolby. Due to legal conflict with the estate of American actor Steve McQueen, the album was released in US by the name “The Wheels Good”.


  • Neil Conti– drums, percussion
  • Martin McAloon – bass
  • Paddy McAloon– composition, guitar, keyboards, vocals
  • Wendy Smith – keyboards, backing vocals
  • Kevin Armstrong– guitar
  • Mark Lockhart – saxophone
  • Matt Barry, Brian Evans, Tim Hunt, Dana, Andy Scarth, Chris Sheldon, Kathy Smith, Sven Taits – engineering
  • Thomas Dolby– instruments, mixing
  • East Orange – sleeve design
  • Mike Shipley – mixing, mixdown engineering
  • Phil Thornally – mixing
  • John Warwick – photography, hand-colouring

Track listing:

All tracks by Paddy McAloon.

  1. Faron Young
  2. Bonny
  3. Appetite
  4. When Love Breaks Down
  5. Goodbye Lucille #1
  6. Hallelujah
  7. Moving the River
  8. Horsin’ Around
  9. Desire As
  10. Blueberry Pies
  11. When the Angels

In March 1982.

In March 1982, “Venice in Peril” label released “The Golden Age of Wireless” the debut Thomas Dolby album. It was recorded in 1981, and was produced by Thomas Dolby and Tim Friese-Greene.


  • Thomas Dolby – vocals, drum programs, wave computer, backing vocals, synthesizer, piano, monk voice, kalimba
  • James Allen – backing vocals
  • Kevin Armstrong– guitar, backing vocals
  • Dave Birch – guitar, monk voice
  • Bosco – percussion
  • Les Chappel – backing vocals
  • Judy Evans – backing vocals
  • Lesley Fairbairn – backing vocals
  • Mark Heyward-Chaplin – bass guitar
  • Justin Hildreth – drums
  • Simon House– violin
  • Tim Kerr – violin
  • Mutt Lange– backing vocals
  • Simon Lloyd – leadline brass, flute
  • Lene Lovich– backing vocals
  • John Marsh – shipping forecast
  • Daniel Miller– synthesizer
  • Guido Orlando – Chilean translations, distress, grace
  • Andy Partridge– harmonica, percussion
  • Magnus Pyke– voiceover
  • Matthew Seligman– Moog bass
  • Miriam Stockley – backing vocals
  • Bruce Woolley– backing vocals, monk voice
  • Akiko Yano– backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Thomas Dolby, except where noted.

  1. Flying North
  2. Commercial Breakup – Thomas Dolby, Tim Kerr
  3. Weightless
  4. Europa and the Pirate Twins
  5. Windpower
  6. The Wreck of The Fairchild
  7. Airwaves
  8. Radio Silence
  9. Cloudburst at Shingle Street

In February 1984.


In February 1984, “EMI” label released “The Flat Earth”, the second Thomas Dolby album. It was recorded 1982 – 1983, and was produced by Thomas Dolby.


  • Thomas Dolby -vocals, piano, effects
  • Kevin Armstrong- guitar, trumpet, backing vocals
  • Matthew Seligman- bass
  • Clif Brigden -percussion, electronic drums
  • Adele Bertei- backing vocals
  • Lesley Fairbairn – backing vocals
  • Lionel Richie- backing vocals
  • Bruce Woolley- backing vocals
  • Robyn Hitchcock- vocals (spoken)
  • Peter Thoms- trombone
  • Louise Ulfstedt -vocals
  • Matthew Salt – tins, thundersheet
  • Mike Shipley, Alan Douglas – mixing
  • Dan Lacksman – engineer
  • Wally Traugott – mastering .

Track listing:

All tracks by Thomas Dolby, except where noted.

  1. Dissidents – Thomas Dolby, Kevin Armstrong,Matthew Seligman
  2. The Flat Earth
  3. Screen Kiss
  4. White City
  5. Mulu the Rain Forest
  6. I Scare Myself – Dan Hicks
  7. Hyperactive!

On October 23, 1986.


On October 23, 1986, “A&M” label released “Blah-Blah-Blah”, the seventh Iggy Pop studio album. It was recorded in 1986, at “Mountain Studios” in Montreux, Switzerland, and was produced by David Bowie and David Richards. The album was Iggy Pop and David Bowie last collaboration, and became the most commercially successful Iggy Pop’s album to date.


  • Iggy Pop– vocals
  • Kevin Armstrong– guitar, backing vocals
  • Erdal Kızılçay– synthesizer, bass, drums, string arrangements, backing vocals
  • Steve Jones– guitar solo
  • David Bowie- backing vocals.

Track listing:

All tracks by Iggy Pop and David Bowie except where noted.

  1. Real Wild Child (Wild One) – Johnny O’Keefe, Johnny Greenan, Dave Owens
  2. Baby, It Can’t Fall
  3. Shades
  4. Fire Girl – Iggy Pop, Steve Jones
  5. Isolation
  6. Cry for Love – Iggy Pop, Steve Jones
  7. Blah-Blah-Blah
  8. Hideaway
  9. Winners & Losers – Iggy Pop, Steve Jones